Switch Theme:

Blade of Blood + Axe of Khorne  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Frenzied Juggernaut





The Emperor's Forge Mitten, Earth

Not sure if anyone has done this yet, but I noticed in the codex there was nothing stopping something like a bloodthirstier from benefiting from either of these weapons simultaneously. Just having the blade of blood grants the rampage rule and since they are both specialist (and neither of them two-handed), you get the extra attack for dual-wielding. So basically you could have 8+D3 attacks on the charge with a BT that on a 6 cause instant death. Has anyone else noticed this or tried this, or am I just late to the party cause that sounds awesome.

That said it seems like the only weapon combo to really benefit from dual-wielding specialist weapons. Everything else relies on one weapon or the other dealing the wound so you actually have to choose which one to use. I could see dual Great Etherblades, but for just one extra attack I don't see it as being worth as much as the BT combo.

3000+
2000+
1500+ 
   
Made in jp
Longtime Dakkanaut



Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan

Have you read page 51 of the Main Rulebook, the section bottom left entitled "More than one weapon"?
   
Made in us
Frenzied Juggernaut





The Emperor's Forge Mitten, Earth

Yeah, but the way the daemons dex is worded it sounds like just having the sword on him gives the demon itself rampage, It says, "the bearer of the blade of blood has the rampage special rule". So when you go to choose which weapon you use the wording makes it sound the bearer will still have rampage since it doesn't say he has to attack with it to be granted the rampage rule, he just has it as a result of simply owning the weapon, no?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/04/02 05:57:52


3000+
2000+
1500+ 
   
Made in jp
Longtime Dakkanaut



Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan

No. It's a special rule of the melee weapon, so he has to use it to get the benefit. The only exception is the Dreadknight, because either the FAQ author wanted to buff it or he had no idea what the rules are.
   
Made in us
Frenzied Juggernaut





The Emperor's Forge Mitten, Earth

Dang...well, I guess it would still be decent. You just wouldn't have the ID on a 6 then as you'd rather be choosing to use the blade of blood. Probably better off with the eternal blade then for the extra pts as you get the str boost as well as the D3 attacks among other things.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/04/02 06:15:24


3000+
2000+
1500+ 
   
Made in gb
The Daemon Possessing Fulgrim's Body





Devon, UK

Actually, Chrysis isn't necessarily correct.

It's currently up for debate subject to an FAQ, but the entry could be read the way you've interpreted, ie simply being equipped with it is sufficient to get the bonus. As, iirc, book is in another room, it states 'the bearer' not 'attacks with' receive the bonus.

So still up in the air right now.

We find comfort among those who agree with us - growth among those who don't. - Frank Howard Clark

The wise man doubts often, and changes his mind; the fool is obstinate, and doubts not; he knows all things but his own ignorance.

The correct statement of individual rights is that everyone has the right to an opinion, but crucially, that opinion can be roundly ignored and even made fun of, particularly if it is demonstrably nonsense!” Professor Brian Cox

Ask me about
Barnstaple Slayers Club 
   
Made in jp
Longtime Dakkanaut



Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan

"If a model has more than one Melee weapon, he must choose which one to attack with when he comes to srike blows - he cannot mix and match the abilities of several different Melee weapons."

What part of that is debatable? It's an ability attached to a melee weapon. If he wants to use the ability, he has to use the weapon, which means he can't use the abilities of other melee weapons. The Dreadknight is the exception, and the only exception. The FAQ for the Dreadknight is a rules change.
   
Made in gb
The Daemon Possessing Fulgrim's Body





Devon, UK

What's up in the air is whether the ability is actually part of the weapons attacks, or whether the possession of the weapon confers the ability on to the bearer and is permanently 'on'

We find comfort among those who agree with us - growth among those who don't. - Frank Howard Clark

The wise man doubts often, and changes his mind; the fool is obstinate, and doubts not; he knows all things but his own ignorance.

The correct statement of individual rights is that everyone has the right to an opinion, but crucially, that opinion can be roundly ignored and even made fun of, particularly if it is demonstrably nonsense!” Professor Brian Cox

Ask me about
Barnstaple Slayers Club 
   
Made in us
Stone Bonkers Fabricator General





Beijing, China

do Blood Angels have Hatred Abbadon only when Abby is using the Talon of Horus? Or do they get it all the time.

Dark Mechanicus and Renegade Iron Hand Dakka Blog
My Dark Mechanicus P&M Blog. Mostly Modeling as I paint very slowly. Lots of kitbashed conversions of marines and a few guard to make up a renegade Iron Hand chapter and Dark Mechanicus Allies. Bionics++  
   
Made in mx
Morphing Obliterator





Mexico

Is the same wording as the dreadknight, and we all know how that works.

On topic taking both weapons do indeed grant lots of attack which makes him even more killy, also it helps when you want to take a FnP MEQ unit by smashing rather than relying on the instakill 6's. the charge and the +D3 are free S10 attacks when you smash.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Chrysis wrote:
"If a model has more than one Melee weapon, he must choose which one to attack with when he comes to srike blows - he cannot mix and match the abilities of several different Melee weapons."

What part of that is debatable? It's an ability attached to a melee weapon. If he wants to use the ability, he has to use the weapon, which means he can't use the abilities of other melee weapons. The Dreadknight is the exception, and the only exception. The FAQ for the Dreadknight is a rules change.


The DK isn't an errata is a FAQ, which means the wording was intended to work that way just like it is worded on the Daemons Codex.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/04/02 15:25:05


CSM 10k points
IG 3k points
Orks 2k points
WoC 3.5k points
VC 2.5k points
 
   
Made in us
Grumpy Longbeard




New York

Now try mixing the Eternal Blade with the Blade of Blood for +2d3 attacks in most situations.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Nevermind

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/04/02 16:13:06


 
   
Made in gb
The Daemon Possessing Fulgrim's Body





Devon, UK

cryhavok wrote:
Use this simple flow chart to determine if you get an ability from a weapon:
-Did the ability originate from a weapon?
No-you get the ability
Yes-continue to next question
-Is the ability's origin the active weapon you are currently using?
No-you do not get the ability
Yes-you get the ability

The only exceptions would be specified. Trying to say it doesnt come from the weapon it is on is silly.


Except
a) There is precedent (GKDK)
b) The wording of the BoB is distinctly different from other weapon effect descriptions in the codex.

I understand your point, but there's still shades of grey in this til the FAQ (hopefully) clears it up.

We find comfort among those who agree with us - growth among those who don't. - Frank Howard Clark

The wise man doubts often, and changes his mind; the fool is obstinate, and doubts not; he knows all things but his own ignorance.

The correct statement of individual rights is that everyone has the right to an opinion, but crucially, that opinion can be roundly ignored and even made fun of, particularly if it is demonstrably nonsense!” Professor Brian Cox

Ask me about
Barnstaple Slayers Club 
   
Made in se
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard






It would be well illustrated by modeling the blade of blood as a sword sticking out of the BTs hide, as if he was stabbed by it and it makes him furious enough to rampage about.
Talk about a boy with the thorn in his side

Trolls n Robots, battle reports på svenska https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCbeiubugFqIO9IWf_FV9q7A 
   
Made in no
Mutilatin' Mad Dok





Norway, Tønsberg

 Fayric wrote:
It would be well illustrated by modeling the blade of blood as a sword sticking out of the BTs hide, as if he was stabbed by it and it makes him furious enough to rampage about.
Talk about a boy with the thorn in his side


I thought it was a lion with a thorn in his paw?
   
Made in us
Frenzied Juggernaut





The Emperor's Forge Mitten, Earth

Well, I guess until they come out with a FAQ that hopefully clears it up, I'll just play it the more conservative way and say it doesn't stack.
Still the +2d3 attacks idea sounds awesome, hopefully they do FAQ it in its favor.

3000+
2000+
1500+ 
   
Made in nz
Sinister Chaos Marine





The bearer of the Axe of Blind Fury suffers -1WS and -1BS.

Is someone here arguing that the bearer only suffers the -1BS when he is in CC???

...and wielding this weapon?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/04/02 21:41:08


 
   
Made in gb
The Daemon Possessing Fulgrim's Body





Devon, UK

I think 'the bearer of' is the key phrase in that example and the BoB.

Other weapons use phrasing like 'attacks with this weapon' or 'when wielding this weapon' that the RAW of the BoB and AoBF, evidently, lack.

We find comfort among those who agree with us - growth among those who don't. - Frank Howard Clark

The wise man doubts often, and changes his mind; the fool is obstinate, and doubts not; he knows all things but his own ignorance.

The correct statement of individual rights is that everyone has the right to an opinion, but crucially, that opinion can be roundly ignored and even made fun of, particularly if it is demonstrably nonsense!” Professor Brian Cox

Ask me about
Barnstaple Slayers Club 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K General Discussion
Go to: