Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/03 11:35:44
Subject: Rune Priest manning ADL
|
 |
Poxed Plague Monk
|
I want to check I'm not missing something and that this is actually legal:
RP with Chooser of the Slain makes him BS5. Have him manning an Icarus Lascannon on an ADL and joined to a Long Fang pack. Rune priest can cast Prescience on his unit giving all the long fangs twin linked weapons, and he himself can shoot the Icarus Lascannon at BS5 with a re-roll.
Is it legal? Any downsides to this?
|
Its better to burn out than to fade away
@kevinwarhammer |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/03 12:18:26
Subject: Rune Priest manning ADL
|
 |
Junior Officer with Laspistol
|
Down side is that ICs can't split fire, so you'll have to fire all your long fangs at his target, or use their split fire rule meaning you'll have to shoot one at his target with the others choosing another target.
That is of course if you don't put the RP alone, but that's asking for him to be blown up fast.
|
Star Trek taught me so much. Like, how you should accept people, whether they be black, white, Klingon or even female...
FAQs |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/03 12:22:19
Subject: Rune Priest manning ADL
|
 |
Poxed Plague Monk
|
The idea was to use the long fang split fire rule so that the long fangs fire at one target and the rune priest at another.
Seems almost too good to be true, which means it often is...
|
Its better to burn out than to fade away
@kevinwarhammer |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/03 12:37:48
Subject: Rune Priest manning ADL
|
 |
Psychic Novitiate selected by a Gatherer
indianapolis. in
|
You can do it as long as 1 missile fires at the target the RP is targeting, so you can still do it. And he is BS5 if the chooser has line of sight to the target only. Not a bad idea. If you need 5 points just have a heavy bolter instead of a missile launcher and use that model to fire with the RP.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/03 12:49:27
Subject: Rune Priest manning ADL
|
 |
Poxed Plague Monk
|
The rule where 1 long fang needs to shoot at the same target as the RP, I cant see how the wording in the codex or BRB points to that being the case, is it an FAQ update?
The RP is part of the unit and must fire at the same target as his unit as per normal
Fire Control states as long as the sergeant is alive and does not fire, the unit can fire at 2 different targets.
As the RP is part of the unit, he can fire at one target and the rest of the unit can fire at a different target.
Am I missing something?
|
Its better to burn out than to fade away
@kevinwarhammer |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/03 13:16:16
Subject: Rune Priest manning ADL
|
 |
Preacher of the Emperor
|
Digriz wrote:The rule where 1 long fang needs to shoot at the same target as the RP, I cant see how the wording in the codex or BRB points to that being the case, is it an FAQ update?
The RP is part of the unit and must fire at the same target as his unit as per normal
Fire Control states as long as the sergeant is alive and does not fire, the unit can fire at 2 different targets.
As the RP is part of the unit, he can fire at one target and the rest of the unit can fire at a different target.
Am I missing something?
You are correct. Rune Priest + Long Fangs equals one unit. So at the start of the turn, RP casts prescience to give everyone rerolls. In shooting, you use fire control and nominate the two targets and who from the unit will be shooting which. Once you have determined the RP's target, check LOS from the Chooser of the Slain to the RP's target. As long as the Chooser has LOS, the RP shoots at BS 5. The RP can shoot at something seperate from the rest of the Long Fang pack but the entire unit can only shoot at a total of 2 targets using fire control.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/03 13:38:48
Subject: Rune Priest manning ADL
|
 |
Beautiful and Deadly Keeper of Secrets
|
PanzerLeader wrote: Digriz wrote:The rule where 1 long fang needs to shoot at the same target as the RP, I cant see how the wording in the codex or BRB points to that being the case, is it an FAQ update?
The RP is part of the unit and must fire at the same target as his unit as per normal
Fire Control states as long as the sergeant is alive and does not fire, the unit can fire at 2 different targets.
As the RP is part of the unit, he can fire at one target and the rest of the unit can fire at a different target.
Am I missing something?
You are correct. Rune Priest + Long Fangs equals one unit. So at the start of the turn, RP casts prescience to give everyone rerolls. In shooting, you use fire control and nominate the two targets and who from the unit will be shooting which. Once you have determined the RP's target, check LOS from the Chooser of the Slain to the RP's target. As long as the Chooser has LOS, the RP shoots at BS 5. The RP can shoot at something seperate from the rest of the Long Fang pack but the entire unit can only shoot at a total of 2 targets using fire control.
That could be said in another way as well, considering the IC rule on page 39. says that unless the rule specifically allows for it, the unit's special rules are not conferred upon the IC.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/03 13:52:40
Subject: Rune Priest manning ADL
|
 |
Preacher of the Emperor
|
ZebioLizard2 wrote:PanzerLeader wrote: Digriz wrote:The rule where 1 long fang needs to shoot at the same target as the RP, I cant see how the wording in the codex or BRB points to that being the case, is it an FAQ update?
The RP is part of the unit and must fire at the same target as his unit as per normal
Fire Control states as long as the sergeant is alive and does not fire, the unit can fire at 2 different targets.
As the RP is part of the unit, he can fire at one target and the rest of the unit can fire at a different target.
Am I missing something?
You are correct. Rune Priest + Long Fangs equals one unit. So at the start of the turn, RP casts prescience to give everyone rerolls. In shooting, you use fire control and nominate the two targets and who from the unit will be shooting which. Once you have determined the RP's target, check LOS from the Chooser of the Slain to the RP's target. As long as the Chooser has LOS, the RP shoots at BS 5. The RP can shoot at something seperate from the rest of the Long Fang pack but the entire unit can only shoot at a total of 2 targets using fire control.
That could be said in another way as well, considering the IC rule on page 39. says that unless the rule specifically allows for it, the unit's special rules are not conferred upon the IC.
I read it as Fire Control provides the unit an exception to the normal shooting rules that can be applied regardless of whether or not an IC has joined it as long as the two prerequisites are met (1. Sarge is alive and 2. Sarge doesn't shoot). If you read "Fire Control" as the equivalent of a normal USR, than a Long Fang pack could never use Fire Control while an IC is attached to it because the IC would be benefitting from it during the shooting phase because IC + x Longfangs would shoot one target while y Longfangs should a second target, allowing the IC to circumvent normal shooting rules.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/03 13:55:15
Subject: Rune Priest manning ADL
|
 |
Beautiful and Deadly Keeper of Secrets
|
PanzerLeader wrote: ZebioLizard2 wrote:PanzerLeader wrote: Digriz wrote:The rule where 1 long fang needs to shoot at the same target as the RP, I cant see how the wording in the codex or BRB points to that being the case, is it an FAQ update?
The RP is part of the unit and must fire at the same target as his unit as per normal
Fire Control states as long as the sergeant is alive and does not fire, the unit can fire at 2 different targets.
As the RP is part of the unit, he can fire at one target and the rest of the unit can fire at a different target.
Am I missing something?
You are correct. Rune Priest + Long Fangs equals one unit. So at the start of the turn, RP casts prescience to give everyone rerolls. In shooting, you use fire control and nominate the two targets and who from the unit will be shooting which. Once you have determined the RP's target, check LOS from the Chooser of the Slain to the RP's target. As long as the Chooser has LOS, the RP shoots at BS 5. The RP can shoot at something seperate from the rest of the Long Fang pack but the entire unit can only shoot at a total of 2 targets using fire control.
That could be said in another way as well, considering the IC rule on page 39. says that unless the rule specifically allows for it, the unit's special rules are not conferred upon the IC.
I read it as Fire Control provides the unit an exception to the normal shooting rules that can be applied regardless of whether or not an IC has joined it as long as the two prerequisites are met (1. Sarge is alive and 2. Sarge doesn't shoot). If you read "Fire Control" as the equivalent of a normal USR, than a Long Fang pack could never use Fire Control while an IC is attached to it because the IC would be benefitting from it during the shooting phase because IC + x Longfangs would shoot one target while y Longfangs should a second target, allowing the IC to circumvent normal shooting rules.
Actually the FAQ rules that it does work while the IC is there, but does not say whether or not a Wolf Guard or IC can use it alongside them, but yes that's what I thought as well, that it can't be IC shoots alone, then all the longfangs shoot another. It has to be IC + 1 at least.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/04/03 13:56:12
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/03 17:10:51
Subject: Rune Priest manning ADL
|
 |
Preacher of the Emperor
|
ZebioLizard2 wrote:PanzerLeader wrote: ZebioLizard2 wrote:PanzerLeader wrote: Digriz wrote:The rule where 1 long fang needs to shoot at the same target as the RP, I cant see how the wording in the codex or BRB points to that being the case, is it an FAQ update?
The RP is part of the unit and must fire at the same target as his unit as per normal
Fire Control states as long as the sergeant is alive and does not fire, the unit can fire at 2 different targets.
As the RP is part of the unit, he can fire at one target and the rest of the unit can fire at a different target.
Am I missing something?
You are correct. Rune Priest + Long Fangs equals one unit. So at the start of the turn, RP casts prescience to give everyone rerolls. In shooting, you use fire control and nominate the two targets and who from the unit will be shooting which. Once you have determined the RP's target, check LOS from the Chooser of the Slain to the RP's target. As long as the Chooser has LOS, the RP shoots at BS 5. The RP can shoot at something seperate from the rest of the Long Fang pack but the entire unit can only shoot at a total of 2 targets using fire control.
That could be said in another way as well, considering the IC rule on page 39. says that unless the rule specifically allows for it, the unit's special rules are not conferred upon the IC.
I read it as Fire Control provides the unit an exception to the normal shooting rules that can be applied regardless of whether or not an IC has joined it as long as the two prerequisites are met (1. Sarge is alive and 2. Sarge doesn't shoot). If you read "Fire Control" as the equivalent of a normal USR, than a Long Fang pack could never use Fire Control while an IC is attached to it because the IC would be benefitting from it during the shooting phase because IC + x Longfangs would shoot one target while y Longfangs should a second target, allowing the IC to circumvent normal shooting rules.
Actually the FAQ rules that it does work while the IC is there, but does not say whether or not a Wolf Guard or IC can use it alongside them, but yes that's what I thought as well, that it can't be IC shoots alone, then all the longfangs shoot another. It has to be IC + 1 at least.
Based on the FAQ ruling, if you can use the rule with an IC present than you can divide the fire however you want among eligible models. The RP is simply an eligible firer in the squad. There is nothing that specifies he must shoot at a target with at least another member of the squad. The ruleset is permissive and it gives you permission to use Fire Control with an IC. By deductive reasoning, if you can use the rule with the IC present he must be able to benefit from it. You can then allocate eligible firers at up to two different targets in any combination you want. So in my previous example of IC + x Longfangs at Target A and y Longfangs at Target B, X is allowed to equal zero. So you can shoot the IC at target A and the remainder of the pack at target B without breaking any rules.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/03 17:12:08
Subject: Rune Priest manning ADL
|
 |
Junior Officer with Laspistol
|
So in conclusion:
The downside is that the Long Fangs may no longer split fire.
So as you previously noted: not a huge downside hence why just about every SW player does it.
|
Star Trek taught me so much. Like, how you should accept people, whether they be black, white, Klingon or even female...
FAQs |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/03 17:16:45
Subject: Rune Priest manning ADL
|
 |
Stubborn Hammerer
|
Yeah it isnt really s big problem just not having split fire. But that does sound legal to me and quite good. Remember though, thr Chooser only works if it is in line of sight.(which it should always be pretty much.)
I have also seen Logan mounted with the LF for the Tank Hunters benefits.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/03 17:36:48
Subject: Rune Priest manning ADL
|
 |
Preacher of the Emperor
|
Griddlelol wrote:So in conclusion:
The downside is that the Long Fangs may no longer split fire.
So as you previously noted: not a huge downside hence why just about every SW player does it.
Opposite. FAQ says you do get to split fire with an IC present.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/03 17:37:38
Subject: Rune Priest manning ADL
|
 |
Junior Officer with Laspistol
|
You misunderstood what I meant. The LFs may no longer split fire because the IC is already using the rule.
|
Star Trek taught me so much. Like, how you should accept people, whether they be black, white, Klingon or even female...
FAQs |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/03 17:40:39
Subject: Rune Priest manning ADL
|
 |
Preacher of the Emperor
|
Griddlelol wrote:You misunderstood what I meant. The LFs may no longer split fire because the IC is already using the rule.
Got it. Just an odd way of phrasing it. I'd simply say the unit is using the rule already.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/03 17:45:36
Subject: Rune Priest manning ADL
|
 |
Honored Helliarch on Hypex
|
Of course, if the Rune Priest uses the turret's interceptor rule to fire in during the opponent's preceding movement phase, the Rune Priest is not eligible to fire during your subsequent shooting phase.
So in that event, you would not need to spend your split fire to target separately, and could use it on the Long Fangs as normal.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/03 18:21:17
Subject: Rune Priest manning ADL
|
 |
Stone Bonkers Fabricator General
|
Digriz wrote:I want to check I'm not missing something and that this is actually legal:
RP with Chooser of the Slain makes him BS5. Have him manning an Icarus Lascannon on an ADL and joined to a Long Fang pack. Rune priest can cast Prescience on his unit giving all the long fangs twin linked weapons, and he himself can shoot the Icarus Lascannon at BS5 with a re-roll.
Is it legal? Any downsides to this?
and you can add in a cyclone missile launcher wolf guard. 7 missiles and a long ranged lascannon.
It's 340+ points before you give the rune priest runic armor. I prefer my rune priest in an allied infantry blob where he adds his counter attack and ATSKNF to them.
|
Dark Mechanicus and Renegade Iron Hand Dakka Blog
My Dark Mechanicus P&M Blog. Mostly Modeling as I paint very slowly. Lots of kitbashed conversions of marines and a few guard to make up a renegade Iron Hand chapter and Dark Mechanicus Allies. Bionics++ |
|
 |
 |
|