| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/09 15:01:51
Subject: Sworn Protector - just to clarify
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
An IC in a unit with at least one model with this rule auto passes Look Out, Sir. Since its the IC who takes the test, and on a successful attempt you transfer the wound to a different model in the unit within 6", can you transfer the wound to a model without this rule, ie drones?
Since the bodyguard team as a unit gets Sworn Protector, and drones are just another member of the unit in all regards, I don't think there's a question here as the drones get the rule. However if Shadowsun joins a squad of Stealth Suits, only the the Stealth Shas'ui and Shas'vre gain sworn protector, and her personal drones don't have this rule.
So can any wound allocated to Shadowsun joined to a Stealth squad automatically be LOS to her drones, and any drones the squad bought, and then any suits before she has to take it herself?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/09 15:25:39
Subject: Sworn Protector - just to clarify
|
 |
Unshakeable Grey Knight Land Raider Pilot
|
Yes. Sworn Protector says nothing about who takes the wound, only that the LOS is an automatic success.
BUT! Be careful, Look Out, Sir! does not give you a choice as to which model takes the wound - as of the latest rulebook FAQ it hits the nearest model in the unit. Position accordingly.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/09 16:45:28
Subject: Sworn Protector - just to clarify
|
 |
Shas'o Commanding the Hunter Kadre
|
Now think about this, sworn protector and the tau warlord trait precision of the skilled hunter.
No LOS rolls and LOS auto pass. Derp.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/09 16:48:35
Subject: Re:Sworn Protector - just to clarify
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
In this situation if you played Tau vs Tau and had these two rules the Warlord trait would happen. Not allowing a LOS roll would negate the change to auto-pass the roll. Since to auto-pass you would have needed to be able to make the roll in the first place.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/09 16:48:47
Subject: Sworn Protector - just to clarify
|
 |
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest
|
juraigamer wrote:Now think about this, sworn protector and the tau warlord trait precision of the skilled hunter.
No LOS rolls and LOS auto pass. Derp.
That's an easy one. The test is never taken because of the Warlord trait - therefore, you can't auto-pass it. For another example, the same goes for weapons that automatically hit - if you can't fire it for any reason, you can't automatically hit.
|
"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/09 16:53:55
Subject: Sworn Protector - just to clarify
|
 |
Shas'o Commanding the Hunter Kadre
|
Heh didn't read it did you?
The warlord trait states you don't get to make the roll for the test, but you don't roll a test that auto passes.
The trait doesn't stop the test you just can't roll it.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/09 17:00:59
Subject: Sworn Protector - just to clarify
|
 |
Abhorrent Grotesque Aberration
|
@Juraigamer:
There's a difference here.
The first trait means there is no LOS at all. The second means that when you can LOS, it auto passes.
It's not that they "cancel" each other out; rather the first means that LOS is just not possible which means the second rule never comes into play.
|
------------------
"Why me?" Gideon begged, falling to his knees.
"Why not?" - Asdrubael Vect |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/09 17:41:25
Subject: Sworn Protector - just to clarify
|
 |
Shas'o Commanding the Hunter Kadre
|
Incorrect, the warlord trait states that enemy models cannot take LOS rolls. Not taking a roll isn't the rule doesn't work.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/09 18:21:22
Subject: Sworn Protector - just to clarify
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Incorrect, not being able to take the roll means you have no way to autopass
Poison vs KB comes to mind. You cannot KB a poisoned wound of 6 to hit, as you never roll to wound.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/09 19:59:15
Subject: Re:Sworn Protector - just to clarify
|
 |
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest
|
This is why I gave the autohit example. It's cropped up in the rules a few times before, take it from us - you can't autopass a roll if you're not given permission to make the roll to begin with.
|
"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|