Switch Theme:

Tau drone rules clarification  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Human Auxiliary to the Empire





Tau Sept of Birt'ley

Hi,

In the "old" Tau codex any drones attached to a user with a drone controller would inherit the toughness and save of said user.

In the new codex i can find no reference to this (i have the Ipad version) does that mean that it no longer applies? i am guessing it doesnt, as i did notice that drones are now T4 which brings them inline with the toughness of the suits they are supposed to be attached to.

Thanks.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/04/11 07:19:05


 
   
Made in jp
Longtime Dakkanaut



Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan

You can't find it because it's not there any more. It was a horrible cludge that was needed to try and bypass awful wound allocation rules, and so is no longer needed.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/04/11 07:28:42


 
   
Made in gb
Human Auxiliary to the Empire





Tau Sept of Birt'ley

That makes sense, thanks very much for clarification.
   
Made in gb
Leader of the Sept







Also I think that the shielded missile drones you can attach to the Riptide are T6 to match. So, as noted above, they have jsut changed the T value of the relevant drones to match the unit they are most likely to attach to.

Please excuse any spelling errors. I use a tablet frequently and software keyboards are a pain!

Terranwing - w3;d1;l1
51st Dunedinw2;d0;l0
Cadre Coronal Afterglow w1;d0;l0 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Chrysis wrote:
You can't find it because it's not there any more. It was a horrible cludge that was needed to try and bypass awful wound allocation rules, and so is no longer needed.

Well it was the 4th edition mixed toughness (and armour, eugh) rules, not wound allocation, that meant that kludge was needed.

Man am I glad that those rules dont exist any longer
   
Made in no
Dakka Veteran




Just wondering, do drones take up spots in a transport?

 
   
Made in gb
Leader of the Sept







Normally they do. The exceptions are where the vehicle has its own drones purchased as attached drones and the new Pathfinder Recon Drone that can slot into the top of the Devilfish, rather than riding inside.

Please excuse any spelling errors. I use a tablet frequently and software keyboards are a pain!

Terranwing - w3;d1;l1
51st Dunedinw2;d0;l0
Cadre Coronal Afterglow w1;d0;l0 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: