Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/15 02:48:08
Subject: Coteaz's "I've Been Expecing You"
|
 |
Pyro Pilot of a Triach Stalker
Somewhere over the rainbow, way up high
|
Okay, so I understand Coteaz's unit can make as many shooting attacks as units that fall into the 12 inch bubble.
I had this scenario come up today, The Doom of Malatai drops in a spore. The Tyranid player then uses the spore to block LOS to the doom. Both are easily inside the 12 inch bubble.
We ended up deciding the purifiers and Coteaz could fire at the spore, and then fire at the doom only if they could draw LOS to the doom by killing the spore.
Did we handle it correctly? It ended up having a large effect on the course of the game.
I would mention, I don't play GK.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/04/17 02:04:12
Bedouin Dynasty: 10000 pts
The Silver Lances: 4000 pts
The Custodes Winter Watch 4000 pts
MajorStoffer wrote:
...
Sternguard though, those guys are all about kicking ass. They'd chew bubble gum as well, but bubble gum is heretical. Only tau chew gum. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/15 02:59:40
Subject: Coteaz's "I've Been Expecing You"
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
It's units that fall into the 12" bubble and he has LoS to.
Since he didn't have LoS when the unit (DoM) arrived, he can't shoot it.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/15 03:56:37
Subject: Coteaz's "I've Been Expecing You"
|
 |
Pyro Pilot of a Triach Stalker
Somewhere over the rainbow, way up high
|
If the pod dies however, he then has LOS to fire with, does it count as all shots firing at the same time, or are they sequential?
|
Bedouin Dynasty: 10000 pts
The Silver Lances: 4000 pts
The Custodes Winter Watch 4000 pts
MajorStoffer wrote:
...
Sternguard though, those guys are all about kicking ass. They'd chew bubble gum as well, but bubble gum is heretical. Only tau chew gum. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/15 04:06:01
Subject: Coteaz's "I've Been Expecing You"
|
 |
Drop Trooper with Demo Charge
|
Well it's a debatable one, but I would liken it to long fangs perhaps, you don't shoot the two lascanons at a tank and THEN shoot the two Hvy bltrs at he unit that was hiding behind it... Think of all his shots happening in a 'phase'.. But then again some would argue 'if at the beginning his Los is blocked then no' whereas 'if at any time during the shooting phase they HAVE Los at the beginning on that units turn to shoot (like one squad kills tank, next squad shoots separately to shoot at squad behind)... I would still go with blocked Los at beginning of THAT units current 'phase' though.. My 2c
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/15 04:22:18
Subject: Coteaz's "I've Been Expecing You"
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
iGuy91 wrote:If the pod dies however, he then has LOS to fire with, does it count as all shots firing at the same time, or are they sequential?
Did the enemy arrive within 12" and in Line of Sight?
Or did you have to kill something to get Line of Sight?
The first one means you can fire.
The second means you can't.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/15 13:17:10
Subject: Coteaz's "I've Been Expecing You"
|
 |
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter
|
IBEY says you can "immediately make an out-of-sequence shooting attack" against an enemy unit that has arrived from reserve.
So the question becomes: did the Spore arrive first, and then the Doom deploy out of it? Or did the Spore and the Doom arrive at the same time?
If the former is the case, then yes, you may shoot the Spore first, and if it dies shoot the Doom. If the latter, then no, you may only shoot the Spore.
|
LVO 2017 - Best GK Player
The Grimdark Future 8500 1500  6000 2000 5000
"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/15 13:59:38
Subject: Coteaz's "I've Been Expecing You"
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Eric - you're making a distinction that is both irrelevant and unsupported by rules.
The pod arrives and then the unit deploys - exactly like a SM Drop Pod. Which means that the unit and pod arrive at the same time (ie, you can't shoot the pod with the unit still embarked).
Since they arrive at the same time and Coteaz only has LoS to the pod, he can only make his attack against the pod.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/15 16:08:52
Subject: Coteaz's "I've Been Expecing You"
|
 |
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter
|
rigeld2 wrote:Eric - you're making a distinction that is both irrelevant and unsupported by rules. I made no distinction at all. Read what I wrote: I summarised two potential options (based on the OP), and sided with neither of them. I left others to pull rules to make that decision, trusting that someone like yourself would do so. My summary was hardly irrelevant, since it directly addressed the issue the OP was having. One of the options is unsupported by the rules, but recall that I gave TWO options, not one. Edit: Also, my name isn't Eric. That's the name of a dead parrot.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/04/15 16:09:19
LVO 2017 - Best GK Player
The Grimdark Future 8500 1500  6000 2000 5000
"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/15 16:33:04
Subject: Coteaz's "I've Been Expecing You"
|
 |
Pyro Pilot of a Triach Stalker
Somewhere over the rainbow, way up high
|
Hrm, seems the consensus is that he would only get the shots against the spore.
I guess I will pass that along
|
Bedouin Dynasty: 10000 pts
The Silver Lances: 4000 pts
The Custodes Winter Watch 4000 pts
MajorStoffer wrote:
...
Sternguard though, those guys are all about kicking ass. They'd chew bubble gum as well, but bubble gum is heretical. Only tau chew gum. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/15 16:35:11
Subject: Coteaz's "I've Been Expecing You"
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
rigeld2 wrote:Eric - you're making a distinction that is both irrelevant and unsupported by rules.
The pod arrives and then the unit deploys - exactly like a SM Drop Pod. Which means that the unit and pod arrive at the same time (ie, you can't shoot the pod with the unit still embarked).
Since they arrive at the same time and Coteaz only has LoS to the pod, he can only make his attack against the pod.
Pg 36 seems to disagree with this though. In the Movement phase during which they arrive, deep striking units may not move any further, other than to disembark from a deep striking Transport vehicle if they are in one.
After start of the turn sequence, the unit will disembark from the Transport during the normal movement phase.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/15 17:02:35
Subject: Coteaz's "I've Been Expecing You"
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Fragile wrote:rigeld2 wrote:Eric - you're making a distinction that is both irrelevant and unsupported by rules.
The pod arrives and then the unit deploys - exactly like a SM Drop Pod. Which means that the unit and pod arrive at the same time (ie, you can't shoot the pod with the unit still embarked).
Since they arrive at the same time and Coteaz only has LoS to the pod, he can only make his attack against the pod.
Pg 36 seems to disagree with this though. In the Movement phase during which they arrive, deep striking units may not move any further, other than to disembark from a deep striking Transport vehicle if they are in one.
After start of the turn sequence, the unit will disembark from the Transport during the normal movement phase.
Those rules cover general deep striking transports (land raiders, flyers, etc).
The Drop Pod and Mycetic Spore rules are more specific and therefore relevant. Automatically Appended Next Post: Elric Greywolf wrote:rigeld2 wrote:Eric - you're making a distinction that is both irrelevant and unsupported by rules.
I made no distinction at all. Read what I wrote: I summarised two potential options (based on the OP), and sided with neither of them. I left others to pull rules to make that decision, trusting that someone like yourself would do so. My summary was hardly irrelevant, since it directly addressed the issue the OP was having. One of the options is unsupported by the rules, but recall that I gave TWO options, not one.
Edit: Also, my name isn't Eric. That's the name of a dead parrot.
Sorry, I misread your post.
And your name. Eek.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/04/15 17:03:24
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/15 17:20:00
Subject: Coteaz's "I've Been Expecing You"
|
 |
Apprehensive Inquisitorial Apprentice
Columbia SC
|
rigeld2 wrote:Eric - you're making a distinction that is both irrelevant and unsupported by rules.
The pod arrives and then the unit deploys - exactly like a SM Drop Pod. Which means that the unit and pod arrive at the same time (ie, you can't shoot the pod with the unit still embarked).
Since they arrive at the same time and Coteaz only has LoS to the pod, he can only make his attack against the pod.
This is correct. Attach Coteaz to a Purgation Squad (Astral Aim) and avoid this problem.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/15 17:24:57
Subject: Coteaz's "I've Been Expecing You"
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Except they can't use Astral Aim during the opponent's movement phase. IBEY allows an out of sequence shooting attack, not a psychic power plus shooting attack.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/15 17:31:53
Subject: Coteaz's "I've Been Expecing You"
|
 |
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter
|
rigeld2 wrote:Except they can't use Astral Aim during the opponent's movement phase. IBEY allows an out of sequence shooting attack, not a psychic power plus shooting attack.
This is true. You can't cast powers on your opponent's turn (unless the power gives you specific permission to do so).
However, do people think Astral Aim lasts through the opponent's turn? BRB says that Blessings do. Astral Aim is not a blessing (as the GK codex was written for 5th), but it does act as a blessing, and it does not specify when it ends. How long did psychic powers last in 5th? (I don't remember.)
|
LVO 2017 - Best GK Player
The Grimdark Future 8500 1500  6000 2000 5000
"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/15 22:24:11
Subject: Re:Coteaz's "I've Been Expecing You"
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Astral Aim is not a blessing and only lasts as long as the power specifically states it lasts.
As for the drop pod or spore debate. If the spore, like the drop pod, states its passengers must immediately disembark when it arrives from reserves then this disembark is happening at the exact same time as the corteaz shooting. When two things happen at the same time like this the controlling player gets to set the order.
That player may choose to allow the shots BEFORE his unit disembarks. If the transport is destroyed by these shots the unit will still be inside. The rules for this type of situation are presented in the transport section of the BRB. The models that survive will have disembarked. That player will likely choose to allow the shots AFTER his unit disembarks. When the unit disembarks, either because the transport died, or because they walked off, they will also trigger shots from Coteaz and his unit. At this time you need to draw line of sight. It will be possible that the unit walked off behind its transport preventing LoS, its also possible they are partly exposed in some way. Even if they have a dead transport it may only have been wrecked and could still block LoS.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/15 22:55:29
Subject: Re:Coteaz's "I've Been Expecing You"
|
 |
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter
|
Elric Greywolf wrote:Astral Aim is not a blessing (as the GK codex was written for 5th)...and it does not specify when it ends.
DJGietzen wrote:Astral Aim is not a blessing and only lasts as long as the power specifically states it lasts. Yes, that was already covered. A problem arises when the power does not state when it ends. Does anyone have a good argument for when this power ends?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/04/15 22:55:53
LVO 2017 - Best GK Player
The Grimdark Future 8500 1500  6000 2000 5000
"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/15 23:04:33
Subject: Coteaz's "I've Been Expecing You"
|
 |
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar
|
Wouldn't we have to know what type of power it is to answer that? W/O a FAQ I think we can't really answer that. Astral Aim does seem like a blessing or buff to me.
|
01001000 01101001 00100000 01110100 01101000 01100101 01110010 01100101 00101110 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/15 23:12:09
Subject: Coteaz's "I've Been Expecing You"
|
 |
Furious Fire Dragon
|
I think that first you shoot at the spore and then you shoot at it's content IF you can draw line of sight to it when it disembarks. Only way he can avoid it is by disembarking outside the 12" zone of Coteaz IBEY, or by having LOS blocked by the spore.
|
Got milk?
All I can say about painting is that VMC tastes much better than VMA... especially black...
PM me if you are interested in Commission work.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/15 23:12:17
Subject: Coteaz's "I've Been Expecing You"
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Mythra wrote:Wouldn't we have to know what type of power it is to answer that? W/O a FAQ I think we can't really answer that. Astral Aim does seem like a blessing or buff to me.
It is an unlisted type of power.
The power does not say what it is.
Just like almost all of the other powers in the GK Codex.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/15 23:14:14
Subject: Re:Coteaz's "I've Been Expecing You"
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
DJGietzen wrote:
As for the drop pod or spore debate. If the spore, like the drop pod, states its passengers must immediately disembark when it arrives from reserves then this disembark is happening at the exact same time as the corteaz shooting. When two things happen at the same time like this the controlling player gets to set the order.
While this would normally be true, this entire issue has been FAQed.
FAQ wrote:
Q: Does a squad disembarking from a drop pod, or mycetic spore, count as arriving from reserve for Inquisitor Coteaz's I've been Expecting You fired? (pg 44)
A: Yes. This means that Inquisitor Coteaz and his unit will be able to fire once at each unit.
Since both drop pods and mycetic spores would need to "open" for the occupants to disembark, I'd say that you can't really block LoS with them. Cover save, sure. But just because someone models their drop pod or whatever not to have open doors doesn't mean the doors aren't opened when it lands. Doing so would be widely considered modeling for advantage, as discussed previously in another thread. And the distinct lack of an official model for the mycetic spore would further support this, in my opinion.
The FAQ says you can shoot at them, so as far as the FAQ is concerned, neither a mycetic spore, or drop pod should be considered to block LoS.
|
There is NO SUCH THING as MORE ADVANCED in 40k!!! There are ONLY 2 LEVELS of RULES: Basic and Advanced. THE END. Stop saying "More Advanced". That is not a recognized thing in modern 40k!!!!
2500
3400
2250
3500
3300 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/15 23:17:24
Subject: Coteaz's "I've Been Expecing You"
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
Nothing in the FAQ states that a Mycetic Spore doesn't block LOS. So by default, LOS to the target will be required at the time the shot is taken.
I've never seen a Mycetic Spore model that has a see-through structure like a drop pod.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/15 23:19:54
Subject: Coteaz's "I've Been Expecing You"
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Mannahnin wrote:Nothing in the FAQ states that a Mycetic Spore doesn't block LOS. So by default, LOS to the target will be required at the time the shot is taken.
this is correct.
As with any model if it blocks Line of Sight, then it blocks Line of Sight.
I've never seen a Mycetic Spore model that has a see-through structure like a drop pod.
Well there is not a GW model for the Spore, so there could be one similar to a drop pod, or one made from a drop pod, but with copious amounts of greenstuff for the organic bitz.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/15 23:20:20
Subject: Coteaz's "I've Been Expecing You"
|
 |
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar
|
It says you can shoot them but it doesn't mention not needing line of sight. I think you would still need to see the doom to shoot him. The power itself does mention you do need LoS.
Drop pods and spore pods don't technically need to open for a disembark. Whether the doors on a pod are open or closed you drawn LoS from the hull. (Doors are really fluff.) If they did open the doors then you could use true LoS to shoot a unit behind it tho right?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/04/15 23:22:08
01001000 01101001 00100000 01110100 01101000 01100101 01110010 01100101 00101110 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/15 23:30:35
Subject: Coteaz's "I've Been Expecing You"
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Mannahnin wrote:Nothing in the FAQ states that a Mycetic Spore doesn't block LOS. So by default, LOS to the target will be required at the time the shot is taken.
I've never seen a Mycetic Spore model that has a see-through structure like a drop pod.
While you might not have seen them, logic dictates that they would need to open somehow in order for units inside to exit. And upon opening, as with drop pods, they would have sections you could see through.
I suppose I'd be willing to go either way on it for the spores, so long as it was clear beforehand. But you'd definitely have LoS through drop pods, as in the way they work, all of the doors burst open upon landing.
I think logically, the best way to handle it would be to say they give a cover save, but don't block LoS. Because they really do have to open to let the contents out. Otherwise, since everyone gets to basically design the dimensions and look of their spores completely on their own, they could always design spores to dimensions and specifications that are advantageous to the specific unit they plan on deploying with it.
I could have 1 type of spore, modelled 1 way for my ranged nids, and another, designed a different way for my CC critters.
|
There is NO SUCH THING as MORE ADVANCED in 40k!!! There are ONLY 2 LEVELS of RULES: Basic and Advanced. THE END. Stop saying "More Advanced". That is not a recognized thing in modern 40k!!!!
2500
3400
2250
3500
3300 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/15 23:36:58
Subject: Coteaz's "I've Been Expecing You"
|
 |
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar
|
You could only open doors on the side you get out of.
|
01001000 01101001 00100000 01110100 01101000 01100101 01110010 01100101 00101110 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/15 23:53:41
Subject: Coteaz's "I've Been Expecing You"
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Mythra wrote:You could only open doors on the side you get out of.
That's not how drop pods work 40k universe. All the doors burst open, and the marines pour out.
That argument was posited in another thread, and the consensus was that doing so would be considered modeling for advantage, if I recall correctly. Either way, let's not get too far off topic. I think the primary question has been answered here. Whether or not drop pods and spores should block LoS should be it's own thread, if you'd like to continue discussing it, and get a broader community view on the topic.
|
There is NO SUCH THING as MORE ADVANCED in 40k!!! There are ONLY 2 LEVELS of RULES: Basic and Advanced. THE END. Stop saying "More Advanced". That is not a recognized thing in modern 40k!!!!
2500
3400
2250
3500
3300 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/16 02:42:05
Subject: Coteaz's "I've Been Expecing You"
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
BetrayTheWorld wrote: Mannahnin wrote:Nothing in the FAQ states that a Mycetic Spore doesn't block LOS. So by default, LOS to the target will be required at the time the shot is taken.
I've never seen a Mycetic Spore model that has a see-through structure like a drop pod.
While you might not have seen them, logic dictates that they would need to open somehow in order for units inside to exit. And upon opening, as with drop pods, they would have sections you could see through.
A spore might only open in one area, one side, whatever. There's no reason to assume that it must pop open like a flower or drop pod.
I suppose I'd be willing to go either way on it for the spores, so long as it was clear beforehand. But you'd definitely have LoS through drop pods, as in the way they work, all of the doors burst open upon landing.
Unless LoS is blocked by one of the supports, sure.
I think logically, the best way to handle it would be to say they give a cover save, but don't block LoS. Because they really do have to open to let the contents out. Otherwise, since everyone gets to basically design the dimensions and look of their spores completely on their own, they could always design spores to dimensions and specifications that are advantageous to the specific unit they plan on deploying with it.
I could have 1 type of spore, modelled 1 way for my ranged nids, and another, designed a different way for my CC critters.
Yes, absolutely true. And for an organic race that evolves differently based on need how does that not make sense?
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/16 02:45:41
Subject: Coteaz's "I've Been Expecing You"
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
If the Doom can't draw LOS to the Grey Knights then his power should be able to affect them. Worst case they should get a cover save.
I think logically, the best way to handle it would be to say they give a cover save, but don't block LoS. Because they really do have to open to let the contents out. Otherwise, since everyone gets to basically design the dimensions and look of their spores completely on their own, they could always design spores to dimensions and specifications that are advantageous to the specific unit they plan on deploying with it.
I could have 1 type of spore, modelled 1 way for my ranged nids, and another, designed a different way for my CC critters.
Yes, absolutely true. And for an organic race that evolves differently based on need how does that not make sense?
That would be an extreme case of modeling for an advantage and exploiting the lack of an official model. I have seen spores built that look like a flower opening it's petals... You could easily see right through them on ground level.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/04/16 02:52:35
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/16 02:47:44
Subject: Coteaz's "I've Been Expecing You"
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Dozer Blades wrote:If the Doom can't draw LOS to the Grey Knights then his power should be able to affect them. Worst case they should get a cover save.
They do get a cover save. As it stands most people I know who play Nids (myself included) use the rule for Shooting Attacks, so only models within LOS can actually suffer the Wounds.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/04/16 02:57:09
Subject: Coteaz's "I've Been Expecing You"
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Dozer Blades wrote:That would be an extreme case of modeling for an advantage and exploiting the lack of an official model. I have seen spores built that look like a flower opening it's petals... You could easily see right through them on ground level.
First, keep in mind that I only own one spore right now. It's not modeled as an opening flower.
It's not modeling for advantage. There's no GW model to compare it to and decide if an advantage is gained.
People using slightly modified Carnifexes for Tervigons before the official model were not modeling for advantage either.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
|