Switch Theme:

Farsight: Hit & Run  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Been Around the Block





Need help settling another argument... Someone please correct me if I'm wrong...

Vectored Retro-Thrusters give a model both Fleet and Hit and Run.

Hit and Run says "...a UNIT that contains at least 1 model with this rule...if the UNIT wishes to do so, IT must take an Initiative test."

Characteristics Tests 4th bullet "When a single test is required for the whole UNIT, use the highest relevant characteristic in the UNIT".

So if Farsight joins his Bodyguard of 7 XV8's, and just one of them bought Vectored Retro-Thrusters, the whole squad can leave assault passing the Initiative test on a 5 or less as Farsights Init is the highest at 5, and not at the Init 2 of the Bodyguard with the Thrusters.
   
Made in us
Douglas Bader






Exactly. As you pointed out, the rules here are perfectly clear.

There is no such thing as a hobby without politics. "Leave politics at the door" is itself a political statement, an endorsement of the status quo and an attempt to silence dissenting voices. 
   
Made in au
Boom! Leman Russ Commander





Brisbane, Australia

 Peregrine wrote:
Exactly. As you pointed out, the rules here are perfectly clear.


So I only need to buy one VRT?

There's supposed to be some reason that VRTs allow me to move 4D6 on thrust moves, I can't find this rule, can someone point me to it?

 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

 Scipio Africanus wrote:
 Peregrine wrote:
Exactly. As you pointed out, the rules here are perfectly clear.


So I only need to buy one VRT?

There's supposed to be some reason that VRTs allow me to move 4D6 on thrust moves, I can't find this rule, can someone point me to it?


You're confusing the Riptide's Nova charged thrust with the Vectored Retro-Thusters.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in au
Boom! Leman Russ Commander





Brisbane, Australia

 yakface wrote:
 Scipio Africanus wrote:
 Peregrine wrote:
Exactly. As you pointed out, the rules here are perfectly clear.


So I only need to buy one VRT?

There's supposed to be some reason that VRTs allow me to move 4D6 on thrust moves, I can't find this rule, can someone point me to it?


You're confusing the Riptide's Nova charged thrust with the Vectored Retro-Thusters.




No, I'm amply aware of the Nova Charge 4D6. I'm saying that a friend had informed me of this and I'm finding that it doesn't exist.

I'm assuming you're implicitly telling me that it doesn't exist, though. What does fleet give to a jetpack?

 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

 Scipio Africanus wrote:

No, I'm amply aware of the Nova Charge 4D6. I'm saying that a friend had informed me of this and I'm finding that it doesn't exist.

I'm assuming you're implicitly telling me that it doesn't exist, though. What does fleet give to a jetpack?


The same as any other model.

Vectored Retro-thrusters just gives Hit and Run. Not sure what your friend is talking about.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Focused Fire Warrior






 Scipio Africanus wrote:
 yakface wrote:
 Scipio Africanus wrote:
 Peregrine wrote:
Exactly. As you pointed out, the rules here are perfectly clear.


So I only need to buy one VRT?

There's supposed to be some reason that VRTs allow me to move 4D6 on thrust moves, I can't find this rule, can someone point me to it?


You're confusing the Riptide's Nova charged thrust with the Vectored Retro-Thusters.




No, I'm amply aware of the Nova Charge 4D6. I'm saying that a friend had informed me of this and I'm finding that it doesn't exist.

I'm assuming you're implicitly telling me that it doesn't exist, though. What does fleet give to a jetpack?


Nothing except the regular re-roll Run distance and charge distance if you're charging. Couldn't find anything saying that it does anything special to jet packs.

3000 pts. or more
3000 pts. or more  
   
Made in au
Boom! Leman Russ Commander





Brisbane, Australia

 yakface wrote:
 Scipio Africanus wrote:

No, I'm amply aware of the Nova Charge 4D6. I'm saying that a friend had informed me of this and I'm finding that it doesn't exist.

I'm assuming you're implicitly telling me that it doesn't exist, though. What does fleet give to a jetpack?


The same as any other model.

Vectored Retro-thrusters just gives Hit and Run. Not sure what your friend is talking about.



Actually, VRT gives Fleet and Hit and Run. Page 69 of the Tau codex, under Vectored Retro-thrusters.

Again in the summary page.

 
   
Made in us
Douglas Bader






 Scipio Africanus wrote:
So I only need to buy one VRT?


Exactly. The only reason to buy more than one VRT is so that you don't lose your ability to disengage from combat if the one VRT model is killed.

There's supposed to be some reason that VRTs allow me to move 4D6 on thrust moves, I can't find this rule, can someone point me to it?


There is no such rule. Your friend is just wrong.

There is no such thing as a hobby without politics. "Leave politics at the door" is itself a political statement, an endorsement of the status quo and an attempt to silence dissenting voices. 
   
Made in bg
Cosmic Joe





Bulgaria

Also having all the models with VRT means you get to use the fleet part of it.


Nosebiter wrote:
Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: