Switch Theme:

Transport gaining a USR from embarked unit?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in au
Fresh-Faced New User




Hey all,

Did a quick google search which didn't yield much. I think this is wishful thinking but anyway.

Does an embarked unit confer any of its USR's onto the transport it is in (such as stealth or something akin to that?)?

Not a troll post, just something that popped into my head

Cheers,
TheTrans
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Only if the USR says so.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

The conferring rules only apply when a unit joins another unit, which is not the same thing as embarking...where the embarked unit and the transport remain separate in rules terms. So as rigeld said, the rule has to specifically state it applies to transports, or at least affect units in a certain distance.
The only examples I can think of are ones that are area-of-effect anyway.

"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
Made in au
Nurgle Predator Driver with an Infestation



Perth, Western Australia

Three examples of a vehicle benefiting from a unit's USR are Infiltrate, Outflank and Scout. There are specific limitations though.
   
Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

Dra'al Nacht wrote:
Three examples of a vehicle benefiting from a unit's USR are Infiltrate, Outflank and Scout. There are specific limitations though.


Bingo, thankyou. Should've known there'd be some examples kicking about.
Only real limitations I can see are that it has to be a Dedicated Transport (fair enough), and that they have to start inside it (again, kinda obvious). And once your deployment's done, that's the rule dealt with and out the way anyway.

"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
Made in us
Stone Bonkers Fabricator General





Beijing, China

TheTrans wrote:
Hey all,

Did a quick google search which didn't yield much. I think this is wishful thinking but anyway.

Does an embarked unit confer any of its USR's onto the transport it is in (such as stealth or something akin to that?)?

Not a troll post, just something that popped into my head

Cheers,
TheTrans


so my transports gain feel no pain when I put wracks inside?

Dark Mechanicus and Renegade Iron Hand Dakka Blog
My Dark Mechanicus P&M Blog. Mostly Modeling as I paint very slowly. Lots of kitbashed conversions of marines and a few guard to make up a renegade Iron Hand chapter and Dark Mechanicus Allies. Bionics++  
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

 Exergy wrote:
TheTrans wrote:
Hey all,

Did a quick google search which didn't yield much. I think this is wishful thinking but anyway.

Does an embarked unit confer any of its USR's onto the transport it is in (such as stealth or something akin to that?)?

Not a troll post, just something that popped into my head

Cheers,
TheTrans


so my transports gain feel no pain when I put wracks inside?


Yes, but as vehicles never suffer wounds you will never take a FnP save.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






 Grey Templar wrote:
 Exergy wrote:
TheTrans wrote:
Hey all,

Did a quick google search which didn't yield much. I think this is wishful thinking but anyway.

Does an embarked unit confer any of its USR's onto the transport it is in (such as stealth or something akin to that?)?

Not a troll post, just something that popped into my head

Cheers,
TheTrans


so my transports gain feel no pain when I put wracks inside?


Yes, but as vehicles never suffer wounds you will never take a FnP save.


Why are you saying "Yes" here?

No Special rules, other than those that specify otherwise, get passed on to transports that the unit is embarked in.

Case in point: a Pathfinder unit with all 3 special drones embarks on a devilfish, The devil fish receives the Recon drones rules as specified, but does not gain the grav-wave projector nor benefit from/gain the pulse accelerator.


This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

Slight brain-fart.


If the FnP is given out in a bubble, the transport will get it. But as it never takes wounds it can't benefit.

Wracks IIRC don't give out a FnP bubble, so my mistake.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






 Grey Templar wrote:
Slight brain-fart.


If the FnP is given out in a bubble, the transport will get it. But as it never takes wounds it can't benefit.

Wracks IIRC don't give out a FnP bubble, so my mistake.


gotcha, and yes bubble effect would give the useless rule.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: