Switch Theme:

Target: JotWW and unit  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Blood-Raging Khorne Berserker





New Jersey

Does the squad that a RP is grouped with have to fire at the same thing the line drawn with JotWW hits?

Q: Does Jaws of the World Wolf require line of sight? Does it ignore
terrain that blocks line of sight (i.e., impassable terrain)? (p37)
A: As a psychic shooting attack, Jaws of the World Wolf requires
line of sight. The Rune Priest must have line of sight to the
first model that the power affects – in effect he is treated as the
target model; the power just happens to hit everybody else on
its way through!

This is probably the FAQ piece that would describe it. I said he couldn't draw a line somwhere and hit a different unit than the rest of the GHs could shoot.

I need to return some video tapes.
Skulls for the Skull Throne 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





That FAQ says that the first model hit is the target model.
You can't shoot at 2 different units with a single GH unit.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Shas'o Commanding the Hunter Kadre





Richmond, VA

So long as one model can see, wounds can hit past that model, but if the unit cannot see any of the models, they cannot shoot.

Desert Hunters of Vior'la The Purge Iron Hands Adepts of Pestilence Tallaran Desert Raiders Grey Knight Teleport Assault Force
Lt. Coldfire wrote:Seems to me that you should be refereeing and handing out red cards--like a boss.

 Peregrine wrote:
SCREEE I'M A SEAGULL SCREE SCREEEE!!!!!
 
   
Made in us
Unrelenting Rubric Terminator of Tzeentch





I would say they still have to shoot at the same unit. As long as he is joined to the GHs they are for all intents and purposes one unit and can only shoot one other unit.

i believe what the FAQ is trying to indicate in regards to JotWW is that it can still harm a model that the Rune Priest cannot draw LoS to, but the Rune Priest must target a model in that same line, that he DOES have LoS to.

"Backfield? I have no backfield." 
   
Made in au
Hoary Long Fang with Lascannon




Armageddon, Pry System, Armageddon Sector, Armageddon Sub-sector, Segmentum Solar.

 Goat wrote:
Does the squad that a RP is grouped with have to fire at the same thing the line drawn with JotWW hits?

Q: Does Jaws of the World Wolf require line of sight? Does it ignore
terrain that blocks line of sight (i.e., impassable terrain)? (p37)
A: As a psychic shooting attack, Jaws of the World Wolf requires
line of sight. The Rune Priest must have line of sight to the
first model that the power affects – in effect he is treated as the
target model; the power just happens to hit everybody else on
its way through!

This is probably the FAQ piece that would describe it. I said he couldn't draw a line somwhere and hit a different unit than the rest of the GHs could shoot.


Its a psychic shooting attack, you still need to follow the rules of shooting because no exception is given to choose a different target unit to the one the unit he is attached to is targeting or vice versa. The only exception given is you pick a model in the target unit that the RP can see.
   
Made in ph
Brainy Zoanthrope





If the rest of the squad shoot at anything, it has to be at the unit that was targeted with the Jaws yes.

So technically the answer to this QAW:

{quote}
Does the squad that a RP is grouped with have to fire at the same thing the line drawn with JotWW hits?
{quote}

is...

"
No.
"

   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: