Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/13 13:47:51
Subject: Transports and Troops
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
I am getting some conflicting information on this and wanted to reach out and see what people say on this.
From reviewing the rules this is my interpretation of Transports and Troops that can be housed within them.
1) If a troop can have a dedicated transport, the transport model is included with that Troops spot on the force organization chart.
2) A transport not taken as a dedicated transport counts as a troop option.
3) Dedicated transports can only be deployed empty or with the troop it's dedicated to.
4) Non-Dedicated transports can deploy empty or with any unit up to it's capacity
5) Dedicated transports can carry any unit up to it's capacity after deployment.
I cannot recall where I read each of these specifically; however, I have heard some people say that you can only take transports as dedicated transports and only units that allow for dedicated transports can be inside of them. I've seen a number of battle reports that say any unit can be in any transport (for example being able to put 5 Ork Stormboyz into a trukk).
1 and 3 above are in the rulebook and I believe I read 2 in there as well. 4 & 5 I cannot find where I read that again.
Can anyone clarify these for me if I am incorrect?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/13 13:58:12
Subject: Transports and Troops
|
 |
Bonkers Buggy Driver with Rockets
Right behind you...
|
#2 is incorrect. If the vehicle is not a 'dedicated transport' then it is taken in the slot of the entry under which it is listed (Heavy Support, Fast Attack, etc...) Edit spelling
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/05/13 13:59:27
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/13 13:58:41
Subject: Transports and Troops
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
All the rules for Transports are on page 78. At least the ones you are asking about. Page 78 gives blanket permission for units to use Transports, however, certain things can revoke said permission.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/13 14:04:18
Subject: Transports and Troops
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Beast wrote:#2 is incorrect. If the vehicle is not a 'dedicated transport' then it is taken in the slot of the entry under which it is listed (Heavy Support, Fast Attack, etc...)
Edit spelling
So how would one classify a Rhino (or a Necron Ghost Ark) if it's only listed under the "dedicated transport" section of a codex? It taken separately would they be classified as heavy support? Automatically Appended Next Post: Happyjew wrote:All the rules for Transports are on page 78. At least the ones you are asking about. Page 78 gives blanket permission for units to use Transports, however, certain things can revoke said permission.
I think where I'm getting hung up at is the exclusions. For example, in the Necron codex, only Warriors can take a Ghost Ark as a dedicated transport. Immortals and Deathmarks can take a Night Scythe as a dedicated transport. My interpretations of the rules on page 78 is that the Immortals and Deathmarks, being infantry, would be able to embark on a Ghost Ark once the Ghost Ark is emptied or if it was taken not as a dedicated transport.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/05/13 14:08:47
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/13 14:10:59
Subject: Transports and Troops
|
 |
Leader of the Sept
|
Unholyllama wrote:Beast wrote:#2 is incorrect. If the vehicle is not a 'dedicated transport' then it is taken in the slot of the entry under which it is listed (Heavy Support, Fast Attack, etc...) Edit spelling So how would one classify a Rhino (or a Necron Ghost Ark) if it's only listed under the "dedicated transport" section of a codex? It taken separately would they be classified as heavy support? Rhinos are only dedicated transports and cannot be purchased separately. They have to come with a squad. this is true of any other vehicle wich only has a "dedicated transport" listing, rather than a normal FOC listing. The key piece of information is if the unit has a separate purchasable entry in the army list. Rhinos, for example, do not have this entry and can only be purchased as part of a squad entry.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/05/13 14:12:15
Please excuse any spelling errors. I use a tablet frequently and software keyboards are a pain!
Terranwing - w3;d1;l1
51st Dunedinw2;d0;l0
Cadre Coronal Afterglow w1;d0;l0 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/13 14:13:51
Subject: Transports and Troops
|
 |
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
So how would one classify a Rhino (or a Necron Ghost Ark) if it's only listed under the "dedicated transport" section of a codex? It taken separately would they be classified as heavy support?
You can't take them other than as dedicated transports if they are not listed as anything other than a dedicated transport. I don't understand why you would think you could?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/13 14:15:09
Subject: Transports and Troops
|
 |
Plummeting Black Templar Thunderhawk Pilot
|
You classify a rhino as a dedicated transport as that is its catagory. No heavy, fast, elite. Only DT. Same with ork trukks I believe. You can only take as many as troops who can take as DT can. Like for sisters of battle. 2 troop choices, 2 fast attack dominions = 4 rhinos.
|
Black Templars 4000 Deathwatch 6000
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/13 14:20:08
Subject: Transports and Troops
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
FlingitNow wrote: So how would one classify a Rhino (or a Necron Ghost Ark) if it's only listed under the "dedicated transport" section of a codex? It taken separately would they be classified as heavy support?
You can't take them other than as dedicated transports if they are not listed as anything other than a dedicated transport. I don't understand why you would think you could?
Ultimately I was misinformed by bad battle reports and misinterpreting the rules of a dedicated transport.
Automatically Appended Next Post:
Flinty wrote:Unholyllama wrote:Beast wrote:#2 is incorrect. If the vehicle is not a 'dedicated transport' then it is taken in the slot of the entry under which it is listed (Heavy Support, Fast Attack, etc...)
Edit spelling
So how would one classify a Rhino (or a Necron Ghost Ark) if it's only listed under the "dedicated transport" section of a codex? It taken separately would they be classified as heavy support?
Rhinos are only dedicated transports and cannot be purchased separately. They have to come with a squad. this is true of any other vehicle wich only has a "dedicated transport" listing, rather than a normal FOC listing. The key piece of information is if the unit has a separate purchasable entry in the army list. Rhinos, for example, do not have this entry and can only be purchased as part of a squad entry.
Thanks for clarifying this!
As to the other point though, am I correct in interpreting the rules that any infantry model can enter a vacant transport unless specifically excluded? Just because a troop cannot have such as a dedicated transport does not mean they can still embark upon such correct?
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/05/13 14:22:35
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/13 14:35:32
Subject: Transports and Troops
|
 |
Bonkers Buggy Driver with Rockets
Right behind you...
|
They can still get into an empty transport during the battle assuming there is space for all of them (barring other restrictions like no allied models in their unit, no Termies in Rhinos, etc).
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/13 15:40:42
Subject: Transports and Troops
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
conker249 wrote:You classify a rhino as a dedicated transport as that is its catagory. No heavy, fast, elite. Only DT. Same with ork trukks I believe. You can only take as many as troops who can take as DT can. Like for sisters of battle. 2 troop choices, 2 fast attack dominions = 4 rhinos.
The underscored is not true.
You classify a DT as belonging to the same slot that the unit that bought it occupies.
A Rhino for a troops choice is a troop, a Rhino bought for a Heavy support unit is a Heavy support choice. This only really matters for heavy and fast attack DT's in the missions where heavy support or fast attack vehicles are treated as scoring units and give Kill Points.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/13 16:01:59
Subject: Transports and Troops
|
 |
Crazed Cultist of Khorne
|
DT's do not get accounted for on the FOC. they are war gear for the purchased unit.
|
4000 points
2500 points
Must bring as many as you can
All For Valhalla |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/13 16:09:26
Subject: Transports and Troops
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
stichfitz wrote:DT's do not get accounted for on the FOC. they are war gear for the purchased unit. Dedicated Transports are not wargear; they are their own units. If they were wargear they would be removed with the squad should the squad die.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/05/13 16:09:40
Mandorallen turned back toward the insolently sneering baron. 'My Lord,' The great knight said distantly, 'I find thy face apelike and thy form misshapen. Thy beard, moreover, is an offence against decency, resembling more closely the scabrous fur which doth decorate the hinder portion of a mongrel dog than a proper adornment for a human face. Is it possibly that thy mother, seized by some wild lechery, did dally at some time past with a randy goat?' - Mimbrate Knight Protector Mandorallen.
Excerpt from "Seeress of Kell", Book Five of The Malloreon series by David Eddings.
My deviantART Profile - Pay No Attention To The Man Behind The Madness
"You need not fear us, unless you are a dark heart, a vile one who preys on the innocent; I promise, you can’t hide forever in the empty darkness, for we will hunt you down like the animals you are, and pull you into the very bowels of hell." Iron - Within Temptation |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/13 16:21:19
Subject: Transports and Troops
|
 |
Bonkers Buggy Driver with Rockets
Right behind you...
|
Avatar 720 wrote:stichfitz wrote:DT's do not get accounted for on the FOC. they are war gear for the purchased unit.
Dedicated Transports are not wargear; they are their own units. If they were wargear they would be removed with the squad should the squad die.
DTs are not wargear, they are their own unit that does not take up an additional FOC slot but are otherwise only available when purchased for a unit that has them in its entry as a transport option. Other vehicles (non- DTs) that have a transport capability must be purchased on their own and DO take up a FOC slot.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/13 18:12:14
Subject: Re:Transports and Troops
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Just as a final followup -
If a transport is only listed as a DT and is not classified under any other FOC area, does it HAVE to be purchased by a unit that states it can take such as a DT? Or, am I able to still purchase it for any unit?
For example:
Necron Night Scythe is only listed as a DT.
Immortals, Lychguard, and Deathmarks explicitly state that they can take the Night Scythe as a DT.
Night Scythe rules allows for Jump Infantry to be embarked (i.e. Wraiths, Triarch Pratorians, Destroyers).
Can I still add a Night Scythe even if I do not field Immortals, Lycheguard, or Deathmarks?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/13 18:25:08
Subject: Transports and Troops
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
No. You must purchase the Night Scythe for a unit that has the option available to them.
Now you can load up a unit into a Night Scythe, that didn't purchase it after the game starts, as long as you follow the restrictions of the Transport.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/05/13 18:25:37
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/13 18:27:48
Subject: Transports and Troops
|
 |
Bonkers Buggy Driver with Rockets
Right behind you...
|
The DT can only be purchased for a unit that has it in its entry as a transport option. So if a vehicle is listed in the codex as a 'Dedicated Transport', then only units that list that DT as an option can take it. You can't purchase a DT by itself without the parent unit. Think of the unit as unlocking the DT option. Once it is purchased though the unit that bought the DT does not have to start the game in it, nor does it ever have to embark upon it.... Other units (from the same codex) can embark upon it after the game starts assuming they can fit.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/13 18:27:49
Subject: Transports and Troops
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Actually there is a way to take non-dedicated dedicated transports. In Spearhead, certain dedicated transports can be used within the Spearhead formation itself, however there are rules in place for how this works.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/13 18:32:19
Subject: Transports and Troops
|
 |
Bonkers Buggy Driver with Rockets
Right behind you...
|
Are you talking about an Apocalypse formation?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/13 18:38:12
Subject: Transports and Troops
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Nope. Spearhead is a mission type introduced in White Dwarf. The pdf for which is still available on GW's website, here.
It is one of the few ways to get a Superheavy into a normal game.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
|