Switch Theme:

Tervigon (and Wolf Guard) as troops?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut





Wales

Bit confused about these rules so wanna clear it up

So A Tervigon can be a troop choice in an army with a termagant brood - ok - But can I still call it HQ if I want to?

On the same token

In an Army that contains Logan Grimnar, Wolf Guard are counted as troops - But can I still call them Elite choices if I want to ?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/05/18 15:54:07


 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

It's all in the wording.
If the Codex says "can be taken" then it's optional.
If its says the simply "count as troops" then it's not optional. They are troops.
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut





Wales

 grendel083 wrote:
It's all in the wording.
If the Codex says "can be taken" then it's optional.
If its says the simply "count as troops" then it's not optional. They are troops.


Thought as much just wanted to confirm

So, YAY! on the Tervigon, MEH! on the Wolf Guard then
   
Made in ph
Brainy Zoanthrope





 Xiorell wrote:
Bit confused about these rules so wanna clear it up

So A Tervigon can be a troop choice in an army with a termagant brood - ok - But can I still call it HQ if I want to?

On the same token

In an Army that contains Logan Grimnar, Wolf Guard are counted as troops - But can I still call them Elite choices if I want to ?


Tervigons "may" be taken as Troops. So you can have a Termagant brood in the army, and still have an HQ tervigon.

I don't know about Logan as I don't know how his rules are worded.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Baktru wrote:
 Xiorell wrote:
Bit confused about these rules so wanna clear it up

So A Tervigon can be a troop choice in an army with a termagant brood - ok - But can I still call it HQ if I want to?

On the same token

In an Army that contains Logan Grimnar, Wolf Guard are counted as troops - But can I still call them Elite choices if I want to ?


Tervigons "may" be taken as Troops. So you can have a Termagant brood in the army, and still have an HQ tervigon.

I don't know about Logan as I don't know how his rules are worded.


Which is what allows for the molasses play 5 trevigon armies.
   
Made in us
Grey Knight Purgator firing around corners





Lewiston, Id

I can tell you this though, if you're outflanking, coming in from reserve for the Momma... she can NOT spawn that turn... because she was off the board at the beginning of the movement phase.

Remember that.

5000pts
5000pts
5000pts
3000pts
 
   
Made in gb
Sword-Bearing Inquisitorial Crusader





London, England

 disel24 wrote:
I can tell you this though, if you're outflanking, coming in from reserve for the Momma... she can NOT spawn that turn... because she was off the board at the beginning of the movement phase.

Remember that.


I'm not sure that's in fact true, as I believe that spawning has to happen before the tervigon moves rather than at the start of the movement phase.
   
Made in us
Sneaky Lictor





Yes, however disel24 is correct. Since the Tervigon begins off the board during an outflanking move and spawning has to happen before the Tervigon moves that Tervigon cannot spawn the turn it arrives...
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 grrrfranky wrote:
 disel24 wrote:
I can tell you this though, if you're outflanking, coming in from reserve for the Momma... she can NOT spawn that turn... because she was off the board at the beginning of the movement phase.

Remember that.


I'm not sure that's in fact true, as I believe that spawning has to happen before the tervigon moves rather than at the start of the movement phase.

Sure - it spawns before it moves.
Before it moves it's not on the table. Spawn now. Oops, the gants all disappear because they can't be placed.
Now the Tervigon moves on.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Abhorrent Grotesque Aberration





rigeld2 wrote:

Sure - it spawns before it moves.
Before it moves it's not on the table. Spawn now. Oops, the gants all disappear because they can't be placed.
Now the Tervigon moves on.


And this is where the "shadow in the warp" was created...

------------------
"Why me?" Gideon begged, falling to his knees.
"Why not?" - Asdrubael Vect 
   
Made in gb
Sword-Bearing Inquisitorial Crusader





London, England

rigeld2 wrote:
 grrrfranky wrote:
 disel24 wrote:
I can tell you this though, if you're outflanking, coming in from reserve for the Momma... she can NOT spawn that turn... because she was off the board at the beginning of the movement phase.

Remember that.


I'm not sure that's in fact true, as I believe that spawning has to happen before the tervigon moves rather than at the start of the movement phase.

Sure - it spawns before it moves.
Before it moves it's not on the table. Spawn now. Oops, the gants all disappear because they can't be placed.
Now the Tervigon moves on.


True indeed. That's what I get for only reading part of the question.
   
Made in us
Stubborn Hammerer





The Tervigons say "may be taken as" where as the Wolf Guard say "are counted as", so I would think that means that any Wolf Guard taken are considered to be Troops, and cannot be taken as Elites then. If the Tervigon said that it "is counted as Troops" then any Tervigon taken in the army would be considered a Troop choice, and could therefore not be taken as HQ.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: