| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/18 15:53:52
Subject: Tervigon (and Wolf Guard) as troops?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Bit confused about these rules so wanna clear it up
So A Tervigon can be a troop choice in an army with a termagant brood - ok - But can I still call it HQ if I want to?
On the same token
In an Army that contains Logan Grimnar, Wolf Guard are counted as troops - But can I still call them Elite choices if I want to ?
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/05/18 15:54:07
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/18 16:00:29
Subject: Tervigon (and Wolf Guard) as troops?
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
It's all in the wording.
If the Codex says "can be taken" then it's optional.
If its says the simply "count as troops" then it's not optional. They are troops.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/18 16:04:11
Subject: Tervigon (and Wolf Guard) as troops?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
grendel083 wrote:It's all in the wording.
If the Codex says "can be taken" then it's optional.
If its says the simply "count as troops" then it's not optional. They are troops.
Thought as much just wanted to confirm
So, YAY! on the Tervigon, MEH! on the Wolf Guard then
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/19 02:18:59
Subject: Tervigon (and Wolf Guard) as troops?
|
 |
Brainy Zoanthrope
|
Xiorell wrote:Bit confused about these rules so wanna clear it up
So A Tervigon can be a troop choice in an army with a termagant brood - ok - But can I still call it HQ if I want to?
On the same token
In an Army that contains Logan Grimnar, Wolf Guard are counted as troops - But can I still call them Elite choices if I want to ?
Tervigons "may" be taken as Troops. So you can have a Termagant brood in the army, and still have an HQ tervigon.
I don't know about Logan as I don't know how his rules are worded.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/19 23:31:06
Subject: Tervigon (and Wolf Guard) as troops?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Baktru wrote: Xiorell wrote:Bit confused about these rules so wanna clear it up
So A Tervigon can be a troop choice in an army with a termagant brood - ok - But can I still call it HQ if I want to?
On the same token
In an Army that contains Logan Grimnar, Wolf Guard are counted as troops - But can I still call them Elite choices if I want to ?
Tervigons "may" be taken as Troops. So you can have a Termagant brood in the army, and still have an HQ tervigon.
I don't know about Logan as I don't know how his rules are worded.
Which is what allows for the molasses play 5 trevigon armies.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/20 18:02:57
Subject: Tervigon (and Wolf Guard) as troops?
|
 |
Grey Knight Purgator firing around corners
|
I can tell you this though, if you're outflanking, coming in from reserve for the Momma... she can NOT spawn that turn... because she was off the board at the beginning of the movement phase.
Remember that.
|
5000pts
5000pts
5000pts
3000pts
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/20 18:22:11
Subject: Tervigon (and Wolf Guard) as troops?
|
 |
Sword-Bearing Inquisitorial Crusader
|
disel24 wrote:I can tell you this though, if you're outflanking, coming in from reserve for the Momma... she can NOT spawn that turn... because she was off the board at the beginning of the movement phase.
Remember that.
I'm not sure that's in fact true, as I believe that spawning has to happen before the tervigon moves rather than at the start of the movement phase.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/20 18:46:20
Subject: Tervigon (and Wolf Guard) as troops?
|
 |
Sneaky Lictor
|
Yes, however disel24 is correct. Since the Tervigon begins off the board during an outflanking move and spawning has to happen before the Tervigon moves that Tervigon cannot spawn the turn it arrives...
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/20 20:05:23
Subject: Tervigon (and Wolf Guard) as troops?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
grrrfranky wrote: disel24 wrote:I can tell you this though, if you're outflanking, coming in from reserve for the Momma... she can NOT spawn that turn... because she was off the board at the beginning of the movement phase.
Remember that.
I'm not sure that's in fact true, as I believe that spawning has to happen before the tervigon moves rather than at the start of the movement phase.
Sure - it spawns before it moves.
Before it moves it's not on the table. Spawn now. Oops, the gants all disappear because they can't be placed.
Now the Tervigon moves on.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/21 00:22:31
Subject: Tervigon (and Wolf Guard) as troops?
|
 |
Abhorrent Grotesque Aberration
|
rigeld2 wrote:
Sure - it spawns before it moves.
Before it moves it's not on the table. Spawn now. Oops, the gants all disappear because they can't be placed.
Now the Tervigon moves on.
And this is where the "shadow in the warp" was created...
|
------------------
"Why me?" Gideon begged, falling to his knees.
"Why not?" - Asdrubael Vect |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/22 15:43:29
Subject: Tervigon (and Wolf Guard) as troops?
|
 |
Sword-Bearing Inquisitorial Crusader
|
rigeld2 wrote: grrrfranky wrote: disel24 wrote:I can tell you this though, if you're outflanking, coming in from reserve for the Momma... she can NOT spawn that turn... because she was off the board at the beginning of the movement phase.
Remember that.
I'm not sure that's in fact true, as I believe that spawning has to happen before the tervigon moves rather than at the start of the movement phase.
Sure - it spawns before it moves.
Before it moves it's not on the table. Spawn now. Oops, the gants all disappear because they can't be placed.
Now the Tervigon moves on.
True indeed. That's what I get for only reading part of the question.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/22 15:47:38
Subject: Tervigon (and Wolf Guard) as troops?
|
 |
Stubborn Hammerer
|
The Tervigons say "may be taken as" where as the Wolf Guard say "are counted as", so I would think that means that any Wolf Guard taken are considered to be Troops, and cannot be taken as Elites then. If the Tervigon said that it "is counted as Troops" then any Tervigon taken in the army would be considered a Troop choice, and could therefore not be taken as HQ.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|