Poll |
 |
|
 |
Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/22 02:04:59
Subject: Another Poll... (Psykers and Reserves)
|
 |
Ragin' Ork Dreadnought
|
Another question I can't find a solid answer on... so, I'm polling it! I've heard that 'It says you can decide the order' arguments, 'Start of turn' arguments, 'Psykers movement phase' arguments and a bunch of others, but there's no conclusion... so, I leave my decision to the ballot of public opinion.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/22 02:21:58
Subject: Another Poll... (Psykers and Reserves)
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Start of turn psychic powers and reserve/outflank rolls are done at the same time so you can choose the order to resolve. However, there is nothing to override the restriction on not being able to use start of the turn abilities on the turn a unit arrives from reserves.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/22 02:26:29
Subject: Another Poll... (Psykers and Reserves)
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
I thought the argument was over whether you could use blessings or maledictions on units that arrived from reserve that turn? Not by units arriving that turn. The latter is quite clearly illegal.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/22 02:39:53
Subject: Another Poll... (Psykers and Reserves)
|
 |
Tunneling Trygon
|
My understanding was:
BRB says cant use Psychic powers the turn you come in. (Pretty clear)
BUT an FAQ then comes out saying you determine order for two "beginning of movement" things.
So, does that FAQ over rule the previous rule? It doesn't mention it, so I would say RAW no, not sure though. I'd love another FAQ on it. I think it may have been intended to allow the psychic powers to be used after coming from Reserves, but it doesn't specifically say it over rides the stated rule.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/22 03:01:42
Subject: Another Poll... (Psykers and Reserves)
|
 |
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter
|
I agree with Pyrian and HappyJew. The FAQ was clarifying whether a Psyker who is already on the table could cast a blessing on a unit that arrives from Reserve. The Psyker may.
A Psyker arriving from reserve cannot cast any blessings, maledictions, or other powers that must be cast at the start of the turn.
|
LVO 2017 - Best GK Player
The Grimdark Future 8500 1500  6000 2000 5000
"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/22 03:35:25
Subject: Another Poll... (Psykers and Reserves)
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
That FAQ allows you to use Scrier's gaze.
It doesn't allow you to cast blessing/malediction powers the turn you come into reserve, and it doesn't allow you to cast blessing/malediction powers on units that arrived from reserve that turn.
Either of those interpretations require more than the FAQ provides, and the former rather directly contradicts a rule not superseded at all.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/22 04:29:04
Subject: Another Poll... (Psykers and Reserves)
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
The rules are extremely clear and explicit that if the psyker is arriving from Reserve, that he can't cast Blessings or Maledictions that turn.
What the FAQ opened up is the ability for a psyker who's STARTING THE TURN ON THE TABLE to cast a Blessing or Malediction before Reserve rolls, which allows Scrier's Gaze's benefit to Reserve rolls to actually function.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/22 07:10:02
Subject: Another Poll... (Psykers and Reserves)
|
 |
Tough Tyrant Guard
|
Mannahnin wrote:The rules are extremely clear and explicit that if the psyker is arriving from Reserve, that he can't cast Blessings or Maledictions that turn.
What the FAQ opened up is the ability for a psyker who's STARTING THE TURN ON THE TABLE to cast a Blessing or Malediction before Reserve rolls, which allows Scrier's Gaze's benefit to Reserve rolls to actually function.
What Man said.
Its a tricksy worded FAQ tricksying people into believing otherwise.
|
It's my codex and I'll cry If I want to.
Tactical objectives are fantastic |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/22 11:03:40
Subject: Another Poll... (Psykers and Reserves)
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
It says reserves rolls out flank rolls, it does not say reserves outflanks or reserve rolls and movement outflank rolls and movement. IMO it is quite clear that it affects powers like scriers gaze (which was useless pre FAQ). So no you cannot cast blessings on units that have just come from reserve
|
40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/22 11:29:58
Subject: Another Poll... (Psykers and Reserves)
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
You make the roll, units arrive. There's no delay between you rolling and them moving on - its essentially the same action.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/22 11:31:16
Subject: Another Poll... (Psykers and Reserves)
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
rigeld2 wrote:You make the roll, units arrive. There's no delay between you rolling and them moving on - its essentially the same action. Then why did the FAQ call out reserves rolls and outflank rolls, why not just say reserves and outflank.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/05/22 11:31:24
40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/22 11:34:54
Subject: Another Poll... (Psykers and Reserves)
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Are you claiming that moving on from reserves is NOT performed at the start of the phase? Because nothing states anything like that in the rules.
You can cast blessings on units that have just arrived from reserves
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/22 11:38:16
Subject: Another Poll... (Psykers and Reserves)
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:Are you claiming that moving on from reserves is NOT performed at the start of the phase? Because nothing states anything like that in the rules.
You can cast blessings on units that have just arrived from reserves
Are you saying reserves coming on is not movement? I say it is based on the brb saying "it must move fully on the table" and "each models move". Now you have moved units is the beginning of the movement phase or part way in?. I know how I read it.
|
40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/22 11:43:59
Subject: Another Poll... (Psykers and Reserves)
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Yet there are multiple things which happen "at the start" of the movement phase. Is that start a single instant or does it have duration?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/22 11:44:59
Subject: Another Poll... (Psykers and Reserves)
|
 |
Resolute Ultramarine Honor Guard
|
Yet another Poll that doesn't actually explain what it is asking...
If you're asking can a psyker... then its a no
If you're asking can a psyker use abilities on a DS unit... then yes.
|
DO:70S++G++M+B++I+Pw40k93/f#++D++++A++++/eWD-R++++T(D)DM+
Note: Records since 2010, lists kept current (W-D-L) Blue DP Crusade 126-11-6 Biel-Tan Aspect Waves 2-0-2 Looted Green Horde smash your face in 32-7-8 Broadside/Shield Drone/Kroot blitz goodness 23-3-4 Grey Hunters galore 17-5-5 Khan Bikes Win 63-1-1 Tanith with Pardus Armor 11-0-0 Crimson Tide 59-4-0 Green/Raven/Deathwing 18-0-0 Jumping GK force with Inq. 4-0-0 BTemplars w LRs 7-1-2 IH Legion with Automata 8-0-0 RG Legion w Adepticon medal 6-0-0 Primaris and Little Buddies 7-0-0
QM Templates here, HH army builder app for both v1 and v2
One Page 40k Ruleset for Game Beginners |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/22 11:52:49
Subject: Another Poll... (Psykers and Reserves)
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:Yet there are multiple things which happen "at the start" of the movement phase. Is that start a single instant or does it have duration?
It is not defined, nor is rolling for reserves then instantly moving them on. By all means I would be fine with you rolling for reserves moving them onto the board at the start of your turn but by then you have now started the movement phase and cant cast any blessing maledications
Or would you say bringing units on from reserves is not movement?.
|
40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/22 11:54:40
Subject: Another Poll... (Psykers and Reserves)
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
I wasnt saying that
The start of the turn IS the start of the movement phase. The two are exactly the same thing
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/22 11:57:03
Subject: Another Poll... (Psykers and Reserves)
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
MarkyMark wrote:rigeld2 wrote:You make the roll, units arrive. There's no delay between you rolling and them moving on - its essentially the same action.
Then why did the FAQ call out reserves rolls and outflank rolls, why not just say reserves and outflank.
I don't know?
I do know that when you successfully roll for reserves, the unit arrives. When the unit arrives it moves on.
Page 124 BRB.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/22 11:59:06
Subject: Another Poll... (Psykers and Reserves)
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:I wasnt saying that The start of the turn IS the start of the movement phase. The two are exactly the same thing You wasnt saying that movement from reserves is now after the start of the movement phase?, so how can you then cast blessings maledications on units they have arrived from reserve?. Automatically Appended Next Post: rigeld2 wrote:MarkyMark wrote:rigeld2 wrote:You make the roll, units arrive. There's no delay between you rolling and them moving on - its essentially the same action. Then why did the FAQ call out reserves rolls and outflank rolls, why not just say reserves and outflank.
I don't know? I do know that when you successfully roll for reserves, the unit arrives. When the unit arrives it moves on. Page 124 BRB. But it is not such a unbroken chain like that is it, you roll for all your reserves then you do your movement, it doest say immediately after rolling for reserves you bring them on. The FAQ calls out reserve rolls as you can do them before you do your reserve movement, perhaps that is why it is reserve rolls and not reserves mentioned in the FAQ?. As this is a poll I have logged my vote and explained why I think blessings maledication cannt be cast on units coming from reserve, I will leave this thread at that.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/05/22 12:02:19
40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/22 12:08:53
Subject: Another Poll... (Psykers and Reserves)
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
When X happens, Y happens.
When Y happens, Z happens.
This means that when X happens, Z happens. There's no break.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/22 12:11:34
Subject: Another Poll... (Psykers and Reserves)
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
rigeld2 wrote:When X happens, Y happens.
When Y happens, Z happens.
This means that when X happens, Z happens. There's no break.
But the FAQ says when Y happens, you can chose to do B first then Y or Y then B, Then you would have to do Z
So Y then B then Z
|
40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/22 12:32:57
Subject: Another Poll... (Psykers and Reserves)
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
I am saying that moving on from reserves is AT the start of the movement phase, still.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/22 13:10:50
Subject: Another Poll... (Psykers and Reserves)
|
 |
Screaming Shining Spear
|
Negative on casting upon arrival from Reserves via Deepstrike.
|
Farseer Faenyin
7,100 pts Yme-Loc Eldar(Apoc Included) / 5,700 pts (Non-Apoc)
Record for 6th Edition- Eldar: 25-4-2
Record for 7th Edition -
Eldar: 0-0-0 (Yes, I feel it is that bad)
Battlefleet Gothic: 2,750 pts of Craftworld Eldar
X-wing(Focusing on Imperials): CR90, 6 TIE Fighters, 4 TIE Interceptors, TIE Bomber, TIE Advanced, 4 X-wings, 3 A-wings, 3 B-wings, Y-wing, Z-95
Battletech: Battlion and Command Lance of 3025 Mechs(painted as 21st Rim Worlds) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/22 13:23:00
Subject: Re:Another Poll... (Psykers and Reserves)
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Q: Blessings are manifested ‘at the start of the Psyker’s Movement
phase’ – does this mean they happen simultaneously with Reserves
rolls, Outflanking rolls etc and if so which is resolved first? (p68)
A: They do occur simultaneously – as such, the player whose
turn it is decides in what order these things occur as per
page 9 of the Warhammer 40,000 rulebook.
you cna choose so you can deepstrike a terminator sorcerer and bless with him
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/22 13:27:10
Subject: Another Poll... (Psykers and Reserves)
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Incorrect. Page 125 states you cannot use any power that must be used at the start of the turn (==start of movement phase) on the turn you turn up from reserves.
Blessings must be used at the start of the turn.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/22 13:29:15
Subject: Another Poll... (Psykers and Reserves)
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
rigeld2 wrote:You make the roll, units arrive. There's no delay between you rolling and them moving on - its essentially the same action.
That's not true at all. You make all reserves rolls - one at a time - before any units arrive, which also happens one at a time. It's impossible to have the rolls and arrivals occur simultaneously, when each roll and each arrival are subsequent.
nosferatu1001 wrote:Are you claiming that moving on from reserves is NOT performed at the start of the phase?
I'm claiming that absolutely nothing in the rules or FAQ's specifies whether units arriving from reserve is still the start of the turn or not. Also, that you cannot assume that actions which occur after actions occurring at the start, are still the start.
nosferatu1001 wrote:Because nothing states anything like that in the rules.
You seem to love saying that in discussions where nothing in the rules supports YOUR position, either.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/22 13:33:01
Subject: Another Poll... (Psykers and Reserves)
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Except youre told that you may still cast blessings - which occurs at the start of the turn - AFTER reserves arrive.
Meaning you are still at the start of the turn.
Do you have any support for your position? Anything?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/22 13:35:26
Subject: Another Poll... (Psykers and Reserves)
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:Except youre told that you may still cast blessings - which occurs at the start of the turn - AFTER reserves arrive.
Meaning you are still at the start of the turn.
Do you have any support for your position? Anything?
Reserves is stated as movement, therefore you are not at the start of the turn. Reserve rolls are acutally at the start of the turn not start of the movement phase ( RAW this is why the FAQ come out as some powers like scriers gaze were useless). Blessings are start of movement phase, if you have moved (including reserve movement) it is no long start of movement phase.
|
40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/22 13:44:30
Subject: Another Poll... (Psykers and Reserves)
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Start of turn IS start of movement phase. RAW. Total and utter RAW. The turn is split into three phases, and the start of the first phase IS the start of the turn.
You are told you can cast blessing on units that have moved on from reserves, as you are told these are simultaneous actions. If they are simultaneous you ARE still at the start of the turn (movement phase) and so can do so.
Please answer this point, and realise your error in assuming start of turn != start of movement phase
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/05/22 13:57:40
Subject: Re:Another Poll... (Psykers and Reserves)
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
This is, for some, well written in the brb, and the faq.
At the start of your turn:
1: Roll for reserves. All of them. On a roll of 3+, that unit arrives this turn. Not right away. That turn..
2: Roll for outflankings, and if, choose side.
3: Roll for blessings, and other stuff that happens at the start of the turn.
These three things happens at the same time, and therefor you choose what to do.
Note that the faq says reserve ROLLS, and outflanking ROLLS, when answering this question of blessings and reserve rolls.
Then:
When reserves arrive, which is after all the rolls and the start of the turn is over, you choose the unit of your choice and proceede to move him onto the table as described in the brb.
After that, you continue to move the rest of your units as normal in the movement phase.
This means that you cannot cast a blessing when you arrive from deep strike. This also means that even if you have a psyker on the table, he will not be able to cast any blessings on units arriving from reserves.
|
|
 |
 |
|