Switch Theme:

Hades Breaching Drill  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Yellin' Yoof





Toronto, ON

Hello YMDC,

I was reviewing the rules for the Hades Breaching Drill in IA12, and even with the rules change from IA1-2, it seems like this unit is almost as good as it used to be. But I feel the need to clarify

So Step 1 is to place your Small Blast, and roll for scatter. Then, if the blast marker is in contact with an enemy unit, "that unit suffers an immediate Tank Shock or Ram attack." (IA12, p.195)

What this means for an infantry unit, is that it must immediately take a leadership test or fall back. Then based on the rules for Tank Shock, "If some enemy models in the enemy unit would end up underneath the vehicle when it reaches its final position ... these models must be moved out of the way by the shortest distance, leaving at least 1" between them and the vehicle whilst maintaining unit coherency and staying on the board" (BRB, p.85)

This is exciting news, since I am pretty sure most people assumed that if you didn't kill the unit outright, or kill enough of the unit to clear space for your drill (which is bigger than a small blast), the Drill was pooched.

The question that arises comes from the next line:

"Any models that cannot manage this are crushed and removed from play as casualties. Crunch!" (BRB, p.85)

This seems to be directly at odds with the special rule for the Drill, which states:

"If this attack is sufficient to displace the enemy unit so that the Hades Drill can be placed without an enemy unit being within 1", or destroys the fortification, vehicle or building in question, then the Deep Strike is successful, and the Hades Drill is placed on the table over the template (...). If not, the Hades Drill suffers a Deep Strike Mishap with the roll on the table modified by -2" (IA12, p.195)

This statement seems to be in place for the situation in which you are ramming a vehicle, not hitting troops. If you come up underneath a vehicle, you Ram it, and if you don't destroy it, you are trapped underneath and therefore mishap. But when it comes to a unit, your vehicle then has the requisite force to move them out of the way.

So the question is: If you come up underneath of a non-vehicle unit, and they cannot move to a minimum of 1" away when you pop out, do you Mishap, or do the models underneath get Crunched?

I believe they will get cruched, since it seems the Drill rules are in place to stop you from moving tanks around. Any discussion is appreciated!!
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






Crunch!

You resolve the Tank shock first, then place the Drill. So presuming that the drill is approx the same size or smaller than the blast marker.
The mishap statement presumably includes infantry in case you scatter within 1" but not covering an enemy and thus they are not Shocked.
   
Made in us
Executing Exarch





McKenzie, TN

Quanar wrote:
Crunch!

You resolve the Tank shock first, then place the Drill. So presuming that the drill is approx the same size or smaller than the blast marker.
The mishap statement presumably includes infantry in case you scatter within 1" but not covering an enemy and thus they are not Shocked.


Actually if you scatter to within 1" with the template they would have to move 1" away according to tank shock.

Also the drill is about 2x the length of the template that is why this is an issue as if the template lands in the middle of a unit the drill is dead under 1 reading and the other reading the models have to move out of the way.

I want to read it the way where models have to move out from under the drill's final position and I would advise playing it this way but the wording does not specify clearly enough that someone cannot claim the reverse and very possibly be correct. I personally would love for someone to correct me on this and make the drill playable again.
   
Made in us
Douglas Bader






The drill is not placed until after the tank shock has been resolved. You resolve a "tank shock" with the 3" template as the "tank", and then attempt to place the drill. If you have failed to clear sufficient space (or failed to destroy a building/vehicle) the drill mishaps.

There is no such thing as a hobby without politics. "Leave politics at the door" is itself a political statement, an endorsement of the status quo and an attempt to silence dissenting voices. 
   
Made in us
Yellin' Yoof





Toronto, ON

 Peregrine wrote:
The drill is not placed until after the tank shock has been resolved. You resolve a "tank shock" with the 3" template as the "tank", and then attempt to place the drill. If you have failed to clear sufficient space (or failed to destroy a building/vehicle) the drill mishaps.


See, the issue is that the Tank Shock is never specified to be resolved using the Blast Marker. The Blast marker is a reference point for the follow-up attack, but the wording of the Drill specifies that the Tank Shock is caused BY the Breaching Drill. It also specifies in the Tank Shock rules that the model is placed in its final position before the models are moved 1" away, which sounds like you should place the Drill, and THEN move the models.

Also, the rules never specify that the Drill would need to be placed centred on the Template... Just "over the template". So you have a bit more room for flexibility when the Drill emerges.

   
Made in us
Douglas Bader






 latrodectus wrote:
See, the issue is that the Tank Shock is never specified to be resolved using the Blast Marker.


Yes it is. You place the template, resolve the tank shock, and then place the drill. You can't be tank shocking with the drill model because it isn't on the table until after the tank shock has been entirely resolved, so that leaves the template as the only option.

There is no such thing as a hobby without politics. "Leave politics at the door" is itself a political statement, an endorsement of the status quo and an attempt to silence dissenting voices. 
   
Made in gb
Fresh-Faced New User





Sorry to drag up an old post. But just wanted to add to this. I'm having a problem with the follow-up assault rules. The rules stat that unit following the drill come from the blast template the following turn from ongoing reserve and are placed on the area the template and count as desinbarking from a vehicle.

Seeing as you can't place them as the drill is in the way, and reserves are moved befor any ever unit how can the unit be placed.

The only think I can think of is that it means you place one model on the maker and then move that model so on and so on Intill all models are placed. (normal disinbarking) but it dose stat the unit in placed in the area on the template..
   
Made in gb
[DCM]
Et In Arcadia Ego





Canterbury


Given the dates here just start a new thread



Thread is being locked due to thread necromancy.




The poor man really has a stake in the country. The rich man hasn't; he can go away to New Guinea in a yacht. The poor have sometimes objected to being governed badly; the rich have always objected to being governed at all
We love our superheroes because they refuse to give up on us. We can analyze them out of existence, kill them, ban them, mock them, and still they return, patiently reminding us of who we are and what we wish we could be.
"the play's the thing wherein I'll catch the conscience of the king,
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: