Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/08 03:39:08
Subject: can a caster use both halves of a runes of battle entry in one turn?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
I.e. could a spirit seer conceal its unit and reveal an enemy, or is this casting the same power twice?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/08 03:52:16
Subject: can a caster use both halves of a runes of battle entry in one turn?
|
 |
Enigmatic Chaos Sorcerer
|
I would say no. The spell may have two potential uses but it is still a single spell. And noone has permission to dual cast the same spell.
|
BlaxicanX wrote:A young business man named Tom Kirby, who was a pupil of mine until he turned greedy, helped the capitalists hunt down and destroy the wargamers. He betrayed and murdered Games Workshop.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/08 04:12:47
Subject: can a caster use both halves of a runes of battle entry in one turn?
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
Yes, IMO Runes of Battle and associated rules make this very clear:
"an Eldar psyker that generates a power from the Runes of Battle will have access to not one but two separate abilities."
further when the powers describe themselves it is in the following format:
"Conceal/Reveal
Conceal is a blessing that targets...
Reveal is a malediction that targets..."
They are very clearly depicted as two distinct psychic powers.
|
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/08 04:18:21
Subject: can a caster use both halves of a runes of battle entry in one turn?
|
 |
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets
|
jcress410 wrote:I.e. could a spirit seer conceal its unit and reveal an enemy, or is this casting the same power twice?
I think you answered your own question...
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/08 04:22:36
Subject: can a caster use both halves of a runes of battle entry in one turn?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
I don't think its clear whether the two "abilities" are one or two "psychic powers"
Either reading of the codex seems to work, no?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/08 06:44:39
Subject: can a caster use both halves of a runes of battle entry in one turn?
|
 |
Nurgle Predator Driver with an Infestation
Perth, Western Australia
|
I see it as two possible uses of a power, so no, you can't cast both in the same turn. It's kind of like choosing a firing mode for a weapon.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/08 06:52:09
Subject: can a caster use both halves of a runes of battle entry in one turn?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Dundee, Scotland/Dharahn, Saudi Arabia
|
I see it similar to a Missile Launcher.
You can fire it as frag or krak, but not both at the same time.
|
If the thought of something makes me giggle for longer than 15 seconds, I am to assume that I am not allowed to do it. item 87, skippys list
DC:70S+++G+++M+++B+++I++Pw40k86/f#-D+++++A++++/cWD86R+++++T(D)DM++ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/08 07:49:44
Subject: can a caster use both halves of a runes of battle entry in one turn?
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
It appears to me to be two separate powers.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/08 07:52:43
Subject: can a caster use both halves of a runes of battle entry in one turn?
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
marv335 wrote:I see it similar to a Missile Launcher.
You can fire it as frag or krak, but not both at the same time.
Except for the part of the rules that says that they are two separate abilities...
I really don't know how they could have said it any more clearly. Perhaps including an example, but it really shouldn't be necessary. The rules say they are separate abilities.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/08 08:27:50
Subject: can a caster use both halves of a runes of battle entry in one turn?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Looks like its a go from the eldar codex.
|
In a dog eat dog be a cat. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/08 08:53:23
Subject: can a caster use both halves of a runes of battle entry in one turn?
|
 |
Nurgle Predator Driver with an Infestation
Perth, Western Australia
|
They are separate 'abilities' of the same 'power'. You can't cast the same power twice in the same turn.
To use the analogy of the Missile Launcher: It has two profiles (abilities), even if fired by a Dreadnought, it cannot fire both as it is still the same weapon (power).
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/08 08:58:23
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/08 09:46:50
Subject: can a caster use both halves of a runes of battle entry in one turn?
|
 |
Sneaky Striking Scorpion
|
They are the same power. On pg 70 the last sentence outside of the box "When using one of these psychic powers, choose which ability the psyker is attempting to use before making the psychic test." If when casting the power you have to choose what ability to use then they are the same power. You wouldn't have to choose an ability if they were separate powers.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/08 10:09:21
Subject: Re:can a caster use both halves of a runes of battle entry in one turn?
|
 |
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest
|
I read it as being possible to cast both... but, one for the FAQ I think. I've added it to the big thread.
|
"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/08 10:25:31
Subject: can a caster use both halves of a runes of battle entry in one turn?
|
 |
Nurgle Predator Driver with an Infestation
Perth, Western Australia
|
Tarrasq wrote:They are the same power. On pg 70 the last sentence outside of the box "When using one of these psychic powers, choose which ability the psyker is attempting to use before making the psychic test." If when casting the power you have to choose what ability to use then they are the same power. You wouldn't have to choose an ability if they were separate powers.
I think this sews it up quite nicely. 'When using one of these psychic powers, choose which ability the psyker is attempting to use . . .'
It is ONE psychic power with two possible abilities. You cannot cast the same power twice in the same turn.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/08 10:51:03
Subject: can a caster use both halves of a runes of battle entry in one turn?
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
seems like 2 seperate. In both name and aparently type.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/08 13:36:11
Subject: can a caster use both halves of a runes of battle entry in one turn?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Tarrasq wrote:They are the same power. On pg 70 the last sentence outside of the box "When using one of these psychic powers, choose which ability the psyker is attempting to use before making the psychic test." If when casting the power you have to choose what ability to use then they are the same power. You wouldn't have to choose an ability if they were separate powers.
+1 to this
It's one power with 2 different abilities, so no double casting.
|
|
 |
 |
|