Switch Theme:

Abaddon and the Vindicare's Shield Breaker  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in se
Ferocious Black Templar Castellan






Sweden

So, a situation the other day got me thinking; does the Shield Breaker rounds actually work on Abaddon? The argument for "no" that I had in mind goes as follows:

Abaddon's Invulnerable Save comes from his Terminator Armour. This can be negated as per the Shield Breaker rounds.

Abaddon's Mark of Chaos Ascendant, which is a Special Rule as opposed to Wargear, states that the Invulnerable Save of his Terminator Armour is increased to 4+. Thus, would this not work regardless of whether he has an Invulnerable Save or not? You fire the Shield Breaker and take out the Invulnerable Save of the Terminator Armour. You don't actually break the Terminator Armour, so Abaddon still has it. The next time he's hit by anything that requires him to take an Invulnerable Save, you look at his rules to find out what his Invulnerable Save is. As per the Shield Breaker rules, his Invulnerable Save from the Terminator Armour is set to nothing, or "-". The Mark of Chaos Ascendant, which is a Special Rule and as such not negated by the Shield Breaker round, then increases this to a 4+, as per its own rules text. Legit?

For thirteen years I had a dog with fur the darkest black. For thirteen years he was my friend, oh how I want him back. 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




No. There is no longer any invuilnerable save to increase
   
Made in gb
Annoyed Blood Angel Devastator




 AlmightyWalrus wrote:
So, a situation the other day got me thinking; does the Shield Breaker rounds actually work on Abaddon? The argument for "no" that I had in mind goes as follows:

Abaddon's Invulnerable Save comes from his Terminator Armour. This can be negated as per the Shield Breaker rounds.

Abaddon's Mark of Chaos Ascendant, which is a Special Rule as opposed to Wargear, states that the Invulnerable Save of his Terminator Armour is increased to 4+. Thus, would this not work regardless of whether he has an Invulnerable Save or not? You fire the Shield Breaker and take out the Invulnerable Save of the Terminator Armour. You don't actually break the Terminator Armour, so Abaddon still has it. The next time he's hit by anything that requires him to take an Invulnerable Save, you look at his rules to find out what his Invulnerable Save is. As per the Shield Breaker rules, his Invulnerable Save from the Terminator Armour is set to nothing, or "-". The Mark of Chaos Ascendant, which is a Special Rule and as such not negated by the Shield Breaker round, then increases this to a 4+, as per its own rules text. Legit?


he loses the invul, because it says the invul provided by his terminator armour is improved to 4+, you can't Improve on something that is not there.

 
   
Made in se
Ferocious Black Templar Castellan






Sweden

The rule book tells us that "-" is the same as having no save. Thus, the Shield Breaker means the Invulnerable Save of the Terminator Armour is "-". The Mark would then increase it to 4+, no?

For thirteen years I had a dog with fur the darkest black. For thirteen years he was my friend, oh how I want him back. 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Where does it say he now has a save of "-"? Page and graph.

Where does it say "none" and "-" are equal? It tells you that "0" and "-" are equal.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/14 10:00:42


 
   
Made in au
Nurgle Predator Driver with an Infestation



Perth, Western Australia

Mark of Tzeentch (CSM pg 30) is +1 to inv save, and a default 6+ inv save if the model does not have an inv.

Abaddon, after being hit by a Shield Breaker would have a 6+ inv save.
   
Made in au
Terrifying Treeman






The Fallen Realm of Umbar

 AlmightyWalrus wrote:
The rule book tells us that "-" is the same as having no save. Thus, the Shield Breaker means the Invulnerable Save of the Terminator Armour is "-". The Mark would then increase it to 4+, no?

I think you will find that is specifically making reference to the Sv characteristic (a model's armour save) however, IIRC the MoCA also states that it counts as all four marks, which would that he would lose his 4+ invul, then, per MoT gain an invul of 6+ (as he would no longer have an invul to increase).

DT:90-S++G++M++B+IPw40k07+D+A+++/cWD-R+T(T)DM+
Horst wrote:This is how trolling happens. A few cheeky posts are made. Then they get more insulting. Eventually, we revert to our primal animal state, hurling feces at each other while shreeking with glee.

 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Isnt the mark also an item of wargear providing a save?d
   
Made in jp
Longtime Dakkanaut



Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan

nosferatu1001 wrote:
Isnt the mark also an item of wargear providing a save?d


Nope, it's a special rule. So after being hit by a Shield Breaker Abaddon would have a 6++ invulnerable due to the Mark of Tzeentch.
   
Made in gb
Annoyed Blood Angel Devastator




On a related note, would the shield breaker work against eldrad? his save comes from a remnant of glory which, RAW, does not appear to be wargear.

 
   
Made in au
Terrifying Treeman






The Fallen Realm of Umbar

Doesn't it come under the wargear section, just like the DA's artefacts and the CSM items?

DT:90-S++G++M++B+IPw40k07+D+A+++/cWD-R+T(T)DM+
Horst wrote:This is how trolling happens. A few cheeky posts are made. Then they get more insulting. Eventually, we revert to our primal animal state, hurling feces at each other while shreeking with glee.

 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





Nah, there is no wargear section in the eldar dex so RAW nothing in there is wargear

40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final 
   
Made in au
Terrifying Treeman






The Fallen Realm of Umbar

Weird, very weird. Typo perhaps GW?

DT:90-S++G++M++B+IPw40k07+D+A+++/cWD-R+T(T)DM+
Horst wrote:This is how trolling happens. A few cheeky posts are made. Then they get more insulting. Eventually, we revert to our primal animal state, hurling feces at each other while shreeking with glee.

 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

MarkyMark wrote:
Nah, there is no wargear section in the eldar dex so RAW nothing in there is wargear
Unit entries don't have wargear listed?
   
Made in jp
Longtime Dakkanaut



Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan

 grendel083 wrote:
MarkyMark wrote:
Nah, there is no wargear section in the eldar dex so RAW nothing in there is wargear
Unit entries don't have wargear listed?


They do, but Eldrad's armour which gives him his Invulnerable Save is listed not under "Wargear", but under "Remnants of Glory." I'm pretty sure the Remnants are supposed to be considered Wargear as well, but it's a little more difficult to argue when they are explicitly separate.
   
Made in se
Ferocious Black Templar Castellan






Sweden

nosferatu1001 wrote:
Where does it say he now has a save of "-"? Page and graph.

Where does it say "none" and "-" are equal? It tells you that "0" and "-" are equal.


Page 2 of the BRB tells us that a model with an armour save of "-" means that the model doesn't have an armour save. Page 17 barely describes how Invulnerable saves work (it doesn't even, strictly speaking, tell you how to take roll an invulnerable save) but seems to equate an invulnerable save with an armour save that can't be negated by the AP of weapons. Thus, an invulnerable save of "none" would be represented in-game with a "-". Further, page 3 lends further credence to this, as it equates "-" with "0" and "none", although only in the case of characteristics (which as per page 17 may or may not be a subset of armour saves).

For thirteen years I had a dog with fur the darkest black. For thirteen years he was my friend, oh how I want him back. 
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

All the mark of chaos ascendent does is improve his terminator invuln save.

If the terminator invuln save doesn't exist anymore, it cannot be improved.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in au
Nurgle Predator Driver with an Infestation



Perth, Western Australia

 Grey Templar wrote:
All the mark of chaos ascendent does is improve his terminator invuln save.

If the terminator invuln save doesn't exist anymore, it cannot be improved.

He would still have a 6+ inv as per Mark of Tzeentch.
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

I am with the people saying 6+ in this situation, even if it does remove the terminator armors invulnerable save. The sentence in question started with the words 'note that' and this indicates it is meant to be a reminder that you need to take the fact terminator armor provides an invulnerability save and adds on top of that. To try and read it as a rule in and of itself would mean other "note that" sections can be interpreted as rules, and then we end up with crazy things like shrouded giving you 3+ in the open.

The rule clearly states he has all four marks and nothing more. If you check what the Tzeentch mark does you won't find 'gives Abaddon a 4+ save' but the fact it improves invulnerable saves by 1. To try and state it does anything different would be the same as stating Abaddon gets nothing from the other three marks. All because the rule has nothing written about what they do when combined into a Mark of Chaos Ascendant.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/15 01:49:12


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in dk
Sinister Chaos Marine




JinxDragon wrote:

The rule clearly states he has all four marks and nothing more. If you check what the Tzeentch mark does you won't find 'gives Abaddon a 4+ save' but the fact it improves invulnerable saves by 1. To try and state it does anything different would be the same as stating Abaddon gets nothing from the other three marks. All because the rule has nothing written about what they do when combined into a Mark of Chaos Ascendant.

The OP obviously knows this already, and I'm certain he's only looking for approval from the community that he's cool enough to have possibly found a small loophole in the rules, even though logic dictates that no opponent or tournament official would be likely to ever let that happen.
   
Made in se
Ferocious Black Templar Castellan






Sweden

He's got the Mark of Chaos Ascendant. Part of the rules of the MoCA is that it counts as all four marks; that doesn't have to be all it does, and indeed doesn't appear to be all it does, according to RAW. Again, a save of "-" is the same as not having a save. A normal Mark of Tzeench upgrades your "-" Invulnerable Save to 6+. Abaddon's MoCA says it upgrades his Terminator Armour's invulnerable save to 4+. If you fire a shield breaker, it sets the Invulnerable Save to none, or "-". The MoCA then upgrades the "-" save to a 4+.

For thirteen years I had a dog with fur the darkest black. For thirteen years he was my friend, oh how I want him back. 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

That's not really what his rule says.

"Note that, due to the Mark of Tzeentch, The invulnerable save provided by Abbadon's Terminator Armour is increased to 4+"

So its a Mark of Tzeentch that's responsible for the increase. His Terminator invulnerable save is increased to 4+, but from what? A 5+.

Also note that the rule you're referring to is not a rule, but a note. A clarification of how 2 rules combine.
   
Made in dk
Servoarm Flailing Magos






Metalica

 grendel083 wrote:
That's not really what his rule says.

"Note that, due to the Mark of Tzeentch, The invulnerable save provided by Abbadon's Terminator Armour is increased to 4+"

So its a Mark of Tzeentch that's responsible for the increase. His Terminator invulnerable save is increased to 4+, but from what? A 5+.

Also note that the rule you're referring to is not a rule, but a note. A clarification of how 2 rules combine.


And it's specified that it's SPECIFICALLY the MoT that does it. Not an extra rule to his own mark. So even if it was not a note, but a rule, it would still be referencing the MoT rule, and still be a 6+ after shield breaker.

 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: