| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/20 22:10:20
Subject: Unit within one inch of an enemy unit, can it move?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Say you have two friendly units (Unit a and Unit B), and Unit A is in CC with Enemy unit X.
Unit A and B are really close to each other and Unit X piles into Unit A and, due to this Pile in, all models in Unit B are within 1 inch of an enemy model from Unit X, though they are not in Base contact with the enemy and not involved with the combat.
The rules say that models may not move within an inch of an enemy model, but what happens if these models are already within 1 inch of an enemy model. Are they allowed to move at all? If so why?
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/20 22:21:30
Subject: Unit within one inch of an enemy unit, can it move?
|
 |
Abhorrent Grotesque Aberration
|
If A & B are close to each other and X charges A then it seems that the models in X have to stay 1" away from B or perform a disordered charge against both units. If A and X were in combat and B moves really close to A.. then it would have to stay more than 1" from X and X couldn't get within 1" of B when piling in during the assault phase for any reason. I just can't imagine a situation in which B and X get within 1" of each other after the combat has already started as other restrictions should have prevented that from happening.
|
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/06/20 22:22:56
------------------
"Why me?" Gideon begged, falling to his knees.
"Why not?" - Asdrubael Vect |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/20 22:23:50
Subject: Unit within one inch of an enemy unit, can it move?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
clively - the rules for charging and pile-in both allow you to move within 1" of enemy models. There is no stipulation that you must stay 1" away from enemy models you are not charging/in cc with.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/20 22:25:21
Subject: Unit within one inch of an enemy unit, can it move?
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Hmmm... Can't seem to find anything RAW-wise that would resolve this. Had to double check it was possible!
Seems to be a gap in the rules.
Personally I'd treat it in a similar way to a unit out of coherence. They should move to at least 1" away. Just opinion, not RAW.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/20 22:42:35
Subject: Unit within one inch of an enemy unit, can it move?
|
 |
Leader of the Sept
|
I agree with grendel. The other precedence is with skimmers and deep striking drop pods. In both cases if the model ends up in a technically illegal location, you just move it until it is no longer an illegal position. Same with tank shock I guess.
|
Please excuse any spelling errors. I use a tablet frequently and software keyboards are a pain!
Terranwing - w3;d1;l1
51st Dunedinw2;d0;l0
Cadre Coronal Afterglow w1;d0;l0 |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/21 04:20:50
Subject: Unit within one inch of an enemy unit, can it move?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
The only think I have found that remotely has any insight to this is on page 76:
"The vehicle and the enemy remain where they are and are free to simply move away in future turns."
This is talking about vehicles and Close Combat. It tells us that the vehicle can move when it is within 1 inch of an enemy model, and the enemy can as well.
Would this also apply to the Situation in the OP?
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/21 05:32:02
Subject: Re:Unit within one inch of an enemy unit, can it move?
|
 |
Hellish Haemonculus
|
I don't think it's covered explicitly. I think Grendel's offering remains the best way to handle it.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/21 06:47:57
Subject: Re:Unit within one inch of an enemy unit, can it move?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Jimsolo wrote:I don't think it's covered explicitly. I think Grendel's offering remains the best way to handle it.
So the unengaged unit should move to at least 1 inch away if it startes closer than 1 inch. Does that seem like a good way to play it?
There could be precedent for the unit being able to move normally due to how assaulting enemy vehicles works.
Does anyone else have any thought about this?
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/21 07:28:37
Subject: Unit within one inch of an enemy unit, can it move?
|
 |
Brainy Zoanthrope
|
DR: I agree RAW there's not much support for anything here.
But the HIWPI logical thing seems to be they can move and must end their turn more than 1" from the enemy models.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/21 20:54:48
Subject: Unit within one inch of an enemy unit, can it move?
|
 |
Sneaky Lictor
|
Baktru wrote:DR: I agree RAW there's not much support for anything here.
But the HIWPI logical thing seems to be they can move and must end their turn more than 1" from the enemy models.
Agreed. Mostly because you never actually moved your models to within 1'' of an enemy model. Hence, you never actually broke any rules. I'd even be fine with you leaving your models there so long as, if they were to actually move, you moved in such a way to be more than 1'' away.
-Yad
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/22 00:24:00
Subject: Re:Unit within one inch of an enemy unit, can it move?
|
 |
Infiltrating Broodlord
|
The same issue comes up assaulting a vehicle. You are not locked in combat and it does say you are free to move away on the next turn. With that in mind IMO the only sensible reading of the rule is
"A model cannot move (to)* within 1" of an enemy model unless they are charging into close combat in the Assault phase"
*My addition
Looking at it that way models that find themselves within that 1" proximity but not locked in combat at the start of their move can stay where they are or move at least on inch away.
-Just my 2 cents
|
-It is not the strongest of the Tyranids that survive but the ones most adaptive to change. |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|