Switch Theme:

Multiple barrage  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in lt
Brainy Zoanthrope






Hello
Question arose in my recent games:
1) unit fires multiple barrage;
2) initial blast is scattered and it's final position determined
3) secondary blast scatters from the first
3a)if arrow is rolled, all is clear, place secondary blast in contact with the first, touching it's side
3b) but if HIT is rolled, is the secondary blast still placed in contact with the first, just from any side I want, or can i place the secondary blast be placed right over the initial blast?
The BRB is kinda confusing on this point:
("If Hit! is rolled, firing player places the marker so that it touches any part of any marker in the group that is already placed. note that it's pervectly fine if some markers are placed overlapping one another (including being directly over the top of a previous marker")
So the last sentence, does it mean that second blast can go right on top of the first, or that third blast can "bounce" from the side of the second blast to get on top of the first?

 Crimson Devil wrote:
7th edition 40k is a lot like BDSM these days. Only play with people you know and develop a safe word for when things get too intense. And It doesn't hurt to be a sadist or masochist as well.

5000pts
2000pts
7000pts
 
   
Made in jp
Longtime Dakkanaut



Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan

It means the second can go directly on top of the first. As long as you roll a hit when scattering the second of course. If you keep rolling hits it's perfectly fine to keep stacking the markers up.
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

Page 34 states if a hit is scored the firing player may put the additional template in any location, as long as part of it is touching an already placed marker in some way.

This means you have permission to place it entirely on top of the first blast marker if you want, so the inner holes line up. If you where to spread them out, you could chose to have it overlapping only half of the original marker or as far as just having the two edges touch. You would resolve any additional markers with the same rules, so if it scatters back over the first marker then you place it overlapping said marker. Any additional hits can be placed in any location you wish, the only requirement is it touches a marker that is already on the table.

It is easily summed up by stating a hit allows you to decide to place the marker wherever you want, as long as some part of it is touching an existing marker.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/24 20:30:33


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in sg
Brainy Zoanthrope





It works exactly how JinxDragon explained.

Oddly enough, the barrage rules as they are make Barrage one of the best sniping weapons in the game due to this. A lucky Barrage salvo can easily take out all the "specials" in a squad with more easy than pretty much anything else.
   
Made in lt
Brainy Zoanthrope






Thank you Guys (and Girls, if any ).

 Crimson Devil wrote:
7th edition 40k is a lot like BDSM these days. Only play with people you know and develop a safe word for when things get too intense. And It doesn't hurt to be a sadist or masochist as well.

5000pts
2000pts
7000pts
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: