Switch Theme:

Mark of Tzeentch and the Grimoire of True Names?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Agile Revenant Titan





Scotland

Hey Dakka, quick question:

The MoT in C:CSM states that it gives +1 to invulnerable saves to a maximum of a 3++, can this then stack with the grimoire?

For example, a unit of Warp Talons have a 5++, MOT = a 4++ and would the Grimoire then make this a 3++ or a 2++?

Thanks,

Iranna.

 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Yes it would stack - assuming it can be used on any allied unit, as well as units from the Daemon book.
   
Made in gb
Agile Revenant Titan





Scotland

nosferatu1001 wrote:
Yes it would stack - assuming it can be used on any allied unit, as well as units from the Daemon book.


It can be used on any model with the Daemon special rule.

Also, I'm a little confused by what you mean - are you agreeing to a 2++ or a 3++? Sorry

Iranna.

 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




I believe to use the book on a model/unit requires it to be a friendly Daemon, or an enemy Daemon if you choose to subtract 1 from their invulnerable save.
   
Made in gb
Agile Revenant Titan





Scotland

Steelpain wrote:
I believe to use the book on a model/unit requires it to be a friendly Daemon, or an enemy Daemon if you choose to subtract 1 from their invulnerable save.


CSM and CD are Battle Brothers, so treat each other's units as "friendly". Warp Talons also have the Daemon special rule, so are "Friendly Daemons".

Iranna.

 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

The book can target any unit with at least one model with the Daemon special rule. The question is since they stack, is the invuln save a 2++ (5++ +1 from MoT +2 from GoTN) or is it a 3++ as MoT cannot improve an Invuln save past 3++.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




I do see the confusion now, MoT states it can't increase the invulnerable save past 3++. So if we did the order of operations the Mark is already on and taking effect so 4++ plus the Grimoire afterwards for a 2++. Is there anything that states MoT is added after or before all/other modifiers? Sounds like they didn't plan on the ability to further increase the invulnerable save by other sources. I think you could argue that the MoT is first (4++) and then you choose to put the Book of Names on after adding a further 2 for a final save of 2++.
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




I don't think there's an "order" at all, and even if there is, it doesn't really matter. The Mark of Tzeentch won't contribute to any save past 3++, so once you hit 2++ it "poofs", and so to get a real 2++, you'd have to do it entirely without the benefit of the Mark.
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

Pyrian wrote:
I don't think there's an "order" at all, and even if there is, it doesn't really matter. The Mark of Tzeentch won't contribute to any save past 3++, so once you hit 2++ it "poofs", and so to get a real 2++, you'd have to do it entirely without the benefit of the Mark.


There is an order to it.

It actually makes sense as a 2++ which is silly.

The MoT confers a 4++. Than the "Book" can poof it to a 2++

   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

I guess the only way to resolve it fairly is that the player whose turn it currently is gets to choose the order, which mens in the Daemon players turn it will be MoT then GoTN for a 2++. On the opposing players turn it will be GoTN then MoT for a 3++.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter






Dimmamar

 Happyjew wrote:
I guess the only way to resolve it fairly is that the player whose turn it currently is gets to choose the order, which mens in the Daemon players turn it will be MoT then GoTN for a 2++. On the opposing players turn it will be GoTN then MoT for a 3++.


At this point, as the opposing player, I know I won't remember to make sure the CSM has a 3++ on my turn, and it's unlikely that my opponent has thought this through well enough to know he is supposed to play it that way. Any suggestions on how I can remember this for the six times in my future games it will happen?
It wouldn't affect me much in friendly games, but if I go to a big tourney and I happen to play a CSM/Daemon, I'd want to remember that since it could be significant.

LVO 2017 - Best GK Player

The Grimdark Future 8500 1500 6000 2000 5000


"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

 Elric Greywolf wrote:
 Happyjew wrote:
I guess the only way to resolve it fairly is that the player whose turn it currently is gets to choose the order, which mens in the Daemon players turn it will be MoT then GoTN for a 2++. On the opposing players turn it will be GoTN then MoT for a 3++.


At this point, as the opposing player, I know I won't remember to make sure the CSM has a 3++ on my turn, and it's unlikely that my opponent has thought this through well enough to know he is supposed to play it that way. Any suggestions on how I can remember this for the six times in my future games it will happen?
It wouldn't affect me much in friendly games, but if I go to a big tourney and I happen to play a CSM/Daemon, I'd want to remember that since it could be significant.


In a tourney ask the TO first. He might just call it one way or the other.

   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:
There is an order to it.
Citation needed. And even if it's true, the existence of any "order" is irrelevant; restrictions do not cease to apply just because you've already applied the benefit. The cap for application of the Mark applies at all times you're using it.
   
Made in us
Gore-Soaked Lunatic Witchhunter




Seattle

That's not exactly true, either, because the rules pertaining to trading out wargear on certain units who can be upgraded to a different kind of unit very much depends on the order in which you purchase the upgrades.

It is best to be a pessimist. You are usually right and, when you're wrong, you're pleasantly surprised. 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Remember this only matters for CSM+daemon combo armies, and only units from CSM with the daemon rule as well as MoT. Basically warp talons and obliterators and possessed. Not great targets for the grimoire which also means not using it on good units like hounds and FMCs.

My blog - Battle Reports, Lists, Theory, and Hobby:
http://synaps3.blogspot.com/
 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




 Psienesis wrote:
That's not exactly true, either, because the rules pertaining to trading out wargear on certain units who can be upgraded to a different kind of unit very much depends on the order in which you purchase the upgrades.
I don't really think that's relevant, but for the record, I'm consistent in that respect: I'm firmly of the opinion that you cannot buy a Dark Eldar Warrior a Splinter Cannon and "then" upgrade him to a sybarite so you can get precision shots and LOS! on your weapon upgrade. In that case like in this one, the restriction still applies.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/22 00:37:27


 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




California

 hyv3mynd wrote:
Remember this only matters for CSM+daemon combo armies, and only units from CSM with the daemon rule as well as MoT. Basically warp talons and obliterators and possessed. Not great targets for the grimoire which also means not using it on good units like hounds and FMCs.


Dont forget the myriad of Daemon engines CSM have, they can make use of it too.
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





 Happyjew wrote:
The book can target any unit with at least one model with the Daemon special rule. The question is since they stack, is the invuln save a 2++ (5++ +1 from MoT +2 from GoTN) or is it a 3++ as MoT cannot improve an Invuln save past 3++.


Why cant it improve it past a 3++?

40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

MarkyMark wrote:
 Happyjew wrote:
The book can target any unit with at least one model with the Daemon special rule. The question is since they stack, is the invuln save a 2++ (5++ +1 from MoT +2 from GoTN) or is it a 3++ as MoT cannot improve an Invuln save past 3++.


Why cant it improve it past a 3++?
Part of the Mark of Tzeetch rule, it can't improve a save past 3+
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Cyvash wrote:
 hyv3mynd wrote:
Remember this only matters for CSM+daemon combo armies, and only units from CSM with the daemon rule as well as MoT. Basically warp talons and obliterators and possessed. Not great targets for the grimoire which also means not using it on good units like hounds and FMCs.


Dont forget the myriad of Daemon engines CSM have, they can make use of it too.


We're talking about a 2++ here and no, none of the daemon engines can take mark of tzeentch.

My blog - Battle Reports, Lists, Theory, and Hobby:
http://synaps3.blogspot.com/
 
   
Made in us
Flailing Flagellant





A hovering helldrake that flats out could achieve a 2++ then eh?
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

A hovering heldrake that flat outs is my favorite kind - its not killing my army.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





jmswargaming wrote:
A hovering helldrake that flats out could achieve a 2++ then eh?


No. Grimoire buffs a daemon invuln. Jink and flat out are cover saves.

My blog - Battle Reports, Lists, Theory, and Hobby:
http://synaps3.blogspot.com/
 
   
Made in us
Flailing Flagellant





Fair enough
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





Then an IC with the Aura/TDA and a Mark of Tzeentch. Abaddon, Ahriman, Sorceror, etc. joined to a unit with the Daemon rule.

Come on folks, this board lives off of hypotheticals. Don't dismiss a thread because you don't like the tactics involved. Maybe it's the last turn of Big Guns Never Tire/The Scouring and you REALLY need them to survive.
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





 grendel083 wrote:
MarkyMark wrote:
 Happyjew wrote:
The book can target any unit with at least one model with the Daemon special rule. The question is since they stack, is the invuln save a 2++ (5++ +1 from MoT +2 from GoTN) or is it a 3++ as MoT cannot improve an Invuln save past 3++.


Why cant it improve it past a 3++?
Part of the Mark of Tzeetch rule, it can't improve a save past 3+


Ah so has no bearing on daemons of Tzeentch then, although didnt know that about Mark of tzeentch!

40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut







Best you can get is a 3++ since the mark of tzeentch doesn't work beyond a 3++

But a 3++ is still damn damn damn good, plus the grimoire can help out against enemy heldrakes, by reducing their invun.

But yeah, the grimoire works better on codex chaos daemons units, due to this.
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





Then an IC with the Aura/TDA and a Mark of Tzeentch. Abaddon, Ahriman, Sorceror, etc. joined to a unit with the Daemon rule


Nope none of them have the Daemon Rule. Remember you haveto target a unit consisting entirely of models with the Daemon rule. So as soon as you attach an IC you can't grimoire the unit.

It is a 3++ as Mark of Tzeentch turns off as soon as you get back past 3++. As there is no way for a Tzeentch model to get better than a 3++ without some later addition to the save the clear rule is designed to stop this type of rule getting you a 2++.

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Eye of Terror

Heldrake had 5++ so 3++ with Grimoire.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/22 15:27:34


My blog... http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com

Facebook...
https://m.facebook.com/Terminus6Est/

DT:60+S++++G++++M+++B+++I+++Pw40k89/d#++D+++A++++/eWD150R++++T(T)DM+++ 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




 Dozer Blades wrote:
Heldrake had 5++ so 3++ with Grimoire.
Or you can make an enemy heldrake drop to a 6++
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: