Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/22 01:56:50
Subject: Servo-arm, with two rule sets in use ?!
|
 |
Blood Angel Terminator with Lightning Claws
|
Do I have this correct: That the Servo-arm for IG, BA, GK (probably all the old codecies) only provides an additional attack at str 8 at I1, while in the DA codex the servo arm is now a melee weapon similar to a powerfist but with better AP?
So for a DA techmarine, having a servo harness would give him an extra attack die since they are specialist weapons and he then has 2.
I am not sure if this is a nerf or a buff... where as before your techmarine could attack with a power weapon and still get the strike from the servo-arm, now if you are locked in combat after a charge, you are only getting a single strike.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/22 02:02:33
Subject: Servo-arm, with two rule sets in use ?!
|
 |
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets
|
Sometimes this happens. Use the rules found in your codex.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/22 04:04:18
Subject: Servo-arm, with two rule sets in use ?!
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
TheLionOfTheForest wrote:
So for a DA techmarine, having a servo harness would give him an extra attack die since they are specialist weapons and he then has 2.
I am not sure if this is a nerf or a buff... where as before your techmarine could attack with a power weapon and still get the strike from the servo-arm, now if you are locked in combat after a charge, you are only getting a single strike.
Note that in the DA codex, you upgrade the single existing servo arm to a servo harness. The harness includes one servo arm, so your grand total is one arm. There is no way to get two servo arms.
|
11,100 pts, 7,000 pts
++ Heed my words for I am the Herald and we are the footsteps of doom. Interlopers, do we name you. Defilers of our
sacred earth. We have awoken to your primative species and will not tolerate your presence. Ours is the way of logic,
of cold hard reason: your irrationality, your human disease has no place in the necrontyr. Flesh is weak.
Surrender to the machine incarnate. Surrender and die. ++
Tuagh wrote: If you won't use a wrench, it isn't the bolt's fault that your hammer is useless. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/22 04:22:24
Subject: Servo-arm, with two rule sets in use ?!
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Maelstrom808 wrote: TheLionOfTheForest wrote:
So for a DA techmarine, having a servo harness would give him an extra attack die since they are specialist weapons and he then has 2.
I am not sure if this is a nerf or a buff... where as before your techmarine could attack with a power weapon and still get the strike from the servo-arm, now if you are locked in combat after a charge, you are only getting a single strike.
Note that in the DA codex, you upgrade the single existing servo arm to a servo harness. The harness includes one servo arm, so your grand total is one arm. There is no way to get two servo arms.
The harness gives an EXTRA servo arm, clearly indicating that you retain the original arm.
And the DA Techmarine is clearly nerf'd
The DA techamrine just +1 attacks for having a servo harness where other Techmarines get +2
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/22 04:24:52
Subject: Servo-arm, with two rule sets in use ?!
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
Maelstrom808 wrote: TheLionOfTheForest wrote:
So for a DA techmarine, having a servo harness would give him an extra attack die since they are specialist weapons and he then has 2.
I am not sure if this is a nerf or a buff... where as before your techmarine could attack with a power weapon and still get the strike from the servo-arm, now if you are locked in combat after a charge, you are only getting a single strike.
Note that in the DA codex, you upgrade the single existing servo arm to a servo harness. The harness includes one servo arm, so your grand total is one arm. There is no way to get two servo arms.
You might want to reread your DA codex, and p[ay attention this time.
The Servo harness adds an extra Servo Arm, you cannot have an extra without the one to begin with. End result: 2 servo Arms, A flamer, and a Plasma Cutter.
Also Upgrade is not replace, it is to make better; you then have to read what thew upgrade entails(which may be a replacement depending on the wording of the Item listed as an upgrade). An "Upgrade" that is a simple Item will Change the base to the new Item. An "Upgrade" that says it adds to the Base Item retains the Base Item.
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/22 04:30:35
Subject: Re:Servo-arm, with two rule sets in use ?!
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
I think you're right that you do get 2 arms, but I don't think it's 100% clear. When it says "upgrade servo arm to servo harness", it gives the impression that the original arm is replaced by the harness. When then adding the servo harness options, any number of servo arms would then be "extra" as you don't have any under that interpretation. Automatically Appended Next Post:
Maybe tone down the douchebag response a bit?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/22 04:33:13
11,100 pts, 7,000 pts
++ Heed my words for I am the Herald and we are the footsteps of doom. Interlopers, do we name you. Defilers of our
sacred earth. We have awoken to your primative species and will not tolerate your presence. Ours is the way of logic,
of cold hard reason: your irrationality, your human disease has no place in the necrontyr. Flesh is weak.
Surrender to the machine incarnate. Surrender and die. ++
Tuagh wrote: If you won't use a wrench, it isn't the bolt's fault that your hammer is useless. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/22 04:58:02
Subject: Re:Servo-arm, with two rule sets in use ?!
|
 |
Blood Angel Terminator with Lightning Claws
|
A servo harness has 2 servo arms. The model even has 2, where as a regular techmarine just has the one.
Interesting to note that the DA techmarine can still retain his bolt pistol and purchase a power weapon, which would give him the option of attacking with different types of weapons. He literally can become a Swiss Army knife.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/22 05:01:57
Subject: Re:Servo-arm, with two rule sets in use ?!
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
Maelstrom808 wrote:I think you're right that you do get 2 arms, but I don't think it's 100% clear. When it says "upgrade servo arm to servo harness", it gives the impression that the original arm is replaced by the harness. When then adding the servo harness options, any number of servo arms would then be "extra" as you don't have any under that interpretation.
Automatically Appended Next Post:
Maybe tone down the douchebag response a bit?
A) drinking.
B) the rules for the harness are clear, you add an arm(which must be to the arm you have). the purchase option says upgrade but the rules for the thing you are upgrading to say you add a second arm. so yes read all the rules again and this time pay attention.
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/22 05:18:16
Subject: Re:Servo-arm, with two rule sets in use ?!
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
While your other points were valid and true, this excuses nothing. You are still responsible for anything you do or say. Willingly impairing your judgement, is not license to do or say things.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/22 05:20:15
Subject: Re:Servo-arm, with two rule sets in use ?!
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
Kommissar Kel wrote: Maelstrom808 wrote:I think you're right that you do get 2 arms, but I don't think it's 100% clear. When it says "upgrade servo arm to servo harness", it gives the impression that the original arm is replaced by the harness. When then adding the servo harness options, any number of servo arms would then be "extra" as you don't have any under that interpretation.
Automatically Appended Next Post:
Maybe tone down the douchebag response a bit?
A) drinking.
B) the rules for the harness are clear, you add an arm(which must be to the arm you have). the purchase option says upgrade but the rules for the thing you are upgrading to say you add a second arm. so yes read all the rules again and this time pay attention.
A) Oh, forgive me then as I did not know. By all means, please continue.
B) No, they aren't 100% clear. When you upgrade from something to something else, generally you do not get to keep the original thing you were upgrading from. If you rent an economy sized car and they upgrade you to a sedan, you aren't going to get the econo as well. So the assumption is you lose the original servo arm. As for the servo harness, it says it has an "extra servo arm", not two servo arms. With the assumption that you give up the first servo arm in the the process of upgrading, that leaves you with one servo arm. 100% clear would be to have said "you may add a servo harness - x points" or a "servo harness has two servo arms, etc. etc."
|
11,100 pts, 7,000 pts
++ Heed my words for I am the Herald and we are the footsteps of doom. Interlopers, do we name you. Defilers of our
sacred earth. We have awoken to your primative species and will not tolerate your presence. Ours is the way of logic,
of cold hard reason: your irrationality, your human disease has no place in the necrontyr. Flesh is weak.
Surrender to the machine incarnate. Surrender and die. ++
Tuagh wrote: If you won't use a wrench, it isn't the bolt's fault that your hammer is useless. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/22 10:23:39
Subject: Re:Servo-arm, with two rule sets in use ?!
|
 |
Servoarm Flailing Magos
|
cryhavok wrote: While your other points were valid and true, this excuses nothing. You are still responsible for anything you do or say. Willingly impairing your judgement, is not license to do or say things.
Well, atleast he has that excuse. What's yours?
|
|
|
 |
 |
|