| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/17 22:14:53
Subject: Spear of Teuthlas Rules
|
 |
Jovial Plaguebearer of Nurgle
|
Question about the stats of the famous spear. The melee profile is user str, fleshbane, armourbane, & rending. How does Armourbane and rending work together? The rules for rendering on a vehicle is penetrating roll of a 6 adds D3. Adding Armourbane rolls 2D6, if I roll a 6+ with the two dice can I roll a D3 to add more punch?
Mr. Raynor
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/17 22:23:12
Subject: Spear of Teuthlas Rules
|
 |
Ragin' Ork Dreadnought
|
You get a D3 per natural 6. So if you rolled a 6 and a 3 you'd add D3. If you rolled 2 6s you'd get 2 D3 as well, though you probably wouldn't need it.)
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/07/17 22:24:27
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/17 22:26:43
Subject: Re:Spear of Teuthlas Rules
|
 |
Jovial Plaguebearer of Nurgle
|
That would have changed a couple of outcomes today. So I take it that the Spear is clearly worth the 15pts!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/18 09:30:28
Subject: Spear of Teuthlas Rules
|
 |
Hoary Long Fang with Lascannon
|
Waaaghpower wrote:You get a D3 per natural 6. So if you rolled a 6 and a 3 you'd add D3. If you rolled 2 6s you'd get 2 D3 as well, though you probably wouldn't need it.)
If you roll 2d6 and roll  did you have a armour penetration roll of six or twelve? Other cases have shown that 2d6=/=( d6+ d6). On the other hand it would be silly to only get the rending effect when you roll a combined result of 6.
Just something to think about.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/18 09:53:07
Subject: Spear of Teuthlas Rules
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Armour bane is 2D6 added together. You get rending on any rol of a 6 (see Vindicare FAQ)
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/18 16:23:37
Subject: Re:Spear of Teuthlas Rules
|
 |
Jovial Plaguebearer of Nurgle
|
So does this mean if I roll a 2 and 4 from both dice that it counts as rending? Or do the individual dice have to roll a 6 to get the rending rule? I'm curious because the way the rule is written it says, Vehicle is penetrating roll of a 6 adds D3. Does not say that these rolls can't be combined to equal a 6 to roll a D3....I'm rather new to the rule when it comes to vehicles so I'm not trying to finagle the rule in my favor.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/18 16:34:14
Subject: Spear of Teuthlas Rules
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
The individual dice have to roll a 6. Again, see the vindicare.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/18 16:34:35
Subject: Spear of Teuthlas Rules
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Each die that rolls a "6" adds an additional d3.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/18 16:41:14
Subject: Spear of Teuthlas Rules
|
 |
Ragin' Ork Dreadnought
|
Mywik wrote:Waaaghpower wrote:You get a D3 per natural 6. So if you rolled a 6 and a 3 you'd add D3. If you rolled 2 6s you'd get 2 D3 as well, though you probably wouldn't need it.)
If you roll 2d6 and roll  did you have a armour penetration roll of six or twelve? Other cases have shown that 2d6=/=( d6+ d6). On the other hand it would be silly to only get the rending effect when you roll a combined result of 6.
Just something to think about.
No it's not. 2D6 equals 2 Dice. Instructions are explicit when using two dice. If you pick the highest, it'll say so. In the case of armorbane it says you roll 2D6 for Armor penetration without any specific clarification beyond that. You know, the same way they word Leadership checks? So unless I only have to use one die for Leadership I'm going to call BS on this.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/18 17:38:10
Subject: Spear of Teuthlas Rules
|
 |
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter
|
Waaaghpower wrote: Mywik wrote:Waaaghpower wrote:You get a D3 per natural 6. So if you rolled a 6 and a 3 you'd add D3. If you rolled 2 6s you'd get 2 D3 as well, though you probably wouldn't need it.) If you roll 2d6 and roll  did you have a armour penetration roll of six or twelve? Other cases have shown that 2d6=/=( d6+ d6). On the other hand it would be silly to only get the rending effect when you roll a combined result of 6. Just something to think about.
No it's not. 2D6 equals 2 Dice. Instructions are explicit when using two dice. If you pick the highest, it'll say so. In the case of armorbane it says you roll 2D6 for Armor penetration without any specific clarification beyond that. You know, the same way they word Leadership checks? So unless I only have to use one die for Leadership I'm going to call BS on this. And BS it is! (not ballistic skill) With Rending Armourbane, you can get up to 6(natural)+3(rend)+6(natural)+3(rend)=18. Someone mentioned the Vindicare earlier, whose best possible total is 39. He should be able to shoot THROUGH Land Raiders!
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/07/18 17:40:47
LVO 2017 - Best GK Player
The Grimdark Future 8500 1500  6000 2000 5000
"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/18 17:40:39
Subject: Spear of Teuthlas Rules
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Elric Greywolf wrote:Waaaghpower wrote: Mywik wrote:Waaaghpower wrote:You get a D3 per natural 6. So if you rolled a 6 and a 3 you'd add D3. If you rolled 2 6s you'd get 2 D3 as well, though you probably wouldn't need it.)
If you roll 2d6 and roll  did you have a armour penetration roll of six or twelve? Other cases have shown that 2d6=/=( d6+ d6). On the other hand it would be silly to only get the rending effect when you roll a combined result of 6.
Just something to think about.
No it's not. 2D6 equals 2 Dice. Instructions are explicit when using two dice. If you pick the highest, it'll say so. In the case of armorbane it says you roll 2D6 for Armor penetration without any specific clarification beyond that. You know, the same way they word Leadership checks? So unless I only have to use one die for Leadership I'm going to call BS on this.
And BS it is! (not ballistic skill) With Rending Armourbane, you can get up to 6(natural)+3(rend)+6(natural)+3(rend)=18.
Yeah because a Vindicare getting a potential 39 for armour penetration is perfectly fine.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/18 18:39:53
Subject: Spear of Teuthlas Rules
|
 |
Hoary Long Fang with Lascannon
|
Happyjew wrote: Elric Greywolf wrote:Waaaghpower wrote: Mywik wrote:Waaaghpower wrote:You get a D3 per natural 6. So if you rolled a 6 and a 3 you'd add D3. If you rolled 2 6s you'd get 2 D3 as well, though you probably wouldn't need it.)
If you roll 2d6 and roll  did you have a armour penetration roll of six or twelve? Other cases have shown that 2d6=/=( d6+ d6). On the other hand it would be silly to only get the rending effect when you roll a combined result of 6.
Just something to think about.
No it's not. 2D6 equals 2 Dice. Instructions are explicit when using two dice. If you pick the highest, it'll say so. In the case of armorbane it says you roll 2D6 for Armor penetration without any specific clarification beyond that. You know, the same way they word Leadership checks? So unless I only have to use one die for Leadership I'm going to call BS on this.
And BS it is! (not ballistic skill) With Rending Armourbane, you can get up to 6(natural)+3(rend)+6(natural)+3(rend)=18.
Yeah because a Vindicare getting a potential 39 for armour penetration is perfectly fine.
Hmm should include a vindicare in my army next week
On a serious note. My statement was more a question than a statement. Should have clarified that.
So in which cases do i count the 2d6 separately and when do i add the result? Im having difficulties to properly distinct them. Interesting is that even the dakka tooltip tells me to add the results together when rolling 2d6  . I know that i roll multiple separate dice for say a difficult terrain check but at least to me the use of "roll 2d6" seems to be somewhat inconsistent.
|
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2013/07/18 18:44:44
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/18 18:46:24
Subject: Spear of Teuthlas Rules
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Mywik wrote:Hmm should include a vindicare in my army next week
On a serious note. My statement was more a question than a statement. Should have clarified that.
So in which cases do i count the 2d6 separately and when do i add the result? Im having difficulties to properly distinct them. Interesting is that even the dakka tooltip tells me to add the results together when rolling 2d6  .
You add the dice together to determine armour penetration, however, to determine rending you look at each individual die. For each one that rolls a 6, you get the extra D3. then you add it all together, plus the strength of the weapon.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/19 18:56:00
Subject: Re:Spear of Teuthlas Rules
|
 |
Jovial Plaguebearer of Nurgle
|
Awesome....Thank you all for clearly that up for! As for the worth of the Spear.....I think it is well worth the 15pts!
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|