Switch Theme:

Spear of Teuthlas Rules  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Jovial Plaguebearer of Nurgle





West Bend, WI

Question about the stats of the famous spear. The melee profile is user str, fleshbane, armourbane, & rending. How does Armourbane and rending work together? The rules for rendering on a vehicle is penetrating roll of a 6 adds D3. Adding Armourbane rolls 2D6, if I roll a 6+ with the two dice can I roll a D3 to add more punch?
Mr. Raynor
   
Made in us
Ragin' Ork Dreadnought




You get a D3 per natural 6. So if you rolled a 6 and a 3 you'd add D3. If you rolled 2 6s you'd get 2 D3 as well, though you probably wouldn't need it.)

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/07/17 22:24:27


 
   
Made in gb
Jovial Plaguebearer of Nurgle





West Bend, WI

That would have changed a couple of outcomes today. So I take it that the Spear is clearly worth the 15pts!
   
Made in de
Hoary Long Fang with Lascannon






Waaaghpower wrote:
You get a D3 per natural 6. So if you rolled a 6 and a 3 you'd add D3. If you rolled 2 6s you'd get 2 D3 as well, though you probably wouldn't need it.)


If you roll 2d6 and roll did you have a armour penetration roll of six or twelve? Other cases have shown that 2d6=/=(d6+d6). On the other hand it would be silly to only get the rending effect when you roll a combined result of 6.

Just something to think about.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Armour bane is 2D6 added together. You get rending on any rol of a 6 (see Vindicare FAQ)
   
Made in us
Jovial Plaguebearer of Nurgle





West Bend, WI

So does this mean if I roll a 2 and 4 from both dice that it counts as rending? Or do the individual dice have to roll a 6 to get the rending rule? I'm curious because the way the rule is written it says, Vehicle is penetrating roll of a 6 adds D3. Does not say that these rolls can't be combined to equal a 6 to roll a D3....I'm rather new to the rule when it comes to vehicles so I'm not trying to finagle the rule in my favor.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




The individual dice have to roll a 6. Again, see the vindicare.
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Each die that rolls a "6" adds an additional d3.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Ragin' Ork Dreadnought




 Mywik wrote:
Waaaghpower wrote:
You get a D3 per natural 6. So if you rolled a 6 and a 3 you'd add D3. If you rolled 2 6s you'd get 2 D3 as well, though you probably wouldn't need it.)


If you roll 2d6 and roll did you have a armour penetration roll of six or twelve? Other cases have shown that 2d6=/=(d6+d6). On the other hand it would be silly to only get the rending effect when you roll a combined result of 6.

Just something to think about.

No it's not. 2D6 equals 2 Dice. Instructions are explicit when using two dice. If you pick the highest, it'll say so. In the case of armorbane it says you roll 2D6 for Armor penetration without any specific clarification beyond that. You know, the same way they word Leadership checks? So unless I only have to use one die for Leadership I'm going to call BS on this.
   
Made in us
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter






Dimmamar

Waaaghpower wrote:
 Mywik wrote:
Waaaghpower wrote:
You get a D3 per natural 6. So if you rolled a 6 and a 3 you'd add D3. If you rolled 2 6s you'd get 2 D3 as well, though you probably wouldn't need it.)


If you roll 2d6 and roll did you have a armour penetration roll of six or twelve? Other cases have shown that 2d6=/=(d6+d6). On the other hand it would be silly to only get the rending effect when you roll a combined result of 6.

Just something to think about.

No it's not. 2D6 equals 2 Dice. Instructions are explicit when using two dice. If you pick the highest, it'll say so. In the case of armorbane it says you roll 2D6 for Armor penetration without any specific clarification beyond that. You know, the same way they word Leadership checks? So unless I only have to use one die for Leadership I'm going to call BS on this.


And BS it is! (not ballistic skill) With Rending Armourbane, you can get up to 6(natural)+3(rend)+6(natural)+3(rend)=18.

Someone mentioned the Vindicare earlier, whose best possible total is 39. He should be able to shoot THROUGH Land Raiders!

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/07/18 17:40:47


LVO 2017 - Best GK Player

The Grimdark Future 8500 1500 6000 2000 5000


"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

 Elric Greywolf wrote:
Waaaghpower wrote:
 Mywik wrote:
Waaaghpower wrote:
You get a D3 per natural 6. So if you rolled a 6 and a 3 you'd add D3. If you rolled 2 6s you'd get 2 D3 as well, though you probably wouldn't need it.)


If you roll 2d6 and roll did you have a armour penetration roll of six or twelve? Other cases have shown that 2d6=/=(d6+d6). On the other hand it would be silly to only get the rending effect when you roll a combined result of 6.

Just something to think about.

No it's not. 2D6 equals 2 Dice. Instructions are explicit when using two dice. If you pick the highest, it'll say so. In the case of armorbane it says you roll 2D6 for Armor penetration without any specific clarification beyond that. You know, the same way they word Leadership checks? So unless I only have to use one die for Leadership I'm going to call BS on this.


And BS it is! (not ballistic skill) With Rending Armourbane, you can get up to 6(natural)+3(rend)+6(natural)+3(rend)=18.


Yeah because a Vindicare getting a potential 39 for armour penetration is perfectly fine.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in de
Hoary Long Fang with Lascannon






 Happyjew wrote:
 Elric Greywolf wrote:
Waaaghpower wrote:
 Mywik wrote:
Waaaghpower wrote:
You get a D3 per natural 6. So if you rolled a 6 and a 3 you'd add D3. If you rolled 2 6s you'd get 2 D3 as well, though you probably wouldn't need it.)


If you roll 2d6 and roll did you have a armour penetration roll of six or twelve? Other cases have shown that 2d6=/=(d6+d6). On the other hand it would be silly to only get the rending effect when you roll a combined result of 6.

Just something to think about.

No it's not. 2D6 equals 2 Dice. Instructions are explicit when using two dice. If you pick the highest, it'll say so. In the case of armorbane it says you roll 2D6 for Armor penetration without any specific clarification beyond that. You know, the same way they word Leadership checks? So unless I only have to use one die for Leadership I'm going to call BS on this.


And BS it is! (not ballistic skill) With Rending Armourbane, you can get up to 6(natural)+3(rend)+6(natural)+3(rend)=18.


Yeah because a Vindicare getting a potential 39 for armour penetration is perfectly fine.


Hmm should include a vindicare in my army next week

On a serious note. My statement was more a question than a statement. Should have clarified that.
So in which cases do i count the 2d6 separately and when do i add the result? Im having difficulties to properly distinct them. Interesting is that even the dakka tooltip tells me to add the results together when rolling 2d6 . I know that i roll multiple separate dice for say a difficult terrain check but at least to me the use of "roll 2d6" seems to be somewhat inconsistent.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2013/07/18 18:44:44


 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

 Mywik wrote:
Hmm should include a vindicare in my army next week

On a serious note. My statement was more a question than a statement. Should have clarified that.
So in which cases do i count the 2d6 separately and when do i add the result? Im having difficulties to properly distinct them. Interesting is that even the dakka tooltip tells me to add the results together when rolling 2d6 .


You add the dice together to determine armour penetration, however, to determine rending you look at each individual die. For each one that rolls a 6, you get the extra D3. then you add it all together, plus the strength of the weapon.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Jovial Plaguebearer of Nurgle





West Bend, WI

Awesome....Thank you all for clearly that up for! As for the worth of the Spear.....I think it is well worth the 15pts!
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: