Switch Theme:

Another Chronological Issue. Tyranid Tervigon arriving from reserves, and termagant spawn.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Lurking Gaunt





My Question is:
Can a Tyranid Tervigon spawn Termagants when it outflanks or arrives from reserves?

The Tervigon entry in the Tyranid Codex says that "At the beggining of your movement phase.." is when the Tervigon spawns Termagants. The BRB says outflanking follows the rules for arriving from reserves. Under the reserves section, it says that you place the models that arrive from reserve before you move models in your army normally. It does not specify if reserves arrive from the reserves during the Movement phase.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Typical answer will be no as arriving from reserves counts as movement, but it has been debated.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 Der Metzgermeister wrote:
The Tervigon entry in the Tyranid Codex says that "At the beggining of your movement phase.." is when the Tervigon spawns Termagants.

No, it doesn't. It actually says "A Tervigon can spawn Termagants in the Tyranid Movement phase before it has moved ..." it meaning the Tervigon. Very large difference there.

The BRB says outflanking follows the rules for arriving from reserves. Under the reserves section, it says that you place the models that arrive from reserve before you move models in your army normally. It
does not specify if reserves arrive from the reserves during the Movement phase.

The thing that would stop it from working if your memory of the Tervigon rule was correct is this:
BRB page 125 wrote:Unless stated otherwise, a unit cannot charge, or use any abilities or special rules that must be used at the start of the turn, in the turn it arrives from reserve.

Since the beginning of the movement phase is synonymous with the start of your turn, it'd be stopped.

Now - since the Tervigon *actually* spawns before it moves technically it could work - but it's a) obviously not intended and b) trivial to argue against.
Where are you measuring the 6" deployment from? The board edge because that's where the Tervigon measures movement from? The rules say that's only for movement, so doesn't apply to spawning gants.


edit: Also, are you on the 40k Houston facebook group? We literally just had this discussion less than an hour ago.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/07/19 21:39:42


My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Lurking Gaunt





Thanks Norn Queen.
I feel like a major dunce now. Just like my Necron chronologi cal question, I checked the codex and rulebook, but just in the wrong places. (Page 124 vs Page 125.)
Haha, no I am not part of the Houston Warhammer 40k facebook page.

Us tyranids are really getting the short end of the stick with the new outflanking and infiltrate rules. :\
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Eh, they're not that bad. It's just not a trivial turn 2 assault anymore.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Rampaging Carnifex





South Florida

No, a Tervigon cannot spawn after it comes in from reserves. For the same reason that Psykers coming in from reserves can't cast Blessings or Maledictions, as they occur before movement.

   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

rollawaythestone wrote:
No, a Tervigon cannot spawn after it comes in from reserves. For the same reason that Psykers coming in from reserves can't cast Blessings or Maledictions, as they occur before movement.
Correction. Psykers cannot cast start of the turn powers because the reserve rules forbid it. Per the FAQ start of turn psychic powers are concurrent with reserves.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





rollawaythestone wrote:
No, a Tervigon cannot spawn after it comes in from reserves. For the same reason that Psykers coming in from reserves can't cast Blessings or Maledictions, as they occur before movement.

Blessings and Maledictions happen before all movement.
Tervigon spawning happens before the Tervigon's movement. Different timings.

Reading the thread is a good idea usually.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: