Switch Theme:

Is there a specific player that rolls end of game?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




For some reason I always though it was the player who went second but now upon review of the rules I can't find that anywhere.
   
Made in gb
Raging Ravener



Powys

I don't think it really makes much difference. At our club we tend to get a third party to roll, but if no-one is available then we generally use the person who would lose if the game ended there and then.

DT:80+S++G++M+B+I+Pw40k93+D++A+++/areWD190R++T(T)DM+

I play a few armies:
Forces of Order: Grey Knights & Eldar
Forces of Disorder: Dark Eldar
Forces of 'we don't care, we're just going to eat you anyway': Tyranids

NEW!! For 2014: Deadzone, 40k RPG: Rogue Trader, XWing and Dreadball!

Also went in for Rampage with the DBX KS. 
   
Made in au
Screaming Shining Spear





Western Australia

It used to be the player who went first rolled for turn 6 and then the player who went second rolled for turn 7... From memory in 5th ed

For gaming, hobby and events in Perth, Western Australia - https://objectivesecured.com.au 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

 Massaen wrote:
It used to be the player who went first rolled for turn 6 and then the player who went second rolled for turn 7... From memory in 5th ed

I don't recall that ever being a rule.

Ultimately, it doesn't really matter. I'll usually just ask my opponent if he wants to do it.

 
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

This is something easily, and probably best, resolved by the two players simply deciding who rolls when the time comes.

8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




There is no specific player who it is to roll, but I always thought it was a good idea, to place the dice inbetween both hands as we shake, and when we let go the dice falls.

Just always added an interseting good finish shake, or a "Let the duel continue!" for me.
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





Generally my opponents make me roll if they want the game to end and they roll if they want it to continue because of my notoriously bad dice. Often I'll get asked to roll over when a player wants a game to end even if I'm not involved... but there is no set way to do it.

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in us
Wraith






I hate that dice roll... lost many a tournament game because of it!

It really doesn't matter who does, though. Let the strands of fate converge into one moment of decision.

Or just roll off

Shine on, Kaldor Dayglow!
Not Ken Lobb

 
   
Made in jp
Longtime Dakkanaut



Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan

I think what the OP is getting at is if the end of game roll can interact with re-rolls. For example Fateweaver or the Chronometron. If a particular player rolls, it could be argued that they could potentially apply re-rolls to it.
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





I would argue that the roll does not occur during any player turn and is thus intelligible for such rerolls.

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in jp
Longtime Dakkanaut



Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan

It happens at the end of a game turn, which does place it within a turn. Much like things that happen at the start of a turn happen within a turn.
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





I'll have to check I thought it was after the end of a game turn. If it is at the end then yes depending who rolled could make it eligible for using such rerolls. Thus who rolls could have an impact on outcome which is clearly not meant to be the case astheir is no defined roller. Thus you'd have to discuss it with your opponent before hand or with the TO.

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in jp
Longtime Dakkanaut



Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan

I would say as there is no defined roller it doesn't actually belong to either player and thus doesn't fall under their purview regarding Special Rules. But it's not an ironclad position.
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





Yeah that's certainly HIWPI...

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in au
Hoary Long Fang with Lascannon




Armageddon, Pry System, Armageddon Sector, Armageddon Sub-sector, Segmentum Solar.

No specific rules on it as others have said. My group usually just leaves it up to the player that goes last.
   
Made in gb
Tough Tyrant Guard





SHE-FI-ELD

Friendlies I always get the other person to roll, so if it goes wrong I can blame them . All in good fun though

It's my codex and I'll cry If I want to.

Tactical objectives are fantastic 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




We have never considered the possibility of using a re-roll for it. We have always played the second player rolled it (even though that is not the rule) because we thought the timing was end of turn 5 and 6. Active player at the end of that turn is the guy that went second. Personally I like to roll it especially if I am having a bad game or a large string of 1 and 2's. Its the escape pod lol.
   
Made in us
Abhorrent Grotesque Aberration





As others have noted, there is no rule in the book stating who gets to do the roll.

Regarding rerolls: this is a die roll that is outside of the normal player and game turn. All rerolls specify either turn (ie: player turn) or game turn. So rerolls can't be done.

HIPI: I let me opponent roll for it unless they insist I do it.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/07/26 14:55:42


------------------
"Why me?" Gideon begged, falling to his knees.
"Why not?" - Asdrubael Vect 
   
Made in us
Killer Klaivex




Oceanside, CA

We've always allowed the player who would lose if the game ended to roll.
It's fun to hand him a single die, and say, this is your only chance...

-Matt

 thedarkavenger wrote:

So. I got a game with this list in. First game in at least 3-4 months.
 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard





St. Louis, MO

HawaiiMatt wrote:
We've always allowed the player who would lose if the game ended to roll.
It's fun to hand him a single die, and say, this is your only chance...

-Matt


That's how we play it as well.

11,100 pts, 7,000 pts
++ Heed my words for I am the Herald and we are the footsteps of doom. Interlopers, do we name you. Defilers of our
sacred earth. We have awoken to your primative species and will not tolerate your presence. Ours is the way of logic,
of cold hard reason: your irrationality, your human disease has no place in the necrontyr. Flesh is weak.
Surrender to the machine incarnate. Surrender and die.
++

Tuagh wrote: If you won't use a wrench, it isn't the bolt's fault that your hammer is useless.
 
   
Made in ca
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver





HawaiiMatt wrote:
We've always allowed the player who would lose if the game ended to roll.
It's fun to hand him a single die, and say, this is your only chance...

-Matt
This. This is the best way to do it, in my opinion.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/07/27 15:19:32


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: