Switch Theme:

Grimoire and Dark Excommiuncation  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





So if I was in combat with a model using Dark Excommiuncation my daemonic gifts cease to work, is the effect of the grimoire classed as a daemonic gift?, the grimoire itself is thanks to the wording of the codex but the ongoing effect of the grimoire I am not sure on. Things like the doomstone of course would cease to work and so do the weapons, and so would the grimoire itself (if I could use it in the assault phase)

opinions?

40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final 
   
Made in us
Confessor Of Sins




WA, USA

Was the guy in assault carrying the grimoire, or was he under its effects?

 Ouze wrote:

Afterward, Curran killed a guy in the parking lot with a trident.
 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





Does it matter, its a ongoing effect rather then constant effect. IF the grimoire bearers dies the effect does not go away so that shows that the effect is ongoing once it has been put on them and isnt stopped working if the grimoire stops working (either by being dead or being DE)

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/08/08 16:16:43


40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final 
   
Made in us
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter






Dimmamar

MarkyMark wrote:
Things like the doomstone of course would cease to work


I'm not sure this is true. Both Doomstone and Dark Excom occur at the start of the Fight sub-phase (the GK power was errata'ed). So in the GK turn, you would NOT use the Doomstone. But in your turn, as controlling player, you could choose whether the power or the Ld check occurs first.
I think the same would be true of the Eternal Blade. You get to roll a D3 before the power goes off, if it's your turn.

Now, whether Dark Excom can banish ongoing effects, like the Grimoire's +2/-1, or the +D3 from the Eternal Blade...I've been waiting for a FAQ on that one. As a GK/Daemon player, HIWPI is that Dark Excom does not strip already-cast bonuses, but it does effect the ability to cast more. A Psyker DP, for example, would not have his +D3 from Iron Arm stripped, but he would be unable to cast a power that phase (which doesn't actually matter, since he doesn't HAVE any assault phase powers...but in theory....)

LVO 2017 - Best GK Player

The Grimdark Future 8500 1500 6000 2000 5000


"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





Last time I checked, the grimore was an Exalted Reward, not a Demonic Gift so would be uneffected by Dark Excommunication.
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





Its a hellforged arterfact so under the daemonic gifts section.

40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final 
   
Made in de
Hoary Long Fang with Lascannon






CrownAxe wrote:
Last time I checked, the grimore was an Exalted Reward, not a Demonic Gift so would be uneffected by Dark Excommunication.


The grimoire is a demonic gift. If the unit carrying the grimoire is assaulted and dark ex is casted succesfully it ceases to work. So the unit that has the imp. inv save would lose that improvement.

If a unit that is under the effect of the grimoire but not the bearer of the grimoire is assaulted and dark ex successfully casted it doesnt lose the inv save.

For reference:
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/542556.page

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/08/08 18:13:41


 
   
Made in us
Blood-Raging Khorne Berserker





New Jersey

DE referenced pyskic powers, how else could DE stop a Pys power if it was not in fact an ongoing effect?

Edit: Nvm phy powers are under daemonic gifts and I ipso facto'd them being stopped from DE so I guess DE canceling ongoing powers is up in the air?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/08/08 18:19:27


I need to return some video tapes.
Skulls for the Skull Throne 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





Lmao, the reason this hasnt been faq because its so clear.....

There hasnt been ANY daemon faq!.

What basis do you say the +2 goes?, if the gift ceases to work it is the same result as if the bearer had died?, both cease to work then. IF the bearer dies so you can no longer use it does the effect go?, No.

Its a on going effect regardless if the bearer is in the unit or not IMO, you have no permission to remove the effect of the gift.

Or would you say if a character had lost ld to the doomstone would his ld then go up because the doomstone stopped working during that assault phase?.

If a unit had soul blaze on them from horrors shooting at them would that stop working as Flickering fire termed as a gift, what that stop working if the horrors were in combat with a model with DE?

IF a model was under another effect from a daemon psyhic power what that cease to work while the caster was in CC with a model with DE?

40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

MarkyMark wrote:
Lmao, the reason this hasnt been faq because its so clear.....

There hasnt been ANY daemon faq!


Except, of course for this one. For the 6th edition codex.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/08/08 19:50:16


Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter






Dimmamar

That FAQ is practically worthless. It still has the disclaimer about the brand new book being "an older codex, written for a previous edition of the rules."

But yes, there is technically a Daemon FAQ. It's just dumb.

LVO 2017 - Best GK Player

The Grimdark Future 8500 1500 6000 2000 5000


"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





 Happyjew wrote:
MarkyMark wrote:
Lmao, the reason this hasnt been faq because its so clear.....

There hasnt been ANY daemon faq!


Except, of course for this one. For the 6th edition codex.

The faq with not one faq about as useful as your post haha

40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: