Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/12 14:55:08
Subject: Using the Iyanden wraith stone while embarked? Y or N?
|
 |
Screaming Shining Spear
|
Simple really - can you use the wraith stone while embarked on a wave serpent to heal a wound on a knight or lord within 6" of the serpent?
The item says during my movement phase, nominate a lord/knight within 6" of the bearer... Does being embarked mean I measure from the hull?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/12 14:59:10
Subject: Using the Iyanden wraith stone while embarked? Y or N?
|
 |
Angry Blood Angel Assault marine
|
Usually it is measure from the hull in the case of vehicles. As to if you can use it or not depends on if you need LoS and have a FP. If you just pick a model and it affects them I don't really see any reason why not if you have a FP. Psychers have similar problems but generally if the vehicle doesn't have FP they can only affect the vehicle they are sitting in.
|
War is not a matter of who is right, it is a matter of who is left.
It’s all fun and games until someone loses an eye. Then it’s fun and games without depth perception. - TSOALR
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/12 15:36:54
Subject: Re:Using the Iyanden wraith stone while embarked? Y or N?
|
 |
Trustworthy Shas'vre
|
Yes, you would measure from the Hull like other area effects.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/12 15:41:25
Subject: Using the Iyanden wraith stone while embarked? Y or N?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
To nominate it you usually need LOS, if you do then you cannot draw LOS from the fire points on vehicles for anything other then firing.
|
40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/12 15:42:48
Subject: Using the Iyanden wraith stone while embarked? Y or N?
|
 |
Angry Blood Angel Assault marine
|
Most vehicles don't have real FP on them.
|
War is not a matter of who is right, it is a matter of who is left.
It’s all fun and games until someone loses an eye. Then it’s fun and games without depth perception. - TSOALR
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/12 15:45:58
Subject: Using the Iyanden wraith stone while embarked? Y or N?
|
 |
Trustworthy Shas'vre
|
MarkyMark wrote:To nominate it you usually need LOS, if you do then you cannot draw LOS from the fire points on vehicles for anything other then firing.
And what in the Wraithforge Stone's description requires LOS? LOS and "Targeting" is purely a mechanic of shooting.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/12 15:47:23
Subject: Using the Iyanden wraith stone while embarked? Y or N?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
MarkyMark wrote:To nominate it you usually need LOS, if you do then you cannot draw LOS from the fire points on vehicles for anything other then firing.
Why do you need LOS for things that just say "within blah inches" ?
Imperial Deceit wrote:Most vehicles don't have real FP on them.
and the eldar transports dont have FP at all.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/12 15:53:51
Subject: Using the Iyanden wraith stone while embarked? Y or N?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Zagman wrote:MarkyMark wrote:To nominate it you usually need LOS, if you do then you cannot draw LOS from the fire points on vehicles for anything other then firing.
And what in the Wraithforge Stone's description requires LOS? LOS and "Targeting" is purely a mechanic of shooting.
Thanks for the pedantic reply, I said usually, I do not know the wording of the wraithforge stone.
By the way wrong there, line of sight appears before shooting, it is a general principle of the game. Automatically Appended Next Post: jcress410 wrote:MarkyMark wrote:To nominate it you usually need LOS, if you do then you cannot draw LOS from the fire points on vehicles for anything other then firing.
Why do you need LOS for things that just say "within blah inches" ?
Imperial Deceit wrote:Most vehicles don't have real FP on them.
and the eldar transports dont have FP at all.
Well just checked my copy of the it and it says Nominate a model within 6inches of the bearer. Its hardly as cut and dry as you say.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/08/12 15:55:39
40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/12 16:56:06
Subject: Re:Using the Iyanden wraith stone while embarked? Y or N?
|
 |
Sneaky Striking Scorpion
Oregon
|
It doesn't invoke LOS, and it isn't a psychic power (despite the fact it is eldar, power-y, and all that).
I don't see what would require LOS, so measure from hull.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/12 17:31:58
Subject: Using the Iyanden wraith stone while embarked? Y or N?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
MarkyMark wrote:
Well just checked my copy of the it and it says Nominate a model within 6inches of the bearer.
Is this all to it? If it only requires a model to be within 6'' and it's not been FAQ'd otherweise, it's pretty clear: you don't need LOS, measure from the hull.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/12 22:30:37
Subject: Using the Iyanden wraith stone while embarked? Y or N?
|
 |
Agile Revenant Titan
|
MarkyMark wrote:To nominate it you usually need LOS, if you do then you cannot draw LOS from the fire points on vehicles for anything other then firing.
That's not true.
"Nominating" a unit has no relation to Line of Sight. You merely have to select a model within X" of your own model. The rulebook tells us how to do this is our model is in a vehicle.
From what I've seen, it's things which "target" a unit that require Line of sight. However again, I don't believe there is a rule saying that Targeting requires line of sight.
Iranna.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/12 23:37:24
Subject: Using the Iyanden wraith stone while embarked? Y or N?
|
 |
Screaming Shining Spear
|
I read it as measuring from the hull as well but have had that challenged and could not point to a pg in the brb that covered it
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/13 01:16:54
Subject: Using the Iyanden wraith stone while embarked? Y or N?
|
 |
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest
|
Massaen wrote:I read it as measuring from the hull as well but have had that challenged and could not point to a pg in the brb that covered it
Page 78 - it's the line just above the last paragraph.
|
"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch |
|
 |
 |
|