Switch Theme:

Using the Iyanden wraith stone while embarked? Y or N?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in au
Screaming Shining Spear





Western Australia

Simple really - can you use the wraith stone while embarked on a wave serpent to heal a wound on a knight or lord within 6" of the serpent?

The item says during my movement phase, nominate a lord/knight within 6" of the bearer... Does being embarked mean I measure from the hull?

For gaming, hobby and events in Perth, Western Australia - https://objectivesecured.com.au 
   
Made in us
Angry Blood Angel Assault marine




Minot, ND

Usually it is measure from the hull in the case of vehicles. As to if you can use it or not depends on if you need LoS and have a FP. If you just pick a model and it affects them I don't really see any reason why not if you have a FP. Psychers have similar problems but generally if the vehicle doesn't have FP they can only affect the vehicle they are sitting in.

War is not a matter of who is right, it is a matter of who is left.

It’s all fun and games until someone loses an eye. Then it’s fun and games without depth perception. - TSOALR

 azreal13 wrote:

But the strawman holocaust in Notts continues apace.
 
   
Made in us
Trustworthy Shas'vre






Yes, you would measure from the Hull like other area effects.

40k is 100% Skill +/- 50% Luck

Zagman's 40k Balance Errata 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





To nominate it you usually need LOS, if you do then you cannot draw LOS from the fire points on vehicles for anything other then firing.

40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final 
   
Made in us
Angry Blood Angel Assault marine




Minot, ND

Most vehicles don't have real FP on them.

War is not a matter of who is right, it is a matter of who is left.

It’s all fun and games until someone loses an eye. Then it’s fun and games without depth perception. - TSOALR

 azreal13 wrote:

But the strawman holocaust in Notts continues apace.
 
   
Made in us
Trustworthy Shas'vre






MarkyMark wrote:
To nominate it you usually need LOS, if you do then you cannot draw LOS from the fire points on vehicles for anything other then firing.


And what in the Wraithforge Stone's description requires LOS? LOS and "Targeting" is purely a mechanic of shooting.

40k is 100% Skill +/- 50% Luck

Zagman's 40k Balance Errata 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




MarkyMark wrote:To nominate it you usually need LOS, if you do then you cannot draw LOS from the fire points on vehicles for anything other then firing.


Why do you need LOS for things that just say "within blah inches" ?

Imperial Deceit wrote:Most vehicles don't have real FP on them.


and the eldar transports dont have FP at all.
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





Zagman wrote:
MarkyMark wrote:
To nominate it you usually need LOS, if you do then you cannot draw LOS from the fire points on vehicles for anything other then firing.


And what in the Wraithforge Stone's description requires LOS? LOS and "Targeting" is purely a mechanic of shooting.


Thanks for the pedantic reply, I said usually, I do not know the wording of the wraithforge stone.

By the way wrong there, line of sight appears before shooting, it is a general principle of the game.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
jcress410 wrote:
MarkyMark wrote:To nominate it you usually need LOS, if you do then you cannot draw LOS from the fire points on vehicles for anything other then firing.


Why do you need LOS for things that just say "within blah inches" ?

Imperial Deceit wrote:Most vehicles don't have real FP on them.


and the eldar transports dont have FP at all.


Well just checked my copy of the it and it says Nominate a model within 6inches of the bearer. Its hardly as cut and dry as you say.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/08/12 15:55:39


40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final 
   
Made in us
Sneaky Striking Scorpion



Oregon

It doesn't invoke LOS, and it isn't a psychic power (despite the fact it is eldar, power-y, and all that).

I don't see what would require LOS, so measure from hull.
   
Made in de
Decrepit Dakkanaut





MarkyMark wrote:


Well just checked my copy of the it and it says Nominate a model within 6inches of the bearer.


Is this all to it? If it only requires a model to be within 6'' and it's not been FAQ'd otherweise, it's pretty clear: you don't need LOS, measure from the hull.

   
Made in gb
Agile Revenant Titan





Scotland

MarkyMark wrote:
To nominate it you usually need LOS, if you do then you cannot draw LOS from the fire points on vehicles for anything other then firing.


That's not true.

"Nominating" a unit has no relation to Line of Sight. You merely have to select a model within X" of your own model. The rulebook tells us how to do this is our model is in a vehicle.

From what I've seen, it's things which "target" a unit that require Line of sight. However again, I don't believe there is a rule saying that Targeting requires line of sight.

Iranna.

 
   
Made in au
Screaming Shining Spear





Western Australia

I read it as measuring from the hull as well but have had that challenged and could not point to a pg in the brb that covered it

For gaming, hobby and events in Perth, Western Australia - https://objectivesecured.com.au 
   
Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

 Massaen wrote:
I read it as measuring from the hull as well but have had that challenged and could not point to a pg in the brb that covered it


Page 78 - it's the line just above the last paragraph.

"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: