Switch Theme:

Confirming interaction of Scout + Immobile  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Uhlan





This is mainly for Sabre Defense platforms, but may apply to other units as well.

The Defense platform has the Scout USR and also an Immobile rule which reads

" (This) cannot be move after it has been deployed, and it ignores any effect which forces it to move. ..."

For reference the Scout USR's important line is

"... (In this unit) each model can redeploy anywhere entirely within 6" of its current position. ..."

It seems clear to me that Scout doesn't care that the unit is immobile because Scout isn't "Movement" it's "Deployment." However, I wanted to make sure my interpretation is the common one.

Is this how you play it?

I play +  
   
Made in gb
Purposeful Hammerhead Pilot





Yup, I would say you are correct, its a redeploy not a move, which as it turns out I didn't know! I always thought it was a move, no more difficult terrain checks for my pathfinders!
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Bobug wrote:
I always thought it was a move...
In previous editions, it was a move. In rules terms, I think "redeploy" is much simpler.
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





Its a deployment, or redeploy, thats why scouting bikes or skimmers dont get a jink save as they havent moved yet.

40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final 
   
Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

Silly question - if not to benefit from the redeployment, why would the platform have Scout at all? It's not like it can take advantage of Outflank.

"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





 Super Ready wrote:
Silly question - if not to benefit from the redeployment, why would the platform have Scout at all? It's not like it can take advantage of Outflank.


Outflank has rules for immobile models outflanking no?. Plus its a good suprise to be able to re position them!.

40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final 
   
Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

MarkyMark wrote:
Outflank has rules for immobile models outflanking no?


Nope, nothing specific. Outflank simply gives the ruling for determining which board edge then says the unit arrives in the same manner as normal Reserves - which page 124 tells us is a normal move.

...interestingly, I haven't yet found anything to stop the piece from enacting a normal move, as it *IS* a model - and it would only be "deployed" after that move to get onto that board, so you'd get to do that before it were immobile. So maybe this particular unit can outflank - however any other units that are *always* immobile wouldn't be able to.

"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
Made in de
Hoary Long Fang with Lascannon






 Super Ready wrote:
MarkyMark wrote:
Outflank has rules for immobile models outflanking no?


Nope, nothing specific. Outflank simply gives the ruling for determining which board edge then says the unit arrives in the same manner as normal Reserves - which page 124 tells us is a normal move.

...interestingly, I haven't yet found anything to stop the piece from enacting a normal move, as it *IS* a model - and it would only be "deployed" after that move to get onto that board, so you'd get to do that before it were immobile. So maybe this particular unit can outflank - however any other units that are *always* immobile wouldn't be able to.


When outflanking you still have to move onto the board.

P.40
Models move onto the table
as described for other Reserves

p.124
When Reserves arrive, the player picks any one of the units
arriving and deploys it, moving it onto the table as described
below.

Below its described how to "move" onto the table. So no ... they cant outflank.

Edit:
Reading carefully in the first place would have saved me some time. Didnt notice the "cant move after being deployes". So maybe you are correct.

This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2013/08/15 10:28:53


 
   
Made in gb
Leader of the Sept







I thought there was a rule for models that do not have sufficient movement to get onto the board they are simply placed in contact with the board edge. Away from my rulebook just now.

Please excuse any spelling errors. I use a tablet frequently and software keyboards are a pain!

Terranwing - w3;d1;l1
51st Dunedinw2;d0;l0
Cadre Coronal Afterglow w1;d0;l0 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

 Mywik wrote:
 Super Ready wrote:
MarkyMark wrote:
Outflank has rules for immobile models outflanking no?


Nope, nothing specific. Outflank simply gives the ruling for determining which board edge then says the unit arrives in the same manner as normal Reserves - which page 124 tells us is a normal move.

...interestingly, I haven't yet found anything to stop the piece from enacting a normal move, as it *IS* a model - and it would only be "deployed" after that move to get onto that board, so you'd get to do that before it were immobile. So maybe this particular unit can outflank - however any other units that are *always* immobile wouldn't be able to.


When outflanking you still have to move onto the board.

P.40
Models move onto the table
as described for other Reserves

p.124
When Reserves arrive, the player picks any one of the units
arriving and deploys it, moving it onto the table as described
below.

Below its described how to "move" onto the table. So no ... they cant outflank.


You seem to have missed part of the rules on page 124. I recommend re-reading the very last sentence on page 124. Yes, it can Outflank.


Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in gb
Rough Rider with Boomstick



Wiltshire

Pretty sure it says that immobile units placed in reserve deep strike?

Note to the reader: my username is not arrogance. No, my name is taken from the most excellent of commanders: Lord Castellan Creed, of the Imperial Guar- I mean Astra Militarum - who has a special rule known only as "Tactical Genius"... Although nowhere near as awesome as before, it now allows some cool stuff for the Guar- Astra Militarum - player. FEAR ME AND MY TWO WARLORD TRAITS. 
   
Made in de
Hoary Long Fang with Lascannon






 Happyjew wrote:


You seem to have missed part of the rules on page 124. I recommend re-reading the very last sentence on page 124. Yes, it can Outflank.



Yes, i indeed missed that part and you are correct.

Pretty sure it says that immobile units placed in reserve deep strike?


If the rules quote the op gave is correct they only become immobile after they have been deployed.
   
Made in gb
Rough Rider with Boomstick



Wiltshire

BRB p.125 wrote:
Certain rare units are permanently immobile. If a unit like this
cannot be deployed, or the player decides to keep it in reserve,
it enters the game by Deep Strike. This represents the immobile
unit being airdropped, teleported or otherwise deposited onto
the battlefield.

Note to the reader: my username is not arrogance. No, my name is taken from the most excellent of commanders: Lord Castellan Creed, of the Imperial Guar- I mean Astra Militarum - who has a special rule known only as "Tactical Genius"... Although nowhere near as awesome as before, it now allows some cool stuff for the Guar- Astra Militarum - player. FEAR ME AND MY TWO WARLORD TRAITS. 
   
Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

Oof - I did indeed completely miss that line. So the platform has full permission to Deep Strike!! NICE.

"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: