Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/16 09:08:56
Subject: Grey Knight Rediculous Idea
|
 |
Neophyte undergoing Ritual of Detestation
|
So it occurs to me with double force org and enough points there is a truly nuts trick you can do with GK.
You take Lord Draigo, Grand Master Mordrak and a Librarian with Mastery level 3, a Teleport Homer, and The Summoning.
Take 3 Land Raiders (preferably the Redeemers) and Warp Stabilization Fields (on each). And load them all up with Paladins.
Here's the trick: Mordrak allows you to Deep Strike turn 1 with no chance of scatter. You can join the Librarian to his squad and have some Paladins in there as well.
Now you use your Librarian with Teleport Homer to Teleport the 3 Land Raiders in the enemy's deployment zone and because there is no scatter you can build a virtual fortification around your Deep Striking unit putting the 3 Land Raiders in a Triangle formation around them. You have effectively moved Lord Draigo, Grand Master Mordrak, a Librarian and up to 25 Paladins into a position to assault turn 2 with very little chance of the enemy being able to even really harm any of them unless they are in an elevated position or have some kind of really funky shennanigans going on.
Granted, I would not try this at anything less than 3000 points or so...but it would be fun to do nevertheless.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/08/16 09:10:26
There's no kill like overkill. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/16 14:18:38
Subject: Grey Knight Rediculous Idea
|
 |
Major
Fortress of Solitude
|
Cant be done, libbies cant cast the summoning from reserve.
|
Celesticon 2013 Warhammer 40k Tournament- Best General
Sydney August 2014 Warhammer 40k Tournament-Best General |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/16 14:28:51
Subject: Grey Knight Rediculous Idea
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
rathkoron wrote:You can join the Librarian to his squad and have some Paladins in there as well.
Mordrak can only hang out with Ghost Knights and ICs. So no Paladins linked to him.
I can't remember if a teleport homer works with the summoning. I didn't think it did...
Automatically Appended Next Post:
The Libbie comes down with Mordrak he wouldn't be in reserve...
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/08/16 14:29:12
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/16 14:32:53
Subject: Grey Knight Rediculous Idea
|
 |
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar
|
No but even coming in turn 1 counts as "coming in from reserve" as you do not start on the table I guess.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/16 14:42:20
Subject: Grey Knight Rediculous Idea
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
tuiman wrote:No but even coming in turn 1 counts as "coming in from reserve" as you do not start on the table I guess.
Not having my rulebook with me here at work... is 'The Summoning' a power that works at the start of the movement phase, and since the Libbie is deep striking at the start of the movement phase, he cannot cast the Summoning when he lands? Something like that?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/16 14:49:00
Subject: Grey Knight Rediculous Idea
|
 |
Devestating Grey Knight Dreadknight
|
Not to mention that the Teleport Homer doesn't work for the Summoning or for vehicles.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/16 14:52:21
Subject: Grey Knight Rediculous Idea
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Powers that must be used at the start of the turn cannot be used the same turn you arrive from reserves.
Mordrak cannot join paladins.
Psykers cannot use the same power more than once per turn so you can deep strike turn 1 and summon a single unit turn 2 assuming the unit survived.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/16 19:09:24
Subject: Re:Grey Knight Rediculous Idea
|
 |
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar
|
Yup, sorry dude, no Summoning when you arrive from DS. Thinking outside the box is always good, though. On the other hand, you could keep a similar list and still be in assault turn 2 just by going flat out turn 1. 18" turn 1, then move 6" turn two, disembark 6", then assault up to 12". Thus begins Operation Super Palie assault. You could still use Mordrak, and DS him in on a separate flank as a distraction unit.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/16 19:29:50
Subject: Grey Knight Rediculous Idea
|
 |
Implacable Skitarii
US
|
I once DS'd Mordrak with a Ghost Knight and a Libby beside The Stormlord and a unit of Lychguard and used Warp Rift. My opponent failed every single initiative test. Took out the entire unit. He was mad.
|
"Let my brothers practise their swordplay. They can finish off whoever is left."
— Purgator Rocht Kavanar
Chi Rho Brotherhood 2.5k
Hive Fleet Setekh 5k
Deimos Skitarii Maniple 400 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/16 21:54:49
Subject: Grey Knight Rediculous Idea
|
 |
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps
Phoenix, AZ, USA
|
Mordrak+Ghosts with Libby+Warp Rift has been my main stay since the new Dex arrived. Of coure I use the Teleport Homer+Psychic Communion for turn 2 reserves, rather than the unreliable The Summoning.
SJ
|
“For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world.”
- Ephesians 6:12
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/18 08:13:49
Subject: Grey Knight Rediculous Idea
|
 |
Neophyte undergoing Ritual of Detestation
|
Actually looking at it, you can Teleport Vehicles with The Summoning...you just have to take a Warp Stabilization Field on said vehicles.
You can use the same power in the same turn, but you cannot use more than one Wychfire power in the same turn.
The reason it wouldn't work Turn 1 is because:
1. The Librarian has to use it at the beginning of his turn.
2. The Teleport Homer has to be on the field at the beginning of the turn.
The trick could still work, but it would be turn 3 before the majority of my guys got into assault.
At that point, I am probably better off just moving the Land Raiders across the field.
|
There's no kill like overkill. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/18 09:29:48
Subject: Grey Knight Rediculous Idea
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
"Ridiculous"
|
2000+pts
23-0-2
5-1-2
still building slaanesh army! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/18 14:10:23
Subject: Grey Knight Rediculous Idea
|
 |
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps
Phoenix, AZ, USA
|
Sadly, this fotum does not consider moving from point A to point B via the Warp to be "teleportation", as the term "teleportation" is not defined in the BRB or subsequent codecii as anything other than a method of arriving from reserve. As such, even though The Summoning is following all tropes of teleportation and paying a premium for an otherwise limited piece of wargear that relies on the teleportation trope to be useful, the lack on the word "teleport" in the The Summoning means that Teleport Homers will not prevent scatter of a Summoned unit. This makes The Summoning a tactically useless power.
However, despite the above statement, it does appear that Teleport Homers were intended to be used with The Summoning per the wording found under "Warp Stabilization Field", "Personal Teleporter", and "Gate of Infinity". Unfortunately, this forum (specifically, the Dakka Debate Society) disagrees.
Guess we wait for our 6th Ed Codex to address it, seeing as our FAQ does not.
SJ
|
“For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world.”
- Ephesians 6:12
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/18 14:36:28
Subject: Grey Knight Rediculous Idea
|
 |
Sure Space Wolves Land Raider Pilot
|
Why not use a servo skull? D6 less scatter within 12"
|
~ Krieg 6k
~ Necrons 2.5k
~ Space Wolves 5K
~ :Khorne CSM 2k
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/18 16:31:06
Subject: Grey Knight Rediculous Idea
|
 |
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps
Phoenix, AZ, USA
|
A 6 on a d6 can still potential mishap if the unit summoned covers the Librarian.
SJ
|
“For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world.”
- Ephesians 6:12
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/18 19:30:09
Subject: Re:Grey Knight Rediculous Idea
|
 |
Devestating Grey Knight Dreadknight
|
I personally play it that teleport homers work with the summoning because of the wording of the power, but not for tanks because the rules for the teleport homer state that it only works for strikes, interceptors, and terminators. However, per the FAQ Mystics can prevent the scatter, so if you could find a way to get one of those up close you could do something similar.
|
Hope is the first step on the road to disappointment. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/18 19:51:26
Subject: Grey Knight Rediculous Idea
|
 |
Rough Rider with Boomstick
Wiltshire
|
Actually looking at it, you can Teleport Vehicles with The Summoning...you just have to take a Warp Stabilization Field on said vehicles.
He meant teleport homers don't work for vehicles.
You can use the same power in the same turn
99% sure this is false.
|
Note to the reader: my username is not arrogance. No, my name is taken from the most excellent of commanders: Lord Castellan Creed, of the Imperial Guar- I mean Astra Militarum - who has a special rule known only as "Tactical Genius"... Although nowhere near as awesome as before, it now allows some cool stuff for the Guar- Astra Militarum - player. FEAR ME AND MY TWO WARLORD TRAITS. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/18 20:19:24
Subject: Grey Knight Rediculous Idea
|
 |
Devestating Grey Knight Dreadknight
|
rathkoron wrote:
Actually looking at it, you can Teleport Vehicles with The Summoning...you just have to take a Warp Stabilization Field on said vehicles.
When did I say that you couldn't teleport vehicles? Read my post again properly please.
rathkoron wrote:You can use the same power in the same turn, but you cannot use more than one Wychfire power in the same turn.
And no, no you can't. BRB p67.
"A Psyker cannot attempt to manifest the same psychic power more than once each turn."
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/08/18 20:28:05
|
|
 |
 |
|