Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/27 16:16:59
Subject: Charging Survivors of an EXPLODED Transport (this isn't the same thread/topic, don't delete me!)
|
 |
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter
|
Unit A explodes Unit Z's transport in shooting phase. Unit Z is then placed where the transport previously was. Note that Unit Z did not disembark. Question: Can Unit A charge Unit Z? (Again, note that Unit Z did not disembark.)
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/08/27 16:17:16
LVO 2017 - Best GK Player
The Grimdark Future 8500 1500  6000 2000 5000
"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/27 16:19:28
Subject: Charging Survivors of an EXPLODED Transport (this isn't the same thread/topic, don't delete me!)
|
 |
Shas'o Commanding the Hunter Kadre
|
If the shot that wrecked/exploded the transport came from the same unit, it can charge the contents.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/27 16:30:17
Subject: Charging Survivors of an EXPLODED Transport (this isn't the same thread/topic, don't delete me!)
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Any unit that fired at the transport is allowed to assault the contents, not just the unit that destroyed it (p80).
Or are you claiming that the Explodes! result doesn't disembark the passengers?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/27 17:09:02
Subject: Charging Survivors of an EXPLODED Transport (this isn't the same thread/topic, don't delete me!)
|
 |
Executing Exarch
|
grendel083 wrote:Or are you claiming that the Explodes! result doesn't disembark the passengers?
That is the common argument for people wanting to charge with the now "non-disembarked" unit due to the wording of the explodes result. I can imagine some people extrapolating to the opening question from there.
Doesn't hold much water with me but YMMV.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/27 17:35:26
Subject: Charging Survivors of an EXPLODED Transport (this isn't the same thread/topic, don't delete me!)
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Excpet the FAQ specifically states they cannot charge next turn.
they are "now disembarked", even if explodes!-ed
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/27 18:00:17
Subject: Charging Survivors of an EXPLODED Transport (this isn't the same thread/topic, don't delete me!)
|
 |
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter
|
Could you reference that FAQ? I couldn't find it. Edit: If you mean this one, then I don't think it says that. "Q: If a unit disembarks from a destroyed vehicle during the enemy turn, can it Charge in the Assault phase of its own turn? (p80) A: No, unless the vehicle in question was an Assault Vehicle." There is no mention of disembarking from an Exploded vehicle. The rules for Disembarking are never referenced. The only thing we might be able to say is that, since the BRB and the FAQ reference disembarking from a destroyed vehicle, and both Wrecked and Explodes count as destroyed, then units must have disembarked from an Exploded vehicle. But that's a bit of an extrapolation.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/08/27 18:04:41
LVO 2017 - Best GK Player
The Grimdark Future 8500 1500  6000 2000 5000
"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/27 18:52:05
Subject: Re:Charging Survivors of an EXPLODED Transport (this isn't the same thread/topic, don't delete me!)
|
 |
Reverent Tech-Adept
|
I am new to this idea, but if it truly was the case that they did not disembark, then they must still be embarked. In that case, no one can assault them, they cannot assault anyone else, and they cannot shoot (seeing as the fire points are now absent) as they are still embarked.
|
Think first. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/27 18:59:44
Subject: Charging Survivors of an EXPLODED Transport (this isn't the same thread/topic, don't delete me!)
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Elric Greywolf wrote:Could you reference that FAQ? I couldn't find it. Edit: If you mean this one, then I don't think it says that. "Q: If a unit disembarks from a destroyed vehicle during the enemy turn, can it Charge in the Assault phase of its own turn? (p80) A: No, unless the vehicle in question was an Assault Vehicle." There is no mention of disembarking from an Exploded vehicle. The rules for Disembarking are never referenced. The only thing we might be able to say is that, since the BRB and the FAQ reference disembarking from a destroyed vehicle, and both Wrecked and Explodes count as destroyed, then units must have disembarked from an Exploded vehicle. But that's a bit of an extrapolation. If it doesnt refer to a exploaded vehicle, what does it refer to?, trying to say it doesnt refer to a exploaded vehicle but does to a wrecked one based on what exactly? Reading the rules on page 80 quite answer your question, it is the last paragraph of Effect of damage on passengers. It says Now disembarked. Also explodes says you place them, the rules for disembark says you place them.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/08/27 19:04:11
40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/27 20:13:01
Subject: Charging Survivors of an EXPLODED Transport (this isn't the same thread/topic, don't delete me!)
|
 |
Drop Trooper with Demo Charge
|
Is an exploded vehicle destroyed or not?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/08/27 20:13:48
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/27 20:17:50
Subject: Charging Survivors of an EXPLODED Transport (this isn't the same thread/topic, don't delete me!)
|
 |
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter
|
Good, good. I'm over on Warseer trying to say that yes, Destroyed=Explodes, but TFG keeps saying no. And yes, he admits that this means you can't charge a unit whose vehicle was destroyed by your shooting.
I've basically presented everything everyone's said here....just thought I'd look for any new arguments.
|
LVO 2017 - Best GK Player
The Grimdark Future 8500 1500  6000 2000 5000
"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/27 20:30:53
Subject: Charging Survivors of an EXPLODED Transport (this isn't the same thread/topic, don't delete me!)
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Quote the last section on page 80 mate, effect of damage on passengers, it is AFTER exploaded wrecked specific results, so applies to both. And yes I have had this arguement before.
|
40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/27 22:58:53
Subject: Charging Survivors of an EXPLODED Transport (this isn't the same thread/topic, don't delete me!)
|
 |
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter
|
I did already show him that. He said what I said in my second post on this thread. It's dumb...
And I'm not sure that a chronological (ie. since it comes AFTER, it applies to BOTH) would work. I recall seeing someone trying this before in YMDC, and getting shot down.
I would accept it...but I'm not the person I'm trying to convince!
|
LVO 2017 - Best GK Player
The Grimdark Future 8500 1500  6000 2000 5000
"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/28 00:07:25
Subject: Re:Charging Survivors of an EXPLODED Transport (this isn't the same thread/topic, don't delete me!)
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
I know you can charge the contents of a transport you destroy with your shooting. I believe the rule is in the transport section. Its own little box IIRC.
Edit: Yup, page 80. last paragraph under "Transports and Assaults".
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/08/28 00:10:51
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/28 00:14:30
Subject: Charging Survivors of an EXPLODED Transport (this isn't the same thread/topic, don't delete me!)
|
 |
Abhorrent Grotesque Aberration
|
Just to make sure I have the gist of this question:
You are arguing with a guy on a different forum, using the info provided here? And you agree with the sentiment here? But are posting his responses by proxy?
Good grief. Talk about an xkcd moment.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/08/30 20:30:07
------------------
"Why me?" Gideon begged, falling to his knees.
"Why not?" - Asdrubael Vect |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/28 01:00:37
Subject: Charging Survivors of an EXPLODED Transport (this isn't the same thread/topic, don't delete me!)
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Ask him to find the definition of Destroyed in the BRB, when he cant, tell him that a wrecked or exploded vehicle fits the description of destroyed in the English Language.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
|