Switch Theme:

Raven guard scouting land raiders?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




RG chapter tactics give scout to "models" without the bulky or very bulky rule.

So that means I can scout speeders, land raiders etc.?
   
Made in us
Bounding Assault Marine




Nocturne

Do land raiders have the chapter tactics rule?

Sun Tzu "All warfare is based on deception"

Into the Fires of Battle! Unto The Anvil of War!

2500 pts
1500 pts
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Technically Land Raiders do not get Chapter Tactics. So no, they would not automatically get it. However, if someone knows the rules for embarked units with the Scout rule giving the ability to their transport if they are in it that would be useful! If so, there might be a way.
   
Made in us
Bounding Assault Marine




Nocturne

The Scout USR is only imparted to Dedicated Transports, and since the only things I can think of off the top of my head that can take Land Raiders as DT, are at least Bulky, that's a no go on scouting Land Raiders. Scouting Rhinos, Razorbacks, etc, though, that's a possibility.

Sun Tzu "All warfare is based on deception"

Into the Fires of Battle! Unto The Anvil of War!

2500 pts
1500 pts
 
   
Made in gb
Mighty Vampire Count






UK

If you had a Raven Guard Charcter leading a Terminator squad in a LR would that not give them Scout?

I AM A MARINE PLAYER

"Unimaginably ancient xenos artefact somewhere on the planet, hive fleet poised above our heads, hidden 'stealer broods making an early start....and now a bloody Chaos cult crawling out of the woodwork just in case we were bored. Welcome to my world, Ciaphas."
Inquisitor Amberley Vail, Ordo Xenos

"I will admit that some Primachs like Russ or Horus could have a chance against an unarmed 12 year old novice but, a full Battle Sister??!! One to one? In close combat? Perhaps three Primarchs fighting together... but just one Primarch?" da001

www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/528517.page

A Bloody Road - my Warhammer Fantasy Fiction 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




I read it the same way Mr Morden. If you put a RG Chapter Master in a unit of Centurions that are all in a DT LR, then he would have scout (assuming no terminator armor) and give it to the LR. I scoured the scout rule and it does not say that the one giving scout to the DT has to be the exact unit purchasing the DT, just that it has to be a DT and one model have scout.

If it works this way, Ravengaurd Grav-Cannon Centurions in a LR just got awesome. Redeploy 12, move 6, disembark from the front, that 24" range is not a liability at any point. Only problem is the cost of the unit. But something is gonna die.
   
Made in us
Storm Trooper with Maglight




Philly

Shamanlord1961 wrote:
I read it the same way Mr Morden. If you put a RG Chapter Master in a unit of Centurions that are all in a DT LR, then he would have scout (assuming no terminator armor) and give it to the LR. I scoured the scout rule and it does not say that the one giving scout to the DT has to be the exact unit purchasing the DT, just that it has to be a DT and one model have scout.

If it works this way, Ravengaurd Grav-Cannon Centurions in a LR just got awesome. Redeploy 12, move 6, disembark from the front, that 24" range is not a liability at any point. Only problem is the cost of the unit. But something is gonna die.


A cursory glance at the applicable rules say that this might actually work. But again, that's one expensive unit, points-wise.

"It's bigger then all of us. Winston's in the air duct with a badger." 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Or just go White Scars and scout the LR as a dedicated Transport
   
Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

That works alright, but may very well be FAQed out in future, so I wouldn't go relying on it long term. With that said - TH/SS Termies in your opponent's face a turn earlier with a beatstick character added on just got NASTY.

"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
Made in nl
Loyal Necron Lychguard



Netherlands

Thank you for this combination, it seems awesome!
I do hope they won't FAQ this away, I wouldn't call it 'OP' and it actually helps them to be better in CC.
The Raven Guard-USR are very 'meeh' in my opinion and this is the first time I'm actually happy with their Scout-rule
   
Made in us
Member of the Malleus




SLC, UT

Shamanlord1961 wrote:
I read it the same way Mr Morden. If you put a RG Chapter Master in a unit of Centurions that are all in a DT LR, then he would have scout (assuming no terminator armor) and give it to the LR. I scoured the scout rule and it does not say that the one giving scout to the DT has to be the exact unit purchasing the DT, just that it has to be a DT and one model have scout.

If it works this way, Ravengaurd Grav-Cannon Centurions in a LR just got awesome. Redeploy 12, move 6, disembark from the front, that 24" range is not a liability at any point. Only problem is the cost of the unit. But something is gonna die.


Unfortunately this doesn't work. Only White Scars can scout the Land Raider. Here's why...

C:SM pg. 78 Strike from the Shadows: "Note that units that include models with the Bulky or Very Bulky special rules do not benefit from either rule."

The IC loses the benefit if he joins a termie or centurion squad. He cannot give it to the transport.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/09/09 18:05:53


"Huddle close to your Emperor if he makes you feel safe. He cannot save you, for only Chaos is eternal."

Cross: Noun. A thing you nail people to.

Iron Warriors 3k Yme-Loc 6k
Grey Knights 2k <3 Harlequin WIP
Vampire Counts 3K Dwarfs 2k
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




 Sothas wrote:
Shamanlord1961 wrote:
I read it the same way Mr Morden. If you put a RG Chapter Master in a unit of Centurions that are all in a DT LR, then he would have scout (assuming no terminator armor) and give it to the LR. I scoured the scout rule and it does not say that the one giving scout to the DT has to be the exact unit purchasing the DT, just that it has to be a DT and one model have scout.

If it works this way, Ravengaurd Grav-Cannon Centurions in a LR just got awesome. Redeploy 12, move 6, disembark from the front, that 24" range is not a liability at any point. Only problem is the cost of the unit. But something is gonna die.


Unfortunately this doesn't work. Only White Scars can scout the Land Raider. Here's why...

C:SM pg. 78 Strike from the Shadows: "Note that units that include models with the Bulky or Very Bulky special rules do not benefit from either rule."

The IC loses the benefit if he joins a termie or centurion squad. He cannot give it to the transport.


Not trying to troll, but where does it say that an IC gains the Bulky or Very Bulky rule when they join a unit that has it?
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




The IC is not a unit anymore when it joins a unit. Therefore, you have to follow the Centurion's Bulky rule.

The issue is not whether the IC can benefit from it, but that the Centurions cannot benefit from it.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/09/09 19:31:50



I am Red/White
Take The Magic Dual Colour Test - Beta today!
<small>Created with Rum and Monkey's Personality Test Generator.</small>

I'm both chaotic and orderly. I value my own principles, and am willing to go to extreme lengths to enforce them, often trampling on the very same principles in the process. At best, I'm heroic and principled; at worst, I'm hypocritical and disorderly.
 
   
Made in us
Member of the Malleus




SLC, UT

Right, centurions/termies have bulky/very bulky which don't benefit. And IC joins the unit and is now part of that unit. The rule says that if a unit contains models with bulky/very bulky then the unit doesn't benefit. There are models in the unit that have bulky/very bulky. The IC is a part of that unit so he no longer benefits.

"Huddle close to your Emperor if he makes you feel safe. He cannot save you, for only Chaos is eternal."

Cross: Noun. A thing you nail people to.

Iron Warriors 3k Yme-Loc 6k
Grey Knights 2k <3 Harlequin WIP
Vampire Counts 3K Dwarfs 2k
 
   
Made in us
Apprehensive Inquisitorial Apprentice



High in the Rocky Mts.

Sad really... Did they gain/keep any infiltration ala Shrike or something?

]=[DAGGER> 
   
Made in nl
Loyal Necron Lychguard



Netherlands

Yup, Shrike can infiltrate with a group of jumpers.
And an IC with termies + dedicated transport doesn't scout :( the IC loses Scout as soon as it joins the Terminators, too bad.
Scouting Rhino's, Razorbacks and LSS seems nice though.

Am I correct when I think a LSS can infiltrate and then scout?
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Yes, an LSS can Infiltrate and then Scout. The two Special Rules are not mutually exclusive.


The IC doesn't lose Scout, per se, they just don't benefit from it if part of a Bulky unit. A fine distinction to be sure, but an important one.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/09/10 17:31:10



I am Red/White
Take The Magic Dual Colour Test - Beta today!
<small>Created with Rum and Monkey's Personality Test Generator.</small>

I'm both chaotic and orderly. I value my own principles, and am willing to go to extreme lengths to enforce them, often trampling on the very same principles in the process. At best, I'm heroic and principled; at worst, I'm hypocritical and disorderly.
 
   
Made in nl
Loyal Necron Lychguard



Netherlands

Would it work if we ally Black Templars and put our IC in their Dedicated Land Raider with 15 models?
   
Made in gb
Mighty Vampire Count






UK

Allied characters can't go into their allies vehicles IIRC?

I AM A MARINE PLAYER

"Unimaginably ancient xenos artefact somewhere on the planet, hive fleet poised above our heads, hidden 'stealer broods making an early start....and now a bloody Chaos cult crawling out of the woodwork just in case we were bored. Welcome to my world, Ciaphas."
Inquisitor Amberley Vail, Ordo Xenos

"I will admit that some Primachs like Russ or Horus could have a chance against an unarmed 12 year old novice but, a full Battle Sister??!! One to one? In close combat? Perhaps three Primarchs fighting together... but just one Primarch?" da001

www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/528517.page

A Bloody Road - my Warhammer Fantasy Fiction 
   
Made in nl
Loyal Necron Lychguard



Netherlands

Aah, true! I thought Battle-Brothers could do that.
   
Made in us
Bonkers Buggy Driver with Rockets



Right behind you...

At least one person on Dakka has tried to argue that Battle Brothers can ride in allies' transports, but not sure how many people actually take that argument seriously... It is a tortured argument that requires some creative interpretation, but it is out there if you wish to go search for it and then try to convince your opponents that you can do it...

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/09/10 19:21:57


Armies in my closet:  
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





It's a discussion for another thread.
And it depends on what you mean by "seriously" - do I argue that RAW? Yes.
Do I play that way? Couldn't care less.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Bonkers Buggy Driver with Rockets



Right behind you...

Seems like it was a specific question that was brought up here so it seems appropriate to mention the viewpoint is out there...

Armies in my closet:  
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





It's not a creative interpretation.

Is an IC a unit after it joins another unit? No.
Is "Battle Brothers" defined as a friendly unit? Yes.
If you cease to be a unit, can you be counted as a Battle Brother? No.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Bonkers Buggy Driver with Rockets



Right behind you...

Have fun with that.

Armies in my closet:  
   
Made in nl
Loyal Necron Lychguard



Netherlands

Wait, people are actually arguing that when the BRB literally says that they can't?
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




That's never stopped anyone before.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Kangodo wrote:
Wait, people are actually arguing that when the BRB literally says that they can't?

You're incorrectly paraphrasing what the BRB says.

Battle Brothers are treated as 'friendly units' from all
points of view. This means,for example, that Battle Brothers:
• Can be joined by allied Independent Characters.
• Are counted as being friendly units for the targeting of
psychic powers,abilities and so on.
• However, note that not even Battle Brothers can embark in
allied transport vehicles.

Not my bold.
See how the BRB literally defines Battle Brothers as a friendly unit?
If a Tau IC joins a Space Marine unit, is there a Tau unit there?
If that Space Marine unit wants to get in a Land Raider, what is stopping it?

edit: Here, I'll make it easier for folks to understand:

Battle Brothers are treated as 'friendly units' from all
points of view. This means,for example, that Battle Brothers:
• Can be joined by allied Independent Characters.
• Are counted as being friendly units for the targeting of
psychic powers,abilities and so on.
• However, note that not even 'friendly units' can embark in
allied transport vehicles.


I replaced words but did not change the rule whatsoever.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/09/10 20:38:31


My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

"• However, note that not even Battle Brothers can embark in allied transport vehicles."

Are BT's and other SM's Battle Brothers?

If so then the BT characters still can not ride in allied transports, as per the rules.


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 DeathReaper wrote:
"• However, note that not even Battle Brothers can embark in allied transport vehicles."

Are BT's and other SM's Battle Brothers?

If so then the BT characters still can not ride in allied transports, as per the rules.

The Battle Brothers rules cease applying when the IC ceases to be a unit.
Therefore there's no restriction.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: