| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/26 21:22:55
Subject: Does killing an Independent Character while part of a unit count as first blood?
|
 |
Space Marine Scout with Sniper Rifle
|
Me and a friend had a game recently.
I usually run a ten man assault squad and a jump chaplain for that awesome assault ability.
First turn and nothing had died so far, He killed about 6 assault marines and the chaplain. (even with look out sirs, However I think i accidentally used the normal 4+ instead and shot myself in the foot)
I thought from that, he gets first blood and slain the warlord for killing the chaplain alone. However, Should he not get first blood? As per the rulebook on page 39 it says "While an Independent Character is part of a unit, he counts as part of the unit for all rules purposes, though he still follows the rules for characters."
So am I right in that he doesn't get first blood for killing an IC (Chaplain) in a unit of assault marines?
If so, what would happen if he killed the chaplain after removing several models around him that then took him out of coherency with the squad almost forcing him to be a separate unit?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/26 21:28:37
Subject: Does killing an Independent Character while part of a unit count as first blood?
|
 |
Shas'o Commanding the Hunter Kadre
|
Killing a whole unit always grants first blood. So yes.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/26 21:29:42
Subject: Does killing an Independent Character while part of a unit count as first blood?
|
 |
Kelne
|
An Independent character is a unit by itself ,considering the first blood rules and a few more (the number of units in your army to calculate your max reserves , ....)
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/26 21:33:58
Subject: Re:Does killing an Independent Character while part of a unit count as first blood?
|
 |
Space Marine Scout with Sniper Rifle
|
Hmmm, so what happens about this... "While an Independent Character is part of a unit, he counts as part of the unit for all rules purposes, though he still follows the rules for characters."
An IC counts as part of the unit for all rules purposes. So in order to kill the unit you have to kill the chaplain and all the assault marines?
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/09/26 21:34:26
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/26 21:35:01
Subject: Does killing an Independent Character while part of a unit count as first blood?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
Juraigamer, I think the question was addressing the situation where the warlord or independent character is killed while other members of the squad are still standing. For me this is a question more alone the lines of 'at which point does the independent character stop being considered part of a unit for all rule purposes.' Clearly if the independent character moves away from the unit it once more becomes a unit of it's own, but does it work the same way if the model is removed as a casualty while part of another unit? I would say yes; the independent character becomes another unit at the moment of it's death and grants first blood, but I can see where some people might argue otherwise.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/09/26 21:36:24
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/26 21:37:46
Subject: Does killing an Independent Character while part of a unit count as first blood?
|
 |
Kelne
|
I am unable to find what lead me to remember this, so disregard my comment. Where can the damn thing be?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/26 21:39:00
Subject: Re:Does killing an Independent Character while part of a unit count as first blood?
|
 |
Executing Exarch
|
Once the IC is dead, he is no longer in coherency with the unit, and therefore no longer attached.
Also, from a relevant note, Purge the Alien (page 127) specifically mentions that IC's and DT's count as a separate unit for Victory Points. Not mentioned in the rule for First Blood, but I would use it as an indication of GW's intent.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/26 22:22:33
Subject: Does killing an Independent Character while part of a unit count as first blood?
|
 |
Space Marine Scout with Sniper Rifle
|
We actually played Crusade, so although it doesn't include that section Quanar mentioned about victory points I do understand your point and might be as GW intended. I think from now on i shall play the IC as a kill point even in a unit.
On a small note, it wouldn't of changed the result of the game as I beat him about 12-2. Only difference would of been it going to 11-3 to reflect the change of first blood.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/27 03:46:36
Subject: Re:Does killing an Independent Character while part of a unit count as first blood?
|
 |
Infiltrating Broodlord
|
pupitbackster wrote:Hmmm, so what happens about this... "While an Independent Character is part of a unit, he counts as part of the unit for all rules purposes, though he still follows the rules for characters."
An IC counts as part of the unit for all rules purposes. So in order to kill the unit you have to kill the chaplain and all the assault marines?
Q: Is the dead IC 'part of the unit'?
A: No, hes no longer with us
Q: So he no longer counts as 'part of the unit for all rules purposes'?
A: Not by any rules IC.
|
-It is not the strongest of the Tyranids that survive but the ones most adaptive to change. |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|