To go along with Kommissar Kel's comment, the
LR (at least in the Space Wolves Codex) is
not listed as a Dedicated Transport. In fact, in my recent thread we discuss if a Lone Wolf (which has a specific ruling that it cannot join or be joined by another model, but according to official
FAQ can embark an empty transport) can in fact embark a NON-dedicated transport, specifically a Land Raider, prior to the game and if both are in reserve. The short answer is yes.
In this case, if you were in a tourney or playing in a strict
RAW situation, I believe you could reasonably argue that the model/unit is simply embarking a
non-dedicated transport while in reserve to prepare for the most effective call for reinforcements. Sometimes
RAI works very closely to contribute to
RAW