Switch Theme:

CSM Land Raider & Dedicated Transport  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Hellacious Havoc




Fairly straight-forward question: Can I get a dedicated LR for my Chaos termies and then choose to deep strike them?

If yes: Does the LR Deep Strike WITH them or is it fielded normally like an ordinary heavy support LR?
I'm fairly certain I cannot Deep Strike a LR, but on the other matter:

The wording of dedicated transports in the rulebook reads:

"The only limitation of a Dedicated Transport is that when it is
deployed, it can only carry the unit it was selected with (plus
any Independent Characters that have joined it)" (p78)

I believe this only means that the LR cannot carry another unit other than the unit that the transport is dedicated to at the start of the game.
However, since the Termies will be Deep Striking, does this allow me to field an empty LR while the Termies wait in reserves?
Or is it entirely impossible to Deep Strike Termies with a dedicated LR altogether?
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





cbteom wrote:
However, since the Termies will be Deep Striking, does this allow me to field an empty LR while the Termies wait in reserves?

Yes. You've noted the only limitation on a dedicated transport - there is no rule requiring the unit that bought it to start inside it.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






An the LR is feilded normally, or you can also hold it in reserve, where it will come on to the table from the table edge as any normal vehicle.

YOu can absolutely deploy and field the empty land raider, and first turn you can even have another unit get into the raider.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





Above posters are correct, sadly we can't deep strike our land raiders
   
Made in us
Automated Space Wolves Thrall





To go along with Kommissar Kel's comment, the LR (at least in the Space Wolves Codex) is not listed as a Dedicated Transport. In fact, in my recent thread we discuss if a Lone Wolf (which has a specific ruling that it cannot join or be joined by another model, but according to official FAQ can embark an empty transport) can in fact embark a NON-dedicated transport, specifically a Land Raider, prior to the game and if both are in reserve. The short answer is yes.

In this case, if you were in a tourney or playing in a strict RAW situation, I believe you could reasonably argue that the model/unit is simply embarking a non-dedicated transport while in reserve to prepare for the most effective call for reinforcements. Sometimes RAI works very closely to contribute to RAW

"..I am not like [him], not that kind of monster. I am a very neat monster. " - Dexter Morgan

Here's to hoping that the next Space Wolves Codex will include the return of Primarch Leman Russ! 
   
Made in gb
Hellacious Havoc




Great, thanks for the replies.
Now I can enjoy deploying a non-FoC LR for every Termie unit I field!

Too bad we cannot deep strike them, though.
Damn those loyalist Blood Angels!
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






 Psychotacon wrote:
To go along with Kommissar Kel's comment, the LR (at least in the Space Wolves Codex) is not listed as a Dedicated Transport. In fact, in my recent thread we discuss if a Lone Wolf (which has a specific ruling that it cannot join or be joined by another model, but according to official FAQ can embark an empty transport) can in fact embark a NON-dedicated transport, specifically a Land Raider, prior to the game and if both are in reserve. The short answer is yes.

In this case, if you were in a tourney or playing in a strict RAW situation, I believe you could reasonably argue that the model/unit is simply embarking a non-dedicated transport while in reserve to prepare for the most effective call for reinforcements. Sometimes RAI works very closely to contribute to RAW


You are overthinking again; also if the termies embark on the Land raider, whether dedicated or HS, then they cannot deepstrike in(which the op has indicated he wants them to).

And SW Wolf Guard can take a Land Raider as dedicated Transport, it is listed in that section of their rules on page 86

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: