Switch Theme:

Transferring USR to Dedicated Transports.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Jealous that Horus is Warmaster







Had a game last night where my brother, playing CSM, rolled the shrouded special rule for both his Sorcerer and Chaos Lord on his boon table. Both these Hq's were attached to a unit in a Rhino.

My initial reaction was that Shrouded would not extend to the vehicles, my brother thought that it would. We had a look through all the relevant sections of the brb but couldn't find anything to say one way or another.

Does anyone know the answer? We rolled for it on the night to save dragging the game out needlessly but would like confirmation one way or another. Page reference etc would be great.

In the USR section, other rules like Scout says that it does transfer to a units Dedicated Transport. Shrouded does not state that. I can certainly see my brothers point of view though. My Librarian cast invisibility whilst in a Rhino in
the same game so I could see it from both the yes and no camp.

Any help would be appreciated.


Revilers 6,000pts
Dark Eldar 4,000pts
Cadian 229 regiment 3,000pts 
   
Made in us
Fighter Ace






Denver, CO

I don't think it would, it's not a special rule for the unit just the character. In the same way that a Character with, Deepstrike can't grant that to a unit that can't deepstrike. The unit has it's own special rules, that confer to it's dedicated transport. I would look at the boon and see if it says that the power is extended to units that the character is attached too, if they don't then the unit does not get shrouded and neither does the rhino.

Eagles soar, but weasels don't get sucked into Jet Engines.

My Little P&M Blog.
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/559842.page

My Blog on Random 40k Things, Painting, and some Narrative Batreps every now and then.
http://313cadian.blogspot.com

2000 Points IG
2000 Points SM 
   
Made in ca
Bounding Dark Angels Assault Marine





Canada

A transport is a unit in its own right.
Shrouded does not share with the transport, unlike some other USRs like scout
If the chaos lord has shrouded, it shares with his unit ( chaos space marines, cultists, etc)
The rhino is not his unit
If the Libby casts invisibility on his squad in the rhino then it affects the squad, not the rhino, if he casts it on the rhino, it affects the rhino, not the passengers.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
@bobaram
The unit does get shrouded because shrouded says "a unit with at least one model with shrouded ..." And ICs are considered part of the unit if they join them

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/10/17 18:46:21


Dark Angels 1st, 2nd, 5th, 10th Companies,
~14,000 points
36-21-4

~ 4500 points of Tau
5-5-1

~2500 points of Admech 40k

~6500 points of Tyranids: Hive Fleet Niadra
1-2-0 
   
Made in us
Fighter Ace






Denver, CO

Hmmm, man I need to reread my rulebooks something fierece this week.

Eagles soar, but weasels don't get sucked into Jet Engines.

My Little P&M Blog.
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/559842.page

My Blog on Random 40k Things, Painting, and some Narrative Batreps every now and then.
http://313cadian.blogspot.com

2000 Points IG
2000 Points SM 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Just to pile on and reinforce what Bobaram was saying. A terminator has deep strike and might also have a land raider as a dedicated transport. This does not mean the land raider can deep strike. Deep strike would have to specifically give the unit's DT the same USR much in the same way scout does. Deep strike and shrouded do no do this.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: