| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/26 03:45:07
Subject: New rules for the Lucius Pod
|
 |
Crushing Black Templar Crusader Pilot
|
Has anyone used the Lucius Pod using the new rules?
Here's how I understand the sequence:
-pod drops and opens
-place Dread on any part of pod
-Dread can shoot
-pod and Dread can be targeted but gets shrouded USR
Next turn:
-Dread gets to shoot then assault thanks to assault-transport rule
ALTERNATIVELY
-pod drops and opens (as per requirement to open the doors)
-Dread remains inside pod and does not disembark
-Dread cannot be targeted but cannot shoot or assault either
-pod has shrouded USR
Next turn:
-Dread disembarks within 6"
-Dread gets to shoot and assault thanks to assault-transport rule
Am I anywhere near how it works? How do you guys understand it? Understandably it's not as awesomesauce as it used to be, but do you still enjoy using it?
What's the point of having "open-topped" rule? Is that what makes it an assault vehicle? Can the Dread still shoot if it stays "embarked"? If so, can it be targeted? And what BS do you use (snapshots?)?
A bit confusing...
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/26 04:19:27
Subject: New rules for the Lucius Pod
|
 |
Long-Range Land Speeder Pilot
|
RAI I believe it's the first one. RAW it can be argued to be the latter.
|
Hail the Emperor. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/26 04:47:03
Subject: New rules for the Lucius Pod
|
 |
Crushing Black Templar Crusader Pilot
|
I thought I had read somewhere that someone had asked FW and they had replied that the Dread can, in fact, remain embarked on the turn it arrives. But that still doesn't answer my other questions...
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/26 04:56:05
Subject: New rules for the Lucius Pod
|
 |
Douglas Bader
|
Your given sequences are correct, but with two notes about the first sequence. First, if the dread stays in the pod then it may shoot (following all the normal rules for shooting out of an open-topped vehicle) but must snap fire because it is in a vehicle that moved at cruising speed (at least for the first turn, if it continues to remain embarked it can shoot at full BS in later turns). Second, the dread doesn't need permission from the assault vehicle rule to assault on the following turn since you can always disembark and then assault next turn. You only need the special rule to disembark and assault on the same turn.
The point of the open-topped rule is to allow the dread to shoot out if it remains embarked and assault if it disembarks, and to make the pod itself more vulnerable to damage results.
No, RAI and RAW it can be either. FW have explicitly stated that you may choose not to disembark on the turn the pod arrives.
|
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/10/26 04:57:19
There is no such thing as a hobby without politics. "Leave politics at the door" is itself a political statement, an endorsement of the status quo and an attempt to silence dissenting voices. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/26 05:26:49
Subject: New rules for the Lucius Pod
|
 |
Awesome Autarch
|
I talked to the guys at FW, they said directly the Dread can either get out or stay in. It's bizarre and opens up a lot of rules questions. But essentially you can sit in the pod and not get shot or assaulted until the pod is destroyed, or get out on it and be shrouded (for YOUR turn only, not the next turn) and then assault the next turn either way.
Not nearly as good as it was but not terrible either depending on who you find yourself facing a lot. It can keep you protected from a lot of the interceptor fire and shots in the enemy turn, increasing your odds of making the assault.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/26 05:52:47
Subject: New rules for the Lucius Pod
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Reecius wrote:I talked to the guys at FW, they said directly the Dread can either get out or stay in. It's bizarre and opens up a lot of rules questions. But essentially you can sit in the pod and not get shot or assaulted until the pod is destroyed, or get out on it and be shrouded (for YOUR turn only, not the next turn) and then assault the next turn either way.
Not nearly as good as it was but not terrible either depending on who you find yourself facing a lot. It can keep you protected from a lot of the interceptor fire and shots in the enemy turn, increasing your odds of making the assault.
Just don't let the enemy surround the pod and then wreck it. If the unit cannot get out when forced to, then it is bye-bye.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/26 05:57:11
Subject: New rules for the Lucius Pod
|
 |
Douglas Bader
|
I don't see how it has any rule questions. It's just a deep striking transport vehicle, like any other deep striking transport vehicle. The only "problems" seem to be people thinking that it works like normal drop pods just because it has similar fluff.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/10/26 05:57:38
There is no such thing as a hobby without politics. "Leave politics at the door" is itself a political statement, an endorsement of the status quo and an attempt to silence dissenting voices. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/26 07:07:29
Subject: New rules for the Lucius Pod
|
 |
Long-Range Land Speeder Pilot
|
Peregrine wrote:No, RAI and RAW it can be either. FW have explicitly stated that you may choose not to disembark on the turn the pod arrives.
The question is whether or not the dreadnought model is required to be placed in the pod. There is precedent for embarked models not being physically present on the table while embarked, and embarked models cannot be shot at.
Or is it, you may choose to have the dreadnought be targetable but have it "disembarked" on the pod itself; or you can leave the dreadnought off the table and choose not to disembark and stay immune?
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/10/26 07:09:26
Hail the Emperor. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/26 07:32:31
Subject: New rules for the Lucius Pod
|
 |
Douglas Bader
|
Tyberos the Red Wake wrote:The question is whether or not the dreadnought model is required to be placed in the pod. There is precedent for embarked models not being physically present on the table while embarked, and embarked models cannot be shot at.
Where exactly is the confusion? If the dread remains embarked it is off the table like any other model aboard a transport (and can not be shot at until the transport is destroyed, just like any other model aboard a transport). If it disembarks it is placed on the table like any other model disembarking from a transport.
Or is it, you may choose to have the dreadnought be targetable but have it "disembarked" on the pod itself;
It's not "disembarked", it's disembarked just like any other unit disembarking from a transport.
or you can leave the dreadnought off the table and choose not to disembark and stay immune?
Yes, just like any other unit arriving from reserve aboard a transport. This is no different than a tactical squad arriving aboard a Rhino, the only "ambiguity" comes from people expecting it to work like other drop pods just because the fluff is similar. The dread pod does not have the "must disembark" rule that other pods have, so it is just a normal transport.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/10/26 07:33:01
There is no such thing as a hobby without politics. "Leave politics at the door" is itself a political statement, an endorsement of the status quo and an attempt to silence dissenting voices. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/26 10:51:01
Subject: New rules for the Lucius Pod
|
 |
Long-Range Land Speeder Pilot
|
Images showing a dreadnought standing on a pod and having a pod opening up and shooting smoke to give cover bonus to...nothing is plenty cause for confusion.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/10/26 10:52:04
Hail the Emperor. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/26 10:53:17
Subject: New rules for the Lucius Pod
|
 |
Douglas Bader
|
Tyberos the Red Wake wrote:The Lucius-pattern pod does not have rules for forced disembark like normal pods. It is mandatory. Ergo, you can leave the Dreadnought embarked.
I have no idea what you're saying here. The dread pod is just a normal transport vehicle, and the dread inside can choose to disembark or not disembark just like any other unit aboard a transport. Nothing about disembarking or not disembarking is mandatory. Automatically Appended Next Post: Tyberos the Red Wake wrote:Images showing a dreadnought standing on a pod and having a pod opening up and shooting smoke to give cover bonus to...nothing is plenty cause for confusion.
What exactly is confusing about it? The pod gives a cover bonus to the dread if it disembarks (and any unit that has LOS to it go through or pass above the pod). If the dread doesn't disembark it just gives a cover save to the models behind the pod and the pod itself.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/10/26 10:55:03
There is no such thing as a hobby without politics. "Leave politics at the door" is itself a political statement, an endorsement of the status quo and an attempt to silence dissenting voices. |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|