Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/30 20:04:59
Subject: Death or Glory on a transport
|
 |
Faithful Squig Companion
|
This cropped up in a game recently:
A Battlewagon (with Deff Rolla) filled with Meganobz and Ghaz attempts to ram an Ironclad Dread. The Dread performs Death or Glory and Explodes the Wagon (it then dies to the 2d6 Deff Rolla hits). This is where the weirdness starts: There's another Battlewagon right by them. If the Boyz in this Wagon get out can Ghaz and company get in? Do they count as having "disembarked"? Can they even move at this point?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/30 20:11:19
Subject: Death or Glory on a transport
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
First, if you even immobilize the wagon, I thought that you didn't take the deff rolla hits as it wasn't moving forward to hurt you anymore... So I would think blowing it up would mean no hits on the dread in question.
not sure on the disembark stuff. I was under impression that even blowing up an assault vehicle, made it count as an assault vehicle and have more lenient rules to disembarking/movement. Sorry I'm not of more help, at least have a bump.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/30 20:20:04
Subject: Re:Death or Glory on a transport
|
 |
Faithful Squig Companion
|
A model/unit that Death or Glory's a Deff Rolla takes 2d6 (instead of 1) and per the Ork FAQ they take those hits regardless of what happens to the Wagon.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/30 20:25:08
Subject: Death or Glory on a transport
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
To answer the OP. If the BW explodes it is removed and replaced with a crater. The embarked Orks are placed where it used to be and take a Pinning test (unless there are more than 10 though probably not with MANZ). In their next turn they can embark on a different transport that has the capacity to hold them.
So a mob of Boyz can get out and the MANZ can get in if they are close enough.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/30 20:25:28
Subject: Death or Glory on a transport
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
skyfi wrote:First, if you even immobilize the wagon, I thought that you didn't take the deff rolla hits as it wasn't moving forward to hurt you anymore... So I would think blowing it up would mean no hits on the dread in question.
not sure on the disembark stuff. I was under impression that even blowing up an assault vehicle, made it count as an assault vehicle and have more lenient rules to disembarking/movement. Sorry I'm not of more help, at least have a bump.
No you still take the 2d6 hits, otherwise the second d6 rule would be about pointless. Also it is in the Ork FAQ that you very much take 2d6 hits.
When a vehicle explodes the unit is placed not disembarking. So may move and embark on another transport(assuming they are not pinned).
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/30 20:30:25
Subject: Death or Glory on a transport
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Kommissar Kel wrote:skyfi wrote:First, if you even immobilize the wagon, I thought that you didn't take the deff rolla hits as it wasn't moving forward to hurt you anymore... So I would think blowing it up would mean no hits on the dread in question.
not sure on the disembark stuff. I was under impression that even blowing up an assault vehicle, made it count as an assault vehicle and have more lenient rules to disembarking/movement. Sorry I'm not of more help, at least have a bump.
No you still take the 2d6 hits, otherwise the second d6 rule would be about pointless. Also it is in the Ork FAQ that you very much take 2d6 hits.
When a vehicle explodes the unit is placed not disembarking. So may move and embark on another transport(assuming they are not pinned).
been way too long since I played! ill stfu!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/30 20:33:22
Subject: Re:Death or Glory on a transport
|
 |
Fighter Ace
|
As for disembarking, that is covered in the BRB, stating that a model may embark on a turn, then if their vehicle becomes destroyed the are forced to disembark, it's in the first paragraph of Embarking and Disembarking. So it would count as a Disembarkation as the vehicle has been destroyed, since it's an assault vehicle they would be able to assault, provided they passed their pinning test. But they would not be able to embark on a new vehicle that turn.
Automatically Appended Next Post:
On a side note, the Dread counts as a vehicle, so per the Ork FAQ, it would only take 1 d6 hits. Hitting another vehicle is a Ram not a Tank Shock.
Automatically Appended Next Post:
And also the Dread wouldn't have been able to Death or Glory in the First place, per the Walker rules.
|
This message was edited 5 times. Last update was at 2013/10/30 20:47:41
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/30 20:48:58
Subject: Re:Death or Glory on a transport
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Bobaram wrote:
Automatically Appended Next Post:
On a side note, the Dread counts as a vehicle, so per the Ork FAQ, it would only take 1 d6 hits. Hitting another vehicle is a Ram not a Tank Shock.
Automatically Appended Next Post:
And also the Dread wouldn't have been able to Death or Glory in the First place, per the Walker rules.
This is correct. Page 84 of the BRB states that Walkers are rammed as normal vehicles and cannot perform Death or Glory. If it survives it can then assault. So there is no D6 or 2D6 deffrolla hits, just the basic Ramming resolution.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/30 20:56:29
Subject: Death or Glory on a transport
|
 |
Fighter Ace
|
Well, there would be a D6 hits, per the Orc FAQ, as a RAM is just a form of Tank Shock against the vehicle.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/30 22:02:38
Subject: Re:Death or Glory on a transport
|
 |
Faithful Squig Companion
|
My bad about the Dread not being able to Death or Glory. My real question still stands though, just replace "Ironclad Dread" with "a Space Marine with a meltagun". I want to know what the unit inside the exploded transport can/can't do.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/30 22:49:57
Subject: Re:Death or Glory on a transport
|
 |
Fighter Ace
|
Bobaram wrote:As for disembarking, that is covered in the BRB, stating that a model may embark on a turn, then if their vehicle becomes destroyed the are forced to disembark, it's in the first paragraph of Embarking and Disembarking. So it would count as a Disembarkation as the vehicle has been destroyed, since it's an assault vehicle they would be able to assault, provided they passed their pinning test. But they would not be able to embark on a new vehicle that turn.
Automatically Appended Next Post:
On a side note, the Dread counts as a vehicle, so per the Ork FAQ, it would only take 1 d6 hits. Hitting another vehicle is a Ram not a Tank Shock.
Automatically Appended Next Post:
And also the Dread wouldn't have been able to Death or Glory in the First place, per the Walker rules.
I stated it earlier, I think it got washed out by the walker rules discussion.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/10/30 22:50:26
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/30 22:58:48
Subject: Re:Death or Glory on a transport
|
 |
Faithful Squig Companion
|
I'm totally with you if the vehicle were Wrecked as the description of "Effects of Damage on Passengers" clearly states that they disembark. However, under Explodes! just underneath it (on p80 of the BRB for reference) it says they are "placed" with no mention of disembarking. That may be a little "rules lawyer" of me, but it is what it is.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/30 23:04:01
Subject: Death or Glory on a transport
|
 |
Fighter Ace
|
Well, I would say that within the first paragraph it says forced to disembark as a result of the vehicle being destroyed. The first sentence of the Explodes result is, The vehicle is destroyed. Automatically Appended Next Post: So I think on that one it comes down to interpretation of the damage result and associated rules. Automatically Appended Next Post: The only other real reference I can find is within the FAQ stating a Chariot in close combat that explodes performs an emergency debarkation. But doesn't really help us here. Automatically Appended Next Post: I think the clarification of the model placement wasn't meant to avoid the rule of disembarking, just providing a place where the model must go, rather than starting on the edge of the hull.
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2013/10/30 23:08:50
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/30 23:11:15
Subject: Re:Death or Glory on a transport
|
 |
Faithful Squig Companion
|
It could simply be referencing when the unit disembarks when the vehicle is destroyed by being Wrecked. Under "Wrecked Vehicles" on p74 it also mentions the vehicle being "destroyed". Automatically Appended Next Post: I don't even necessarily disagree with you. My gut tells me they shouldn't even be able to move, but I feel like the rules don't restrict it.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/10/30 23:12:21
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/30 23:14:19
Subject: Death or Glory on a transport
|
 |
Fighter Ace
|
True, it's all rather vague. I would play it as a Disembarkation, but I could see the point of saying well, they didn't disembark the vehicle disappeared around them!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/31 07:14:19
Subject: Death or Glory on a transport
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Later on it talks about the "Now disembarked" passengers - even though they were placed, they end up counting as having disembarked. So no ability to embark.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/31 18:19:24
Subject: Death or Glory on a transport
|
 |
Bonkers Buggy Driver with Rockets
Right behind you...
|
I think the wording of them being "placed" is to differentiate from a disembarkation move since they must remain in the crater, but that they are treated as if they had been forced to disembark as the subsequent wording states (the "now disembarked" part nos mentioned).
|
|
|
 |
 |
|