Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/31 02:07:19
Subject: New Player confused by Disc of Tzeentch
|
 |
Irradiated Baal Scavanger
Bloomfield NJ
|
Sorry if there is a totally obvious answer to this question. Can my herald on a Disc of Tzeentch join a unit? I know he counts as Calvary, but I also know there is restrictions on joining with relation to fly. If he can join a unit, does his non fly speed of 1 mean the unit moves at 1. Thanks for anyone who can help a new player out.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/31 02:26:31
Subject: New Player confused by Disc of Tzeentch
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
I know a non-flying unit can't join a flying unit. Not sure if flying can't join non-flying. And I'm too lazy to look it up. But yeah, even if he could (and I doubt he can) he could only move 1 as that is his movement characteristic without flight.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/31 16:15:00
Subject: New Player confused by Disc of Tzeentch
|
 |
[DCM]
Tzeentch's Fan Girl
|
I'm pretty sure the answer is NO; I don't have my book handy, but I believe that flying models can't join units.
More to the point, though: why put a character on a Disc just to stick him in a unit? Kinda defeats the purpose, yes?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/31 18:20:58
Subject: Re:New Player confused by Disc of Tzeentch
|
 |
Gor with Big Horns
Sinnoh
|
Looking at p97 of brb the character on disc of Tz. can join a unit of non fliers.
in this case you would not want to.
if not arabyan carpet would be limited
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/01 01:37:16
Subject: New Player confused by Disc of Tzeentch
|
 |
Terrifying Treeman
The Fallen Realm of Umbar
|
DukeRustfield wrote:I know a non-flying unit can't join a flying unit. Not sure if flying can't join non-flying. And I'm too lazy to look it up. But yeah, even if he could (and I doubt he can) he could only move 1 as that is his movement characteristic without flight.
I don't recall being in a unit preventing you from flying, its just M10 ignoring intervening terrain, if he joins an M4 unit, then he obviously can't move faster than that unless leaving the unit.
|
DT:90-S++G++M++B+IPw40k07+D+A+++/cWD-R+T(T)DM+
Horst wrote:This is how trolling happens. A few cheeky posts are made. Then they get more insulting. Eventually, we revert to our primal animal state, hurling feces at each other while shreeking with glee.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/01 03:01:04
Subject: Re:New Player confused by Disc of Tzeentch
|
 |
Irradiated Baal Scavanger
Bloomfield NJ
|
I was mostly looking at it in terms of survivalbility. If hes on his own I would think hes pretty easy to target and kill. For the speed part, it they are not flying I though the BRB says they use their move characteristic, which is 1. That why I feel, unfortunately, that in a unit they are M1. Here is hoping I am wrong lol.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/02 10:29:32
Subject: New Player confused by Disc of Tzeentch
|
 |
Bloodthirsty Chaos Knight
Edinburgh, Scotland
|
I thought that the disc can't join a unit but that may be just WoC disks and I may be wrong. Either way, you would use your move characteristic of 1, siince you are on the ground.
|
Nite |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/05 21:02:15
Subject: New Player confused by Disc of Tzeentch
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
A character, however mounted, may join a unit if he wants to. The "fly" rule states that characters may not join flying units. It does not prevent flying characters from joining non-flying units.
Note that he is Monstrous Cavalry and will not get a Look Out Sir roll against any templates that might hit the unit.
|
Manchu wrote:It's a lie, K_K, pure Imperial propaganda. Where's the Talon of Horus, huh? Plus everyone knows the Imperium planned and carried out the invasion of Cadia itself. Bin Abaddon was just a convenient scapegoat. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/05 23:10:05
Subject: New Player confused by Disc of Tzeentch
|
 |
Excellent Exalted Champion of Chaos
Lake Forest, California, South Orange County
|
Manfred von Drakken wrote:
More to the point, though: why put a character on a Disc just to stick him in a unit? Kinda defeats the purpose, yes?
Mounting it actually does a few things. I'm running my BSB on a disc with Mark of Tzeentch, Talis of Preservation, Enchanted Shield, and Third Eye of Tzeentch. That gives him a 1+ 3++ rerolling 1's on the ward save. With that setup, Lookout Sir isn't needed. It also allows some extra attacks from the disc, and the ability to change which unit he's in fairly quickly.
|
"Bryan always said that if the studio ever had to mix with the manufacturing and sales part of the business it would destroy the studio. And I have to say – he wasn’t wrong there! ... It’s become the promotions department of a toy company." -- Rick Priestly
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/06 18:48:35
Subject: New Player confused by Disc of Tzeentch
|
 |
Bloodthirsty Chaos Knight
Edinburgh, Scotland
|
Aerethan wrote: Manfred von Drakken wrote:
More to the point, though: why put a character on a Disc just to stick him in a unit? Kinda defeats the purpose, yes?
Mounting it actually does a few things. I'm running my BSB on a disc with Mark of Tzeentch, Talis of Preservation, Enchanted Shield, and Third Eye of Tzeentch. That gives him a 1+ 3++ rerolling 1's on the ward save. With that setup, Lookout Sir isn't needed. It also allows some extra attacks from the disc, and the ability to change which unit he's in fairly quickly.
I think the question was "why put him in a unit?" It doesn't seem to gain you much.
|
Nite |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/06 23:07:53
Subject: New Player confused by Disc of Tzeentch
|
 |
[DCM]
Tzeentch's Fan Girl
|
Aerethan wrote: Manfred von Drakken wrote:
More to the point, though: why put a character on a Disc just to stick him in a unit? Kinda defeats the purpose, yes?
Mounting it actually does a few things. I'm running my BSB on a disc with Mark of Tzeentch, Talis of Preservation, Enchanted Shield, and Third Eye of Tzeentch. That gives him a 1+ 3++ rerolling 1's on the ward save. With that setup, Lookout Sir isn't needed. It also allows some extra attacks from the disc, and the ability to change which unit he's in fairly quickly.
If that's the case, why not use Daemonic Steed with barding, Armor of Destiny, and enchanted shield? Same numbers, but you also get T5 and W3, plus better attacks from the mount.
Characters go into units for two reasons: to hide, or kill stuff. Chaos BSBs kill stuff; why not make him more survivable? On the flip side, I use a Disc with my Sorceror Lord to move about the battlefield to make his magic more effective and keep him OUT of combat.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/21 02:13:16
Subject: New Player confused by Disc of Tzeentch
|
 |
Omnipotent Lord of Change
|
Malleus wrote:Note that he is Monstrous Cavalry and will not get a Look Out Sir roll against any templates that might hit the unit.
He's actually Cavalry (so can be KB'd + no stomp), but yes, doesn't get LOS! in Infantry. Benefit of joining up is protection from direct fire stuff (hard counter magic missiles mostly), though he can help the unit frag stuff if it's about to be charged in the next turn anyway. - Salvage
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/11/21 02:13:53
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/21 02:29:00
Subject: Re:New Player confused by Disc of Tzeentch
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
? Arabian Carpet specifically states that the character can't join units.
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2013/11/21 02:30:44
|
|
 |
 |
|