Switch Theme:

Deathstrike missile and multi-level ruins, plus firing question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Shas'o Commanding the Hunter Kadre





Richmond, VA

So I'll just get right to it.

The IG Deathstrike missile has rules that state that all models within range of the impact point are hit (range being d3+3)
The missile has the blast rule, but that is where the asterix is, were this passage comes into play
Assuming the missile hits a vehicle that is next to a ruin, would models on the 2nd floor of the ruin be in range of the weapon?
My confusion comes from the fact that the "blast* " denoation seems to indicate these are specific rules that overrule multi-level targeting from the BRB.
I am quite aware the weapon is barrage, so it can only hit the upper levels of ruins if fired in that manner.

Also, when rolling to see if the missile can be fired every turn after turn 1, does this count as firing the weapon?

Thanks!

Desert Hunters of Vior'la The Purge Iron Hands Adepts of Pestilence Tallaran Desert Raiders Grey Knight Teleport Assault Force
Lt. Coldfire wrote:Seems to me that you should be refereeing and handing out red cards--like a boss.

 Peregrine wrote:
SCREEE I'M A SEAGULL SCREE SCREEEE!!!!!
 
   
Made in us
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter




Grand Rapids Metro

 juraigamer wrote:
So I'll just get right to it.

The IG Deathstrike missile has rules that state that all models within range of the impact point are hit (range being d3+3)
The missile has the blast rule, but that is where the asterix is, were this passage comes into play
Assuming the missile hits a vehicle that is next to a ruin, would models on the 2nd floor of the ruin be in range of the weapon?
My confusion comes from the fact that the "blast* " denoation seems to indicate these are specific rules that overrule multi-level targeting from the BRB.
I am quite aware the weapon is barrage, so it can only hit the upper levels of ruins if fired in that manner.

Also, when rolling to see if the missile can be fired every turn after turn 1, does this count as firing the weapon?

Thanks!


It would seem that the levels of ruins are still in effect. I don't see anything that negates it.

So I guess you could shoot Level Two and affect multiple ruins at once with such a blast?

Come play games in West Michigan at https://www.facebook.com/tcpgrwarroom 
   
Made in be
Kelne





That way,then left

Nothing changes the fact that blasts are "2 dimensionnal" in this game , only hitting a level.
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Deathstrike's specific rules override the normal rules. Everything within the rolled range will generate hits, regardless of the normal rules.
   
Made in us
Sure Space Wolves Land Raider Pilot




Pyrian wrote:
Deathstrike's specific rules override the normal rules. Everything within the rolled range will generate hits, regardless of the normal rules.


Nope, I wish it weren't so, but the Deathstrike Missile rules specifically say it has the Blast and Ordnance Barrage USRs, and have to follow those rules too. It's really good for clearing parking lots and gun lines though. Put 3 on a Skyshield Pad for kicks
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




 Lord Krungharr wrote:
Nope, I wish it weren't so, but the Deathstrike Missile rules specifically say it has the Blast and Ordnance Barrage USRs, and have to follow those rules too.
Oh, so it places a small marker and hits models under that marker? No. It hits what it says it hits.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Pyrian wrote:
 Lord Krungharr wrote:
Nope, I wish it weren't so, but the Deathstrike Missile rules specifically say it has the Blast and Ordnance Barrage USRs, and have to follow those rules too.
Oh, so it places a small marker and hits models under that marker? No. It hits what it says it hits.


It says its a d3+3 Blast. Blasts can only hit one level of a ruin.
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





Fragile wrote:
Pyrian wrote:
 Lord Krungharr wrote:
Nope, I wish it weren't so, but the Deathstrike Missile rules specifically say it has the Blast and Ordnance Barrage USRs, and have to follow those rules too.
Oh, so it places a small marker and hits models under that marker? No. It hits what it says it hits.


It says its a d3+3 Blast. Blasts can only hit one level of a ruin.

it has an apostrophe foot note that says everything with in d3+3" of the center is hit

codex overrides BRB

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/11/17 04:37:12


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Only where there is a conflict. There is no permission for this Blast to affect more than 1 level, hence no conflict.
   
Made in us
Shas'o Commanding the Hunter Kadre





Richmond, VA

It's not Blast though, it's Blast*

Blast* isn't in the BRB right?

Desert Hunters of Vior'la The Purge Iron Hands Adepts of Pestilence Tallaran Desert Raiders Grey Knight Teleport Assault Force
Lt. Coldfire wrote:Seems to me that you should be refereeing and handing out red cards--like a boss.

 Peregrine wrote:
SCREEE I'M A SEAGULL SCREE SCREEEE!!!!!
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Pg 414 of the BRB. Ordnance1, Barrage, d3+3 Blast, One use only*
   
Made in us
Shas'o Commanding the Hunter Kadre





Richmond, VA

You might wanna read the codex then.

Desert Hunters of Vior'la The Purge Iron Hands Adepts of Pestilence Tallaran Desert Raiders Grey Knight Teleport Assault Force
Lt. Coldfire wrote:Seems to me that you should be refereeing and handing out red cards--like a boss.

 Peregrine wrote:
SCREEE I'M A SEAGULL SCREE SCREEEE!!!!!
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




The BRB reference brings most weapons up to 6th, however there is no difference between the Codex and the BRB in this case. Again, the rules for Blasts and Ruins are clear. Nothing in the weapon rules says that it is allowed to affect multiple levels.
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Earth

I agree that as per the RAW it cant, I will allow it to though, as it seems to be the intention of the d3+3
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: