Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/25 03:32:41
Subject: HYWPI: Disorderd Charges
|
 |
Trustworthy Shas'vre
|
Can a single model EVER make a disordered charge? Can you position a model in such a way that you inadvertently touch a secondary target on your way to the primary target? Does this change depending on their base size as your charge lane gets wider?
Do you personally follow all the rules of disordered charges: that is:
"A charging model is not permitted to move into base contact with a model in a secondary target unless it cannot move into base contact with an unengaged model in the primary target."
This is one that I think the rules are fairly clear on: No, you CANNOT contact a secondary target unless no model can contact the primary target. Thus, a single model cannot possibly make a disordered charge, as being unable to contact its primary target means it could make no charge at all.
However, I ran into a lot of opposition at a local tournament the other day when I brought it up. It didn't affect my game (I'd already basically lost) but my opponent said that he'd lost a tournament a few weeks earlier when an opponent used the same move.
What say you, DakkaDakka? Is this the way that you play?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/25 04:07:52
Subject: Re:HYWPI: Disorderd Charges
|
 |
Devestating Grey Knight Dreadknight
|
It looks like you can't.
|
Hope is the first step on the road to disappointment. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/25 04:19:06
Subject: HYWPI: Disorderd Charges
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
No, a Single model may not ever make a disordered charge.
"Once Overwatch is resolved, find the initial charger for the primary assault (the model in the charging unit closest to the primary target) and attempt to move it into base contact with the primary target, just as you would against a single target" (28)(Emphasis mine)
can you contact any other units when charging a single target?
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/25 07:54:40
Subject: Re:HYWPI: Disorderd Charges
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
edit: did not see page 28.
No, you can't. With a single charging model you will never have an inability to place that model in base contact with an unengaged enemy model in the primary target and have a successful charge.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/11/25 08:01:09
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/02 22:30:22
Subject: Re:HYWPI: Disorderd Charges
|
 |
Irked Blood Angel Scout with Combat Knife
|
I am replying because I am surprised no one mentioned the but...
A single model can declare a Disordered Charge by Declaring Multi-charge with 2 different enemy units. Both enemy units get to overwatch and if the charge distance rolled is enough to make it to the primary target then the assault is successful. The single model can't make contact with the secondary target so will not engage it in combat.
This could be useful if say you wanted to have one less attack and no furious charge in order to hopefully not wipe the enemy unit on the charge and be left a sitting duck for return fire.
I can't remember where, but I think there was some pschyic power or special ability that made enemy unit count as disorded chage, and that would still work against a single model unit.
|
DD__EEE_N___N_N___N_Y_Y_1__8___22__4_4
D_D_E___NN__N_NN__N_Y_Y_1_8_8_2__2_4_4
D_D_EEE_N_N_N_N_N_N__Y__1__8____2__444
D_D_E___N__NN_N__NN__Y__1_8_8__2_____4
DD__EEE_N___N_N___N__Y__1__8__2222___4 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/02 22:57:17
Subject: Re:HYWPI: Disorderd Charges
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
denny1824 wrote:I am replying because I am surprised no one mentioned the but...
A single model can declare a Disordered Charge by Declaring Multi-charge with 2 different enemy units. Both enemy units get to overwatch and if the charge distance rolled is enough to make it to the primary target then the assault is successful. The single model can't make contact with the secondary target so will not engage it in combat.
This could be useful if say you wanted to have one less attack and no furious charge in order to hopefully not wipe the enemy unit on the charge and be left a sitting duck for return fire.
I can't remember where, but I think there was some pschyic power or special ability that made enemy unit count as disorded chage, and that would still work against a single model unit.
You must have missed my earlier post:
a Single model may not ever make a disordered charge.
"Once Overwatch is resolved, find the initial charger for the primary assault (the model in the charging unit closest to the primary target) and attempt to move it into base contact with the primary target, just as you would against a single target" (28)(Emphasis mine)
Can you contact any other units when charging a single target?
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/02 23:13:42
Subject: HYWPI: Disorderd Charges
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan
|
You're both sort of right. He can declare a Disordered Charge, and thus lose his bonus charge attack, furious charge, etc. But he'll never be able to actually charge multiple units for the reasons DeathReaper points out, so all he'll be doing is throwing those bonuses away.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/02 23:20:06
Subject: HYWPI: Disorderd Charges
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Could be handy if you wanted to keep the enemy alive until their assault phase ?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/03 00:08:58
Subject: HYWPI: Disorderd Charges
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
I don't think you can declare a charge target you cannot possibly reach.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/03 00:32:59
Subject: HYWPI: Disorderd Charges
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Pyrian wrote:I don't think you can declare a charge target you cannot possibly reach.
You are correct.
"A unit can never declare a charge against a unit that it cannot reach," (20)
Therefore you can not even declare a multi-charge with a single model. So you will always get your bonus attack when declaring a charge with a single model.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/03 02:32:26
Subject: HYWPI: Disorderd Charges
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Which applies to distance, as noted by the following sentence in that rule. Which may not apply in this case.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/03 03:41:37
Subject: HYWPI: Disorderd Charges
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
I don't think the following sentence constrains the rule. "This means...usually..." is hardly a get-out-of-rule free card.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/03 05:08:48
Subject: HYWPI: Disorderd Charges
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Pyrian wrote:I don't think the following sentence constrains the rule. "This means...usually..." is hardly a get-out-of-rule free card.
Exactly this.
"This means that a charge can usually only be declared on a unit up to 12" away" (20)
But usually is not all situations.
In this case you can not ever reach the second unit therefore you can not declare a charge against them.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/03 05:21:02
Subject: Re:HYWPI: Disorderd Charges
|
 |
Infiltrating Broodlord
|
If the model has range to charge either unit then they are both within reach and therefore valid targets for a charge. Don't confuse not being able to reach the second unit with it not being possible to have reached that unit.
Can you declare a charge on unit A? check range>5">Yes.
Can you declare a charge on unit B? check range>7">Yes.
Please explain how either unit can be considered 'out of reach'.
|
-It is not the strongest of the Tyranids that survive but the ones most adaptive to change. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/03 05:36:51
Subject: Re:HYWPI: Disorderd Charges
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Abandon wrote:If the model has range to charge either unit then they are both within reach and therefore valid targets for a charge. Don't confuse not being able to reach the second unit with it not being possible to have reached that unit.
Can you declare a charge on unit A? check range>5">Yes.
Can you declare a charge on unit B? check range>7">Yes.
Please explain how either unit can be considered 'out of reach'.
Not out of reach, cannot reach. "A unit can never declare a charge against a unit that it cannot reach," (20)
You cannot reach the second unit because you have to move into base contact with the first unit by the shortest route...
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/04 02:29:14
Subject: HYWPI: Disorderd Charges
|
 |
Trustworthy Shas'vre
|
How about some clever positioning and a large base...
Contact your charge target by the shortest route... and manage to just get your secondary target.
I know it would be next to impossible to pull off, but potentially it could work.. eg you are charging into the space which was previously occupied by a model of your same base size which died in a previous round of combat and your opponent didn't consolidate.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/04 02:34:27
Subject: HYWPI: Disorderd Charges
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan
|
Trasvi wrote:
How about some clever positioning and a large base...
Contact your charge target by the shortest route... and manage to just get your secondary target.
I know it would be next to impossible to pull off, but potentially it could work.. eg you are charging into the space which was previously occupied by a model of your same base size which died in a previous round of combat and your opponent didn't consolidate.
Not next to impossible, actually impossible. You must charge the first target with the closest model as if it's the only target. If it's the only target, you aren't allowed to end in base contact with any other unit. If you contact more than one unit with the closest model in the charging unit you are cheating.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/04 02:34:30
Subject: HYWPI: Disorderd Charges
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
Trasvi wrote:
How about some clever positioning and a large base...
Contact your charge target by the shortest route... and manage to just get your secondary target.
I know it would be next to impossible to pull off, but potentially it could work.. eg you are charging into the space which was previously occupied by a model of your same base size which died in a previous round of combat and your opponent didn't consolidate.
You not allowed to move within an 1" of an enemy model you aren't charging
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/04 02:53:15
Subject: HYWPI: Disorderd Charges
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
CrownAxe wrote:You not allowed to move within an 1" of an enemy model you aren't charging
That is not true, the rule is you can not bein base contact with amodel n a unit you are not charging. So you have to be at least 0.000000000001 inches away (Basically any distance that is not touching the base). Chrysis wrote:Trasvi wrote: How about some clever positioning and a large base... Contact your charge target by the shortest route... and manage to just get your secondary target. I know it would be next to impossible to pull off, but potentially it could work.. eg you are charging into the space which was previously occupied by a model of your same base size which died in a previous round of combat and your opponent didn't consolidate. Not next to impossible, actually impossible. You must charge the first target with the closest model as if it's the only target. If it's the only target, you aren't allowed to end in base contact with any other unit. If you contact more than one unit with the closest model in the charging unit you are cheating.
Chrysis is correct.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/12/04 02:54:21
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/04 06:49:21
Subject: HYWPI: Disorderd Charges
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
DeathReaper wrote: CrownAxe wrote:You not allowed to move within an 1" of an enemy model you aren't charging
That is not true, the rule is you can not bein base contact with amodel n a unit you are not charging.
So you have to be at least 0.000000000001 inches away (Basically any distance that is not touching the base).
.
That is incorrect, you cannot move within 1" of an enemy unless you are charging them.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/04 06:51:25
Subject: HYWPI: Disorderd Charges
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan
|
Fragile wrote: DeathReaper wrote: CrownAxe wrote:You not allowed to move within an 1" of an enemy model you aren't charging
That is not true, the rule is you can not bein base contact with amodel n a unit you are not charging.
So you have to be at least 0.000000000001 inches away (Basically any distance that is not touching the base).
.
That is incorrect, you cannot move within 1" of an enemy unless you are charging them.
I suggest you read the charge rules again. The 1" restriction is lifted on "Enemy models" not "models in the target unit." You can move within 1" of any enemy during a charge move, but aren't allowed to make base contact unless you're charging them. And when the closest model in a charging unit moves they are only charging one unit, no matter how many they declared against.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/04 08:54:06
Subject: HYWPI: Disorderd Charges
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Fragile wrote: DeathReaper wrote: CrownAxe wrote:You not allowed to move within an 1" of an enemy model you aren't charging
That is not true, the rule is you can not bein base contact with amodel n a unit you are not charging. So you have to be at least 0.000000000001 inches away (Basically any distance that is not touching the base). . That is incorrect, you cannot move within 1" of an enemy unless you are charging them.
As Chrysis said, please re-read the rules for charging. the 1 inch restriction is lifted when making charge moves. Ergo, you telling me I was incorrect, is incorrect.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/12/04 17:53:27
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/04 13:12:23
Subject: HYWPI: Disorderd Charges
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Fragile wrote: DeathReaper wrote: CrownAxe wrote:You not allowed to move within an 1" of an enemy model you aren't charging
That is not true, the rule is you can not bein base contact with amodel n a unit you are not charging.
So you have to be at least 0.000000000001 inches away (Basically any distance that is not touching the base).
.
That is incorrect, you cannot move within 1" of an enemy unless you are charging them.
You're thinking of fourth edition, that rule hasn't existed since then.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/06 01:04:54
Subject: Re:HYWPI: Disorderd Charges
|
 |
Infiltrating Broodlord
|
I'm just pointing out that if unit A can be reached by a charge and unit B can be reached by a charge. Both are valid targets for a charge. As all charges are declared at once and both are within reach the attacking unit is permitted to declare a disordered charge. No rule differentiates a unit of one model from a unit with multiple models in this regard.
The rule restricting you from declaring a charge on a unit you cannot reach does not stop you because both targets indeed can be reached right up until a charge is declared. Since "all targets being charged by the unit must be declared at the same time" neither is eliminated as a potential target that can be reached until after the the charge has been declared. Only at that time can it be said that the unit with only one model 'cannot reach' the second target.
At the time you declare your charge, both units can be reached.
|
-It is not the strongest of the Tyranids that survive but the ones most adaptive to change. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/06 05:10:26
Subject: Re:HYWPI: Disorderd Charges
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Abandon wrote:I'm just pointing out that if unit A can be reached by a charge and unit B can be reached by a charge. Both are valid targets for a charge. As all charges are declared at once and both are within reach the attacking unit is permitted to declare a disordered charge. No rule differentiates a unit of one model from a unit with multiple models in this regard.
This is of course false as the rules have shown. Both are not in reach as you have to move the initial charger just as you would against a single target. If you are a single model then there is no way to reach the 2nd unit, therefore you may never even declare a multi-charge with a single model.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/12/06 05:11:59
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/06 06:41:13
Subject: Re:HYWPI: Disorderd Charges
|
 |
Infiltrating Broodlord
|
DeathReaper wrote: Abandon wrote:I'm just pointing out that if unit A can be reached by a charge and unit B can be reached by a charge. Both are valid targets for a charge. As all charges are declared at once and both are within reach the attacking unit is permitted to declare a disordered charge. No rule differentiates a unit of one model from a unit with multiple models in this regard.
This is of course false as the rules have shown. Both are not in reach as you have to move the initial charger just as you would against a single target.
If you are a single model then there is no way to reach the 2nd unit, therefore you may never even declare a multi-charge with a single model.
This is only true after you have declared your charge. At the time of declaration, both are valid targets for a charge.
|
-It is not the strongest of the Tyranids that survive but the ones most adaptive to change. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/06 17:39:09
Subject: Re:HYWPI: Disorderd Charges
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Abandon wrote: DeathReaper wrote: Abandon wrote:I'm just pointing out that if unit A can be reached by a charge and unit B can be reached by a charge. Both are valid targets for a charge. As all charges are declared at once and both are within reach the attacking unit is permitted to declare a disordered charge. No rule differentiates a unit of one model from a unit with multiple models in this regard.
This is of course false as the rules have shown. Both are not in reach as you have to move the initial charger just as you would against a single target.
If you are a single model then there is no way to reach the 2nd unit, therefore you may never even declare a multi-charge with a single model.
This is only true after you have declared your charge. At the time of declaration, both are valid targets for a charge.
Taking all rules into account they are not both valid targets as you can not reach two different units with a single model.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/06 18:17:16
Subject: Re:HYWPI: Disorderd Charges
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
The RAW seems to have certain phrases which disallow disorganized charges from single units:
"If the initial charger successfully moves into base contact with the
primary target, remaining models can charge models belonging
to either the primary or secondary target units"
This seems to indicate only multi-model units are capable of a disorganized charge.
Then there is also this curiosity:
"That said, a charging
model is not permitted to move into base contact with a model in
a secondary target, unless it cannot move into base contact with
an unengaged modei in the primary target."
This seems to insinuate that NO model may EVER assault in such a way that its base ends up in base contact with more than one unit! If you can reach the primary unit, you HAVE to assault the primary unit, WITHOUT touching the secondary! You CANNOT assault the secondary if you can reach the primary!
This could result in odd situations, especially for larger base models... where you COULD move into base contact with the primary unit, but ONLY if you also move within base contact of the secondary unit as well! The rules seem to indicate that a model in this situation CAN'T MOVE, which is pretty odd.
It seems more logical to me that if you meet the condition for "move into base contact with the Primary Unit" then this frees you to also assault the secondary unit at the same time if possible.
However, I think what precludes even LARGE bases from multi-assaulting is the "Shortest Distance Possible" rule for the initial charger. The models would have to be PERFECTLY aligned for you to assault both primary and secondary units going by the shortest route possible. In 99% of the cases, you'd need to move SLIGHTLY to the left or the right in order to contact the secondary unit. That's not the shortest route, so I don't think you can do it.
If a single model does NOT have to abide by the "shortest route" roll, then weird things can happen.
You could assault a model 2" in front of you, roll an "8" for your assault move, and then assault the unit in front of you AND a unit that is close BEHIND that unit. I don't think it's the intention to allow single models to make this kind of an Assault. If you don't have to abide by the "shortest distance" rule, then you CAN make this kind of assault, so I think that's a good practical "real world" example of why the rules don't intend to let you do it.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/07 03:49:43
Subject: Re:HYWPI: Disorderd Charges
|
 |
Infiltrating Broodlord
|
DeathReaper wrote: Abandon wrote: DeathReaper wrote: Abandon wrote:I'm just pointing out that if unit A can be reached by a charge and unit B can be reached by a charge. Both are valid targets for a charge. As all charges are declared at once and both are within reach the attacking unit is permitted to declare a disordered charge. No rule differentiates a unit of one model from a unit with multiple models in this regard.
This is of course false as the rules have shown. Both are not in reach as you have to move the initial charger just as you would against a single target.
If you are a single model then there is no way to reach the 2nd unit, therefore you may never even declare a multi-charge with a single model.
This is only true after you have declared your charge. At the time of declaration, both are valid targets for a charge.
Taking all rules into account they are not both valid targets as you can not reach two different units with a single model.
So at the time of declaration, which one cannot be reached A or B?
|
-It is not the strongest of the Tyranids that survive but the ones most adaptive to change. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/07 03:51:12
Subject: Re:HYWPI: Disorderd Charges
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Abandon wrote: DeathReaper wrote: Abandon wrote: DeathReaper wrote: Abandon wrote:I'm just pointing out that if unit A can be reached by a charge and unit B can be reached by a charge. Both are valid targets for a charge. As all charges are declared at once and both are within reach the attacking unit is permitted to declare a disordered charge. No rule differentiates a unit of one model from a unit with multiple models in this regard.
This is of course false as the rules have shown. Both are not in reach as you have to move the initial charger just as you would against a single target.
If you are a single model then there is no way to reach the 2nd unit, therefore you may never even declare a multi-charge with a single model.
This is only true after you have declared your charge. At the time of declaration, both are valid targets for a charge.
Taking all rules into account they are not both valid targets as you can not reach two different units with a single model.
So at the time of declaration, which one cannot be reached A or B?
The one you are trying to declare as a secondary target.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
|