Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/07 17:08:52
Subject: Giant, yell and Brawl
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
So playing against Orges last night, we had a big melee early on. My giant got in there and was at the same time as his orges and I do my attack first rolling a 1. models in contact cannot fight and I win combat by one.
I played it as, models in contact cannot fight that turn, in3 or not because as it is my go I decide on the order when things happen at the same time (Did manage to find this rule in the book).
I win combat by 2 even though I had won by much more.
He could still do his supporting attacks as they are in contact with the giant.
Was this played correctly?.
|
40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/07 17:33:50
Subject: Re:Giant, yell and Brawl
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
Well Giants are I3. So would have gone before the Ogres who are I2. And Yell and Bawl is win by 2.
All attacks at the same Initiative step are simultaneous, you don't pick the order they occur, so anybody at I3 or higher will still get to attack when the Giant Yell and Bawls. The attacks just won't count towards combat resolution.
So say you charge a unit of 9 Ogres with a Bruiser with your Giant.
Bruiser and Giant are both I3. Giant rolls Yell and Bawl. Bruiser does 3 wounds to the Giant.
Ogres lose combat by 2 and take a test on Stubborn Ld8.
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/07 17:45:14
Subject: Giant, yell and Brawl
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
So even if I win by 8 they would still be testing -2 (ignoring stubborn/steadfast). Unlucky I managed to roll this quite a few times! (in fact every turn the giant was in combat bar one)
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/12/07 17:46:31
40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/07 17:50:21
Subject: Re:Giant, yell and Brawl
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
Yes, it wipes out all combat rez for both sides and makes his team win by 2.
However, if you can get rid of their Steadfast it can really screw them. Ld8 drops down to Ld6. And that's not good odds for passing.
Giants are really good at killing monsters by the way. They have higher Initiative than most monsters and the Big Things chart is really nasty.
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/21 01:43:26
Subject: Giant, yell and Brawl
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
So what would in theory if both side had a giant in tje same combat. And both rolled yell and bawl?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/21 18:03:52
Subject: Giant, yell and Brawl
|
 |
Gimlet-Eyed Inquisitorial Acolyte
Just outside the gates of hell
|
Then you would have a tie as they would both score 2 for combat resolution.
They both have the same initiative so they scram at each other together.
|
Dissent is not disloyalty.
Everyone is a genius, but if you judge a fish on its ability to climb a tree it will spend its whole life thinking it is stupid.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/21 18:34:00
Subject: Giant, yell and Brawl
|
 |
Killer Klaivex
Oceanside, CA
|
Peasant wrote:Then you would have a tie as they would both score 2 for combat resolution.
They both have the same initiative so they scram at each other together.
Which is why Chaos Giants are awesome; for a five points upgrade you get Initiative 4.
-Matt
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/21 19:59:47
Subject: Giant, yell and Brawl
|
 |
Agile Revenant Titan
In the Casualty section of a Blood Bowl dugout
|
This comes up all the time and the answer is so simple and plainly written out in the army book.
- If you are faster or equal speed to the Giant, you get to attack it as normal. If the Giant later yells and bawls, you win the combat by 2 (i.e. any other combat res becomes irrelevant) and no more blows are struck, as it clearly states in the army book.
- If a Giant yells and bawls and you've yet to make your attacks you don't get to attack, as it clearly states in the army book.
- (this is less obvious, admittedly) If two Giants both yell and bawl (which is possible because they attack at the same time), then they both "win the combat by two", hence they both draw.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|