Switch Theme:

D Weapons & Wound Allocation  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




If a single shot (non-blast) D weapon hits a unit of 1 wound infantry, and proceeds to roll a 2-5 on the chart, it will inflict D3+1 wounds on the model hit.

Does that mean that single model is just removed, or would excess wounds carry over to other models?
   
Made in im
Long-Range Land Speeder Pilot





in the given example only a single model would be removed, the others would be discarded.

   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Can you site your source with a technical rules explanation?
   
Made in be
Kelne





That way,then left

What does the D weapon table say? Does it say the unit loses X number of wounds or the model suffering that hit?
   
Made in nz
Disguised Speculo





Because everybody deserves to know how this stuff works;

If a weapon has a D instead of a Strength value in its profile, it means it is a Destroyer weapon. To resolve a Destroyer weapon’s attack, roll To Hit as you would for a standard attack. If the attack hits, roll on the table below instead of rolling To Wound or for armour penetration. No saving throws of any kind are allowed against damage from a Destroyer weapon, including special rolls such as Feel No Pain or Necron Reanimation Protocols.

D6 - 1
~Vehicle or Building - Clipped: The target suffers a penetrating hit.
~Non-vehicle - Lucky Escape: The model is unharmed.

D6 - 2-5
~Vehicle or Building - Solid Hit: A Super-heavy vehicle loses D3+1 Hull Points. Other vehicles suffer an Explodes! result from the Vehicle Damage table. Buildings suffer a Detonation! result from the Building Damage table.
~Non-vehicle - Seriously Wounded: The model loses D3+1 Wounds.

D6 - 6
~Vehicle or Building - Devastating Hit: As for Solid Hit, above, except a Super-heavy vehicle loses D6+6 Hull Points instead.
~Non-vehicle - Deathblow: The model loses D6+6 Wounds.


Keyword is "the model". So nah, D weapons are broken, but at least the broken-ness stops here.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




If you read on, you will find the following piece concerning vortex:

"A weapon with this special rule is a Destroy weapon and uses a blast marker of some type. Place the appropriate marker, roll for scatter and apply damage (see Destroyer Weapons above). For determining wound allocation, always assume the shot is coming from the centre of the marker, in the same manner as a Barrage weapon.

This specifically states you allocate from the center of the blast. So, I think you would determine how many wounds are caused by rolling for each model, and begin allocating from the center. There is no reason to believe a direct hit would work differently. You would roll, and on a 6 would do D6+6 wounds to the unit, allocating from the closest.

   
Made in us
Combat Jumping Tiger Soldier






Great Falls, MT

Aftermath. wrote:
If you read on, you will find the following piece concerning vortex:

"A weapon with this special rule is a Destroy weapon and uses a blast marker of some type. Place the appropriate marker, roll for scatter and apply damage (see Destroyer Weapons above). For determining wound allocation, always assume the shot is coming from the centre of the marker, in the same manner as a Barrage weapon.

This specifically states you allocate from the center of the blast. So, I think you would determine how many wounds are caused by rolling for each model, and begin allocating from the center. There is no reason to believe a direct hit would work differently. You would roll, and on a 6 would do D6+6 wounds to the unit, allocating from the closest.



It's not d6+6 wounds to the unit it's D6+6 wounds to the model.

Kuy'arda Cadre- 13741pts

Japanese Sectoiral Army painting thread  
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Springfield, VA

 Enigma Crisis wrote:
Aftermath. wrote:
If you read on, you will find the following piece concerning vortex:

"A weapon with this special rule is a Destroy weapon and uses a blast marker of some type. Place the appropriate marker, roll for scatter and apply damage (see Destroyer Weapons above). For determining wound allocation, always assume the shot is coming from the centre of the marker, in the same manner as a Barrage weapon.

This specifically states you allocate from the center of the blast. So, I think you would determine how many wounds are caused by rolling for each model, and begin allocating from the center. There is no reason to believe a direct hit would work differently. You would roll, and on a 6 would do D6+6 wounds to the unit, allocating from the closest.



It's not d6+6 wounds to the unit it's D6+6 wounds to the model.


which then enters the wound pool for the unit...


EDIT: unless I am stuck in 5th edition :/

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/12/09 03:08:29


 
   
Made in us
Combat Jumping Tiger Soldier






Great Falls, MT

 Unit1126PLL wrote:
 Enigma Crisis wrote:
Aftermath. wrote:
If you read on, you will find the following piece concerning vortex:

"A weapon with this special rule is a Destroy weapon and uses a blast marker of some type. Place the appropriate marker, roll for scatter and apply damage (see Destroyer Weapons above). For determining wound allocation, always assume the shot is coming from the centre of the marker, in the same manner as a Barrage weapon.

This specifically states you allocate from the center of the blast. So, I think you would determine how many wounds are caused by rolling for each model, and begin allocating from the center. There is no reason to believe a direct hit would work differently. You would roll, and on a 6 would do D6+6 wounds to the unit, allocating from the closest.



It's not d6+6 wounds to the unit it's D6+6 wounds to the model.


which then enters the wound pool for the unit...


EDIT: unless I am stuck in 5th edition :/

The exact wording of the Destroyer table for non-vehicle says.
pg 72 says.." the model looses on a or of 205 D3+1 wounds a roll of a 6 D6+6 wounds."

HIWPI you roll for each model individually discarding the extra wounds.

Kuy'arda Cadre- 13741pts

Japanese Sectoiral Army painting thread  
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





 Unit1126PLL wrote:
 Enigma Crisis wrote:
Aftermath. wrote:
If you read on, you will find the following piece concerning vortex:

"A weapon with this special rule is a Destroy weapon and uses a blast marker of some type. Place the appropriate marker, roll for scatter and apply damage (see Destroyer Weapons above). For determining wound allocation, always assume the shot is coming from the centre of the marker, in the same manner as a Barrage weapon.

This specifically states you allocate from the center of the blast. So, I think you would determine how many wounds are caused by rolling for each model, and begin allocating from the center. There is no reason to believe a direct hit would work differently. You would roll, and on a 6 would do D6+6 wounds to the unit, allocating from the closest.



It's not d6+6 wounds to the unit it's D6+6 wounds to the model.


which then enters the wound pool for the unit...


EDIT: unless I am stuck in 5th edition :/


wounds can only be allocated from wound pools. wounds can not be allocated from another model and do not go back to the wound pool

its why ID+vulnerable to blasts only kills 1 base now instead of 2 like it did in 5th
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




State actual rules please, not opinions.

Right now, the rules are written as follows:

"A weapon with this special rule is a Destroyer weapon and uses a blast marker of some type. Place the appropriate marker, roll for scatter and apply damage (see Destroyer Weapons above). For determining wound allocation, always assume the shot is coming from the center of the marker, in the same manner as a Barrage weapon."

Unless the Apocalypse designer was high, this clearly states that there is wound allocation with D weapons.


I can find no Page or Quote in the BRB that states if an individual model suffers multiple wounds, overkill wounds do not go into a wound pool.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/12/09 03:57:51


 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Yes, there is wound allocation.
D blast causes 3 hits. First model is allocated a wound - roll on the chart. Continue from there. There's still no permission to put overflow wounds back in the pool. That's what you need to find.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





Aftermath. wrote:
State actual rules please, not opinions.

Right now, the rules are written as follows:

"A weapon with this special rule is a Destroyer weapon and uses a blast marker of some type. Place the appropriate marker, roll for scatter and apply damage (see Destroyer Weapons above). For determining wound allocation, always assume the shot is coming from the center of the marker, in the same manner as a Barrage weapon."

Unless the Apocalypse designer was high, this clearly states that there is wound allocation with D weapons.


I can find no Page or Quote in the BRB that states if an individual model suffers multiple wounds, overkill wounds do not go into a wound pool.


I don't see what the rule quoted has any barring on the question at hand since

A) It only states that you allocate wounds like a barrage and barrage doesn't say anything about allocating overflow wounds being allocated to other models
B) This is clearly intended to show that on D blasts the closest guy comes from the middle of the blast instead of from the firer like blasts normally would
C) The rule would have no clarification on non-blast D-weapons
D) The rule does not outright say that D-weapons allocate overflow wounds to other models.

As for the not stating opinions. Show me the rule where you do allocate extra wounds from a model to another model because you can't. There is no rule giving you permission to do so such. As such you don't get to do it. This is held up by the precedent given from the BRB FAQ regarding Swarms and Instant Death templates where you do not get to allocate the 2nd wound created by Vulnerable to Blasts to another model and so you can not instant death two models with 1 unsaved wound

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/12/09 04:15:12


 
   
Made in us
Sure Space Wolves Land Raider Pilot




Don't have my Apoc book with me up here, but if the D weapon rules say it's treated as Barrage, then that does seem to make things more complicated. If I am recalling it correctly, and I think I am, the rules for wounding with D weapons say a D6 for each model hit is rolled for on the table, so I think treating it as Barrage is pointless, since cover saves can't be taken anyway. But perhaps for sniping certain models with special effects first that could be important, though I'm unsure what models would have anything to help against D weapons!

Thus, if the D blast hits 3 models in a unit, you roll a D6 for each model, and then each model suffers however many wounds the D table says. If the D blast only hits 1 model in a unit of multiple models, then only that model needs to have its fate rolled on the D table.
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

From the Main Rulebook FAQ:

Q: If a base of models with the Swarms special rule suffers a Wound from a Blast, Large Blast or Template weapon that would cause it to suffer Instant Death, does the fact that Wound is doubled to two Wounds mean that two bases should be removed instead of one? (p43)

A: No

Its similar enough that it sets a precedent that the excess wounds do not go back into the wound pool.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh






Dallas, TX

I think it's also worth noting that the poster was posting the rules for VORTEX weapons, which do destroyer hits but they do it a bit differently.

Destroyer weapons inflict their wounds from the direction of the firer like normal. It's the vortex weapons (are there any at all, amongst the Lords of War in the Escalation book?) that are treated like a barrage.

40k Armies I play:


Glory for Slaanesh!

 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






RAW we've got a problem. GW wrote Destroyer weapons from the perspective from shooting at a model, and the shooting rules from the perspective of shooting at a unit. With out rolling To Wound we never add any wounds to the wound pool. The chart does not tell us to add any wounds to the wound pool either. We are never given instruction or permission to allocate any of the wounds from Destroyer weapons. This must be an oversight from GW and its time to figure out the RAI.

The Destroyer chart replaces the To Wound roll step of resolving a shooting attack. It also tells us 'the model' not 'the unit' takes the wounds. Seems to me they expect us to allocate the hits in the same way you normally allocate the wounds. You then resolve each hit by rolling on the Destroyer chart and applying the result to model and only that model to which the hit was allocated. Excess wounds wounds would be lost.

In the situation the OP described only a single hit would be allocated and only a single model could take any wounds.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/12/09 09:51:02


 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 Spellbound wrote:
I think it's also worth noting that the poster was posting the rules for VORTEX weapons, which do destroyer hits but they do it a bit differently.

Destroyer weapons inflict their wounds from the direction of the firer like normal. It's the vortex weapons (are there any at all, amongst the Lords of War in the Escalation book?) that are treated like a barrage.

Well that's an interesting way to debate. Thanks for the clarification.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Impassive Inquisitorial Interrogator





Florida, USA

If you only hit one model, only one model can be removed. This is the same with shooting at a unit, if you can only see 2 models in the unit, you can only kill 2. GW of course explained this well in the Fantasy book... but since there were no weapons that did multiple wounds in the 40K book it seemed like they didn't need it... suppose they did.

Guardsman 1 - "Sergeant Tarv got vaporized by a Pulsar and his whole squad died just because...."
Guardsman 2 - "Damn you GW... damn you..."

You don't see da eyes of da Daemon, till him come callin'
- King Willy - Predator 2 
   
Made in ca
Homicidal Veteran Blood Angel Assault Marine




Toronto-Ont

Related question:

Since the weapon is S, do you get a FnP roll? FnP is not a save.... And if my math is right the letter D is not double any number....

skycapt44 wrote:
FYI optimus is the cheesiest player I know


DT:80S++++G+++M++B++IPw40k96#+D++A++++/mWD179R+++T(T)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Combat Jumping Tiger Soldier






Great Falls, MT

optimusprime14 wrote:
Related question:

Since the weapon is S, do you get a FnP roll? FnP is not a save.... And if my math is right the letter D is not double any number....


The rules for Str D also go onto say no FnP or RP rolls allowed.

Kuy'arda Cadre- 13741pts

Japanese Sectoiral Army painting thread  
   
Made in us
Perfect Shot Black Templar Predator Pilot






Newport News, VA

No inv save as well, correct?

 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Nothing that even seems like a save, at all. The apoc / escalation rules are exceptionally clear on this
   
Made in us
Shas'ui with Bonding Knife





Even Aun'va who can swat away Lascannons like gnats with his Paradox of Duality, can't ignore a D weapon.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: