Switch Theme:

GK question about Deep striking and combat squads  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




I had a question about deep striking and combat squads. The way i understand it it goes like this. 10 man Strike squad is placed into reserves. Turn 2 roll for reserves. They pass roll. Then decide if you are gonna combat squad the unit. Place 2 markers for the 2 separate units and scatter them both separately . I could be totally misinterpreting the rules. Just need some clarification.

Deepstrike Rule: pg 36 BRB
Reserves rule: pg 124 BRB
Combat squad FAQ : http://www.games-workshop.com/MEDIA_CustomProductCatalog/m2570043a_Grey_Knights_v1.1.pdf
   
Made in be
Kelne





That way,then left

You split the units before deploying. In your case you'd then have to tell your opponent if one or both units are in Reserves.
   
Made in gb
Annoyed Blood Angel Devastator




 B0B MaRlEy wrote:
You split the units before deploying. In your case you'd then have to tell your opponent if one or both units are in Reserves.


Not quite correct. You split them immediately before deployment (not deploying). RAW this is the phase specified in the rule book so you you should declare combat squads immediately before the deployment of your army. IIRC you cannot have one combat squad in reserve either, its both or none.
No-one I have played against (and used combat squads) has ever played it that way however, and have always combat squadded as the unit is placed on the table.

 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





spongemonkee wrote:
 B0B MaRlEy wrote:
You split the units before deploying. In your case you'd then have to tell your opponent if one or both units are in Reserves.


Not quite correct. You split them immediately before deployment (not deploying). RAW this is the phase specified in the rule book so you you should declare combat squads immediately before the deployment of your army. IIRC you cannot have one combat squad in reserve either, its both or none.
No-one I have played against (and used combat squads) has ever played it that way however, and have always combat squadded as the unit is placed on the table.

Once you've declared a combat squad the units are separate for all purposes, including determining Reserves.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in be
Kelne





That way,then left

Yeah, I should have said Deployement
   
Made in gb
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

spongemonkee wrote:
 B0B MaRlEy wrote:
You split the units before deploying. In your case you'd then have to tell your opponent if one or both units are in Reserves.


Not quite correct. You split them immediately before deployment (not deploying). RAW this is the phase specified in the rule book so you you should declare combat squads immediately before the deployment of your army. IIRC you cannot have one combat squad in reserve either, its both or none.
No-one I have played against (and used combat squads) has ever played it that way however, and have always combat squadded as the unit is placed on the table.
This isn't true any more.
Combat squads count as completely seperate, including for the number of units that can be placed in reserve.
The new C:SM states you combat squad before rolling for Warlord Trait.
   
Made in us
Boom! Leman Russ Commander






So yes, they deep strike as two separate units meaning that it is even possible for them to arrive on two separate turns.

clively wrote:
"EVIL INC" - hardly. More like "REASONABLE GOOD GUY INC". (side note: exalted)

Seems a few of you have not read this... http://www.dakkadakka.com/core/forum_rules.jsp 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 grendel083 wrote:
spongemonkee wrote:
 B0B MaRlEy wrote:
You split the units before deploying. In your case you'd then have to tell your opponent if one or both units are in Reserves.


Not quite correct. You split them immediately before deployment (not deploying). RAW this is the phase specified in the rule book so you you should declare combat squads immediately before the deployment of your army. IIRC you cannot have one combat squad in reserve either, its both or none.
No-one I have played against (and used combat squads) has ever played it that way however, and have always combat squadded as the unit is placed on the table.
This isn't true any more.
Combat squads count as completely seperate, including for the number of units that can be placed in reserve.
The new C:SM states you combat squad before rolling for Warlord Trait.

C:SM is irrelevant when discussing C:GK. C:GK has been errataed and does not combat squad before warlord traits.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in gb
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

rigeld2 wrote:
C:SM is irrelevant when discussing C:GK. C:GK has been errataed and does not combat squad before warlord traits.
Very true.
But the Grey Knight errata does state they count as seperate units for the purpose of calculating the number of reserves, which puts it at a similar time to warlord traits (ie before units are placed into reserve).

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/12/16 14:10:52


 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 grendel083 wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
C:SM is irrelevant when discussing C:GK. C:GK has been errataed and does not combat squad before warlord traits.
Very true.
But the Grey Knight errata does state they count as seperate units for the purpose of calculating the number of reserves, which puts it at a similar time to warlord traits (ie before units are placed into reserve).

Um. No? SM does it before Warlord Traits. GK does it before deploying. There's a big difference there.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in gb
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

rigeld2 wrote:
 grendel083 wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
C:SM is irrelevant when discussing C:GK. C:GK has been errataed and does not combat squad before warlord traits.
Very true.
But the Grey Knight errata does state they count as seperate units for the purpose of calculating the number of reserves, which puts it at a similar time to warlord traits (ie before units are placed into reserve).

Um. No? SM does it before Warlord Traits. GK does it before deploying. There's a big difference there.
It's still before units are placed into reserve. Otherwise the rule doesn't work, and they can't count towards the number of units in reserve. Not a big difference at all.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 grendel083 wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
 grendel083 wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
C:SM is irrelevant when discussing C:GK. C:GK has been errataed and does not combat squad before warlord traits.
Very true.
But the Grey Knight errata does state they count as seperate units for the purpose of calculating the number of reserves, which puts it at a similar time to warlord traits (ie before units are placed into reserve).

Um. No? SM does it before Warlord Traits. GK does it before deploying. There's a big difference there.
It's still before units are placed into reserve. Otherwise the rule doesn't work, and they can't count towards the number of units in reserve. Not a big difference at all.

Yes, they split before declaring reserves - which is during deployment. I think we're agreeing vehemently - but there is a difference in timing between the two. One you must do before seeing your opponents deployment (assuming he deploys first). The other you do after seeing his deployment.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in gb
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

Ah, quite right. I hadn't considered seeing your opponents deployment.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: