| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/15 11:28:06
Subject: GK question about Deep striking and combat squads
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
I had a question about deep striking and combat squads. The way i understand it it goes like this. 10 man Strike squad is placed into reserves. Turn 2 roll for reserves. They pass roll. Then decide if you are gonna combat squad the unit. Place 2 markers for the 2 separate units and scatter them both separately . I could be totally misinterpreting the rules. Just need some clarification.
Deepstrike Rule: pg 36 BRB
Reserves rule: pg 124 BRB
Combat squad FAQ : http://www.games-workshop.com/MEDIA_CustomProductCatalog/m2570043a_Grey_Knights_v1.1.pdf
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/15 12:46:26
Subject: GK question about Deep striking and combat squads
|
 |
Kelne
|
You split the units before deploying. In your case you'd then have to tell your opponent if one or both units are in Reserves.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/15 16:55:32
Subject: GK question about Deep striking and combat squads
|
 |
Annoyed Blood Angel Devastator
|
B0B MaRlEy wrote:You split the units before deploying. In your case you'd then have to tell your opponent if one or both units are in Reserves.
Not quite correct. You split them immediately before deployment (not deploying). RAW this is the phase specified in the rule book so you you should declare combat squads immediately before the deployment of your army. IIRC you cannot have one combat squad in reserve either, its both or none.
No-one I have played against (and used combat squads) has ever played it that way however, and have always combat squadded as the unit is placed on the table.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/15 17:03:55
Subject: GK question about Deep striking and combat squads
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
spongemonkee wrote: B0B MaRlEy wrote:You split the units before deploying. In your case you'd then have to tell your opponent if one or both units are in Reserves.
Not quite correct. You split them immediately before deployment (not deploying). RAW this is the phase specified in the rule book so you you should declare combat squads immediately before the deployment of your army. IIRC you cannot have one combat squad in reserve either, its both or none.
No-one I have played against (and used combat squads) has ever played it that way however, and have always combat squadded as the unit is placed on the table.
Once you've declared a combat squad the units are separate for all purposes, including determining Reserves.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/15 17:07:45
Subject: GK question about Deep striking and combat squads
|
 |
Kelne
|
Yeah, I should have said Deployement
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/16 12:05:54
Subject: GK question about Deep striking and combat squads
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
spongemonkee wrote: B0B MaRlEy wrote:You split the units before deploying. In your case you'd then have to tell your opponent if one or both units are in Reserves.
Not quite correct. You split them immediately before deployment (not deploying). RAW this is the phase specified in the rule book so you you should declare combat squads immediately before the deployment of your army. IIRC you cannot have one combat squad in reserve either, its both or none.
No-one I have played against (and used combat squads) has ever played it that way however, and have always combat squadded as the unit is placed on the table.
This isn't true any more.
Combat squads count as completely seperate, including for the number of units that can be placed in reserve.
The new C: SM states you combat squad before rolling for Warlord Trait.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/16 13:11:30
Subject: GK question about Deep striking and combat squads
|
 |
Boom! Leman Russ Commander
|
So yes, they deep strike as two separate units meaning that it is even possible for them to arrive on two separate turns.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/16 13:16:18
Subject: GK question about Deep striking and combat squads
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
grendel083 wrote:spongemonkee wrote: B0B MaRlEy wrote:You split the units before deploying. In your case you'd then have to tell your opponent if one or both units are in Reserves.
Not quite correct. You split them immediately before deployment (not deploying). RAW this is the phase specified in the rule book so you you should declare combat squads immediately before the deployment of your army. IIRC you cannot have one combat squad in reserve either, its both or none.
No-one I have played against (and used combat squads) has ever played it that way however, and have always combat squadded as the unit is placed on the table.
This isn't true any more.
Combat squads count as completely seperate, including for the number of units that can be placed in reserve.
The new C: SM states you combat squad before rolling for Warlord Trait.
C: SM is irrelevant when discussing C: GK. C: GK has been errataed and does not combat squad before warlord traits.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/16 14:10:08
Subject: GK question about Deep striking and combat squads
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
rigeld2 wrote:C: SM is irrelevant when discussing C: GK. C: GK has been errataed and does not combat squad before warlord traits.
Very true.
But the Grey Knight errata does state they count as seperate units for the purpose of calculating the number of reserves, which puts it at a similar time to warlord traits (ie before units are placed into reserve).
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/12/16 14:10:52
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/16 14:20:30
Subject: GK question about Deep striking and combat squads
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
grendel083 wrote:rigeld2 wrote:C: SM is irrelevant when discussing C: GK. C: GK has been errataed and does not combat squad before warlord traits.
Very true.
But the Grey Knight errata does state they count as seperate units for the purpose of calculating the number of reserves, which puts it at a similar time to warlord traits (ie before units are placed into reserve).
Um. No? SM does it before Warlord Traits. GK does it before deploying. There's a big difference there.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/16 19:16:39
Subject: GK question about Deep striking and combat squads
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
rigeld2 wrote: grendel083 wrote:rigeld2 wrote:C: SM is irrelevant when discussing C: GK. C: GK has been errataed and does not combat squad before warlord traits.
Very true.
But the Grey Knight errata does state they count as seperate units for the purpose of calculating the number of reserves, which puts it at a similar time to warlord traits (ie before units are placed into reserve).
Um. No? SM does it before Warlord Traits. GK does it before deploying. There's a big difference there.
It's still before units are placed into reserve. Otherwise the rule doesn't work, and they can't count towards the number of units in reserve. Not a big difference at all.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/16 19:22:12
Subject: GK question about Deep striking and combat squads
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
grendel083 wrote:rigeld2 wrote: grendel083 wrote:rigeld2 wrote:C: SM is irrelevant when discussing C: GK. C: GK has been errataed and does not combat squad before warlord traits.
Very true.
But the Grey Knight errata does state they count as seperate units for the purpose of calculating the number of reserves, which puts it at a similar time to warlord traits (ie before units are placed into reserve).
Um. No? SM does it before Warlord Traits. GK does it before deploying. There's a big difference there.
It's still before units are placed into reserve. Otherwise the rule doesn't work, and they can't count towards the number of units in reserve. Not a big difference at all.
Yes, they split before declaring reserves - which is during deployment. I think we're agreeing vehemently - but there is a difference in timing between the two. One you must do before seeing your opponents deployment (assuming he deploys first). The other you do after seeing his deployment.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/16 19:29:54
Subject: GK question about Deep striking and combat squads
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Ah, quite right. I hadn't considered seeing your opponents deployment.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|