| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/10 16:27:48
Subject: Doom and Darkness before Spirit Leech?
|
 |
Ghastly Grave Guard
|
If you cast Doom and Darkness on a unit with a leadership characteristic of 8, giving it -3 leadership, and then cast Spirit Leech on that same unit, which value do you use for resolving Spirit Leech? 5 or 8? The FAQ and Errata are ambiguous in my opinion.
|
1500
500
Vampire Counts 2400
300
Circle Orboros 20 |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/10 18:20:19
Subject: Re:Doom and Darkness before Spirit Leech?
|
 |
Shunting Grey Knight Interceptor
USA
|
The tourneys around here would use the 5 but personally I would say the 8. As the wording is both units use their "unmodified" leadership and the -3 penalty to me would be a modification that was given to make you ld5.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/10 19:07:08
Subject: Doom and Darkness before Spirit Leech?
|
 |
Kelne
|
To get the Ld 5 you have to modify their Ld 8 ...
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/10 19:40:41
Subject: Doom and Darkness before Spirit Leech?
|
 |
Crazed Savage Orc
Saginaw, MI
|
The FAQ messed unmodified leadership all up. It will be 5.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/10 21:11:13
Subject: Doom and Darkness before Spirit Leech?
|
 |
Courageous Silver Helm
|
Ambiguous. Two different FAQ entries say different things. Ask the TO or roll off.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/11 01:59:30
Subject: Doom and Darkness before Spirit Leech?
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
the FAQ only allows for IP to change unmodified LD. doom and darkness before spirit leech would have no change
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/11 11:10:15
Subject: Doom and Darkness before Spirit Leech?
|
 |
Sinister Shapeshifter
The Lair of Vengeance....Poole.
|
TinTip wrote:the FAQ only allows for IP to change unmodified LD. doom and darkness before spirit leech would have no change The latest FAQ also states that the unmodified LD is the highest in the unit. This means that Doom and Darkness would drop the unmodified LD. This also means that GW don't know what the word unmodified means.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/01/11 11:10:50
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/11 11:25:29
Subject: Doom and Darkness before Spirit Leech?
|
 |
Ghastly Grave Guard
|
For those that are saying 8, if you're supposed to use the unmodified leadership of the model, how do you explain the fact that Inspiring Presence works on the model in question?
|
1500
500
Vampire Counts 2400
300
Circle Orboros 20 |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/11 16:53:15
Subject: Doom and Darkness before Spirit Leech?
|
 |
Killer Klaivex
Oceanside, CA
|
No correct answer. We have conflicting FAQ's.
IMO, they should just do away with "unmodified" altogether, it would make everything more clear.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/11 17:21:42
Subject: Doom and Darkness before Spirit Leech?
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
thedarkavenger wrote:TinTip wrote:the FAQ only allows for IP to change unmodified LD. doom and darkness before spirit leech would have no change
The latest FAQ also states that the unmodified LD is the highest in the unit. This means that Doom and Darkness would drop the unmodified LD.
you should read the whole rule
"Your unmodified Leadership is the highest Leadership
characteristic in the unit. So the Leadership from any
characters in the unit itself ( but not from outside the unit, from
Inspiring Presence for example) with a higher Leadership can
be used unless specifically stated otherwise."
so this FAQ applies, and the newest one only changes unmodified for Spells being effected by IP, not by any other source
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/01/11 18:59:02
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/11 18:20:06
Subject: Doom and Darkness before Spirit Leech?
|
 |
Inspiring Icon Bearer
|
Good post TinTip.
I'm going to tack on a thing here.
If you cast that spell on a Skaven Warlord, does Strength in Numbers apply to him?
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/11 18:58:21
Subject: Doom and Darkness before Spirit Leech?
|
 |
Killer Klaivex
Oceanside, CA
|
So my Ld5 night goblins are in range of my general.
My general is LD9, in a unit with the banner of discipline.
The generals Inspiring Presence is LD10.
What Ld do the night goblins use for unmodified?
-Matt
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/11 19:00:43
Subject: Doom and Darkness before Spirit Leech?
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
Unless they are casting a spell they would use their LD 5. If they were casting a spell they could use his LD assuming they are within his IP range, which would be 10 thanks to the banner
@Thunderfrog due to the last line stating it has to specifically state otherwise, and that it doesnt specify Strength in numbers I would say no. Also because strength in numbers is only for LD tests.
|
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/01/11 19:18:25
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/11 19:52:48
Subject: Doom and Darkness before Spirit Leech?
|
 |
Crazed Savage Orc
Saginaw, MI
|
HawaiiMatt wrote:So my Ld5 night goblins are in range of my general.
My general is LD9, in a unit with the banner of discipline.
The generals Inspiring Presence is LD10.
What Ld do the night goblins use for unmodified?
-Matt
If being hit by Spirit Leech, It will be LD 10 because of FAQ pg 10,
Q: Do units benefit from their General’s Inspiring Presence for the
purposes of spells that use Leadership, such as Spirit Leech or
Okkam’s Mindrazor? (p107)
A: Yes
.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|