Switch Theme:

Is the Void Shield Generator making Bubbles or Cyclinders?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity





East Coast, USA

I apologize if this has been brought up before, but I don't recall having seen the answer specifically.

Everyone seems to agree that the footprint of a Void Shield Zone is equal to the area of the Void Shield Generator's footprint PLUS the area fully within 12" of the building's base.

In terms of the vertical, is the protection just a flat 12" tall, or would it mirror the slope of the building's walls?

Scenario #1
We are saying the protection is vertical. A Grey Knights Dreadknight is placed such that the base is at the very edge of the 12" of protection. Since the protection is vertical, the entirety of the model is contained within the zone and the model should benefit from the Void Shields.

Scenario #2
We are saying the protection matches the slope of the building. A Grey Knights Dreadknight is placed such that the base is at the very edge of the 12" of protection. Since the protection is not vertical and potentially curves away from the edge dependent upon the slope of the generating building, portions of the model might not be contained within the protective bubble. Would the model benefit from the Void Shields in this case?

My belief is that Scenario #2 is the correct scenario. If this is the case, how would I handle shooting at a model where the upper portions of the model are outside of the protective zone? Am I allowed to draw line of sight to portions that are "sticking out" even if the base is completed covered? This is extremely relevent for taller models such as Wraithknights, Riptides, most Lords of War, etc.

What do you think? RAW, RAI and HYWPI welcome.


Check out my website. Editorials! Tutorials! Fun Times To Be Had! - kriswallminis.com


https://www.thingiverse.com/KrisWall/about


Completed Trades With: ultraatma 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Non-vehicles, the only thing that matters is range to the base. If the entire base is inside the bubble, the model is inside the bubble.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity





East Coast, USA

Ok, that's what I thought as well. How about for vehicles? Something like a Warhound.

Also, for Flyers, does the entire model have to be within the protective zone or just the base?

Check out my website. Editorials! Tutorials! Fun Times To Be Had! - kriswallminis.com


https://www.thingiverse.com/KrisWall/about


Completed Trades With: ultraatma 
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

From a Rule as Written perspective, it will create a bubble in the exact same shape as the building. The rule states you measure from a point on the exterior of the building, so permission to measure from any point is granted. As the 12 inch radius is directly dependant on measuring outwards from that point, it will always stop 12 inches from that point. Should your shield generator have something like four posts on the corners, lets say it is a necron void generator as they like their spires, then measuring straight up from the top of a spire is going to get you a different 'ceiling' then measuring from the battlements below that spire. Like wise, should the face have a bit that juts out then the shield will jut out in a similar way all because we are measuring from that point.

Sadly, I have come to conclude that Game Workshop only writes rules with 2 dimensions in mind so this is going to create a 'grey area' when it comes to models that are larger then the bubble itself, maybe not all of them but there will always be at least a handful....

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/01/13 16:52:31


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in us
Abhorrent Grotesque Aberration





There is no sloping bubble. There is nothing in the rules that define what a bubble is and certainly no indication of any "sloping" that may occur.

It's 12" out. If the base of the unit is within that bubble (don't recall the exact text right now so I don't know if "partially" applies) then you are protected.

Assuming it says "partially", then even if just the toe of a warhound is inside the 12" area then it's protected.

As JinxDragon said, the vast majority of GW's rules really only work if you consider it a 2D field. Consider that the "top" of the 12" area ends somewhere near the moon and you'll be good. The only real 3D rule that I've seen is the 45 degree's up/down that a flyer can shoot in. And, no, I'm not counting declaring that a flamer is hitting the second level (only) to be a decent example of a 3D rule.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/01/13 23:10:14


------------------
"Why me?" Gideon begged, falling to his knees.
"Why not?" - Asdrubael Vect 
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

Cliverly,
That 45 degree one of the few that I know of as well, and I think the fact the Writer penned that it would 'in the rare cases...' is testimony to how under-evaluated the third dimension was, twice so given the use of fliers in this edition. I do think that it creates a bubble though, but that it was an unintended side effect of the way the rule was written. This is because we are informed the effect ends 12 inch away from the hull of the building, so if I measure from a point on top straight up then it would end 12 inches into the air. What this means for a model when it is being targeted, particularly vehicles that measure to the hull and not to a base, is one of those wonderful 'gray areas' thanks to this lack of 3rd dimensional consideration.

8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: