| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/18 04:47:42
Subject: Curse of the Horned One on Army builder
|
 |
Crafty Clanrat
|
My buddy said he saw that CotHO was listed as having a hex spell type. Its my understanding that 7th ed spells don't have a type except magic missiles. I can't really find anything that GW has published that indicates an actual type for that spell. Anyone know something I don't or is this just an error on part of the army builder?
|
Ppl see 4d6 casualties and think its limburger dick |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/18 05:01:35
Subject: Curse of the Horned One on Army builder
|
 |
Terrifying Treeman
The Fallen Realm of Umbar
|
All spells from previous editions will detail in their descriptions how they work, but I don't remember a spell called curse of the horned one.
|
DT:90-S++G++M++B+IPw40k07+D+A+++/cWD-R+T(T)DM+
Horst wrote:This is how trolling happens. A few cheeky posts are made. Then they get more insulting. Eventually, we revert to our primal animal state, hurling feces at each other while shreeking with glee.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/18 15:33:24
Subject: Curse of the Horned One on Army builder
|
 |
Crafty Clanrat
|
You may know it as The Dreaded 13th. 4d6 casualties. Only affects infantry.
|
Ppl see 4d6 casualties and think its limburger dick |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/22 09:02:20
Subject: Curse of the Horned One on Army builder
|
 |
Sniping Hexa
Dublin
|
Army builder or any other of those softwares are not reliable at all and should never be fully trusted
Dreaded 13th has no spell type, in fact, not a single Skaven spell has any type, even though some could get a type sticked on them
The only restriction with Dreaded 13th is that it has to target a unit, so cannot be used against an enemy unit in CC unless it's only in CC agaisnt Slaves, as usual
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/23 14:44:24
Subject: Curse of the Horned One on Army builder
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
TanKoL wrote:Army builder or any other of those softwares are not reliable at all and should never be fully trusted
Dreaded 13th has no spell type, in fact, not a single Skaven spell has any type, even though some could get a type sticked on them
The only restriction with Dreaded 13th is that it has to target a unit, so cannot be used against an enemy unit in CC unless it's only in CC agaisnt Slaves, as usual
For starters, 'magic missile' existed as a spell type in previous editions and can be found in older Lore's; Warp Lightning would be a great example.
Secondly, you can only cast a (non-hex/augment) spell into combat if the spell specifically says so. I believe the rule about shooting at Slaves only applies to shooting, and so the Dreaded 13th cannot be cast into a combat with them.
|
She/Her
"There are no problems that cannot be solved with cannons." - Chief Engineer Boris Krauss of Nuln
LatheBiosas wrote:I have such a difficult time hitting my opponents... setting them on fire seems so much simpler.
Kid_Kyoto wrote:"Don't be a dick" and "This is a family wargame" are good rules of thumb.
DR:80S++G++M--B+IPwhfb01#+D+++A+++/fWD258R++T(D)DM+++
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/23 14:50:29
Subject: Curse of the Horned One on Army builder
|
 |
Cold-Blooded Saurus Warrior
|
Manfred von Drakken wrote:TanKoL wrote:Army builder or any other of those softwares are not reliable at all and should never be fully trusted
Dreaded 13th has no spell type, in fact, not a single Skaven spell has any type, even though some could get a type sticked on them
The only restriction with Dreaded 13th is that it has to target a unit, so cannot be used against an enemy unit in CC unless it's only in CC agaisnt Slaves, as usual
For starters, 'magic missile' existed as a spell type in previous editions and can be found in older Lore's; Warp Lightning would be a great example.
Secondly, you can only cast a (non-hex/augment) spell into combat if the spell specifically says so. I believe the rule about shooting at Slaves only applies to shooting, and so the Dreaded 13th cannot be cast into a combat with them.
Re-read the section on targeting restrictions and non typed spells in the BRB. You most certainly can cast Dreaded 13th into combat as the spell description itself doesn't say you can't. (This assumes I am remembering correctly it doesn't haVe a type and doesn't say unengaged in the description.)
Search for threads on this topic as there are many of them.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/01/23 14:56:55
I suggest you don't believe anything posted by thedarkavenger unless confirmed by other regular posters here at Dakka. He has shown he is incapable of basic English comprehension.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/23 14:58:08
Subject: Re:Curse of the Horned One on Army builder
|
 |
Sniping Hexa
Dublin
|
I'm sorry but you're wrong in the way you associate the BRB rules to the way the Skaven spells work
you cannot target a unit that is engaged in CC except if there's only Slaves on the Skaven side, it's true
Also expendable doesn't specify shooting attacks but ranged attacks, which is a vague reference to anything that ain't CC (the Skaven book is horribly written, I agree with that)
Also, lots of Skaven spells can be cast into combat as they don't target a unit, Scorch or Crack's Call for instance, same as you can shoot Flame-Throwers into CC as it's not forbidden (even without Slaves) or a Doomrocket as you don't target anything (on the other hand, the Brass Orb states that it's used as a stone-thrower, so cannot be shot into a non-slave CC).
You simply target "a point on the battlefield" or "give a direction and then roll for range" (like Vortexes), exactly like a cannon, except that a cannon has a specific rule saying it cannot be shot in any way that would hit your own units / a melee (except if it's Slaves, as usual)
Plague for instance is a specific case where it can be cast into any melee because it's specifically written, the other spells simply don't have type and don't have the limitations
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/23 15:20:01
Subject: Re:Curse of the Horned One on Army builder
|
 |
Cold-Blooded Saurus Warrior
|
There is the rub, "Ranged Attack" is never defined. By your definition, you can't cast BRB hexes on those units either as it is not a CC attack and the Skaven book is more specific than the BRB. The BRB shays you can cast hexes into a combat, the Skaven rule says you can't except combats with only Slaves (much more specific). The way that is written is an exception and not meant to be a replacement rule, IMO, but poorly written rules are poorly written.
The FAQ, while far from definitive specifically mentions shooting at the unit, not casting spells.
With all of this said, I don't mind the idea of not casting 13th into combat. GW should have just FAQ'd a type onto all of the spells that could take one. It would have been much cleaner to make the 13th a Direct Damage and call it a day, but they chose not to :(
|
I suggest you don't believe anything posted by thedarkavenger unless confirmed by other regular posters here at Dakka. He has shown he is incapable of basic English comprehension.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/23 19:24:42
Subject: Curse of the Horned One on Army builder
|
 |
Crafty Clanrat
|
With the brass orb. I'd disagree. Its not a magic weapon its an enchanted item that's used in the shooting phase and it works out like a stone thrower. You can't stand and shoot with it but you should be able to march and throw it, throw it into CC.
I can't add anything to this that hasn't been said. For craps and giggles, I called the GW hotline a couple of times since posting this. They're pretty mixed up about it. 1 yes 1 no.
|
Ppl see 4d6 casualties and think its limburger dick |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/23 19:33:42
Subject: Curse of the Horned One on Army builder
|
 |
Cosmic Joe
|
They still have a hotline?
Thought they decided to stop embarrassing themselves.
|
Nosebiter wrote:Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/23 21:08:18
Subject: Curse of the Horned One on Army builder
|
 |
Crafty Clanrat
|
hahaha. no they're keeping it up!
|
Ppl see 4d6 casualties and think its limburger dick |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/23 22:27:57
Subject: Curse of the Horned One on Army builder
|
 |
Cold-Blooded Saurus Warrior
|
HoverBoy wrote:They still have a hotline?
Thought they decided to stop embarrassing themselves.
They have an email for questions as well. It is about what you would expect from what I understand
|
I suggest you don't believe anything posted by thedarkavenger unless confirmed by other regular posters here at Dakka. He has shown he is incapable of basic English comprehension.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/24 07:35:17
Subject: Curse of the Horned One on Army builder
|
 |
Sniping Hexa
Dublin
|
The brass orb "works like a stone thrower", you said it yourself
a stone thrower cannot be shot in a way that would hit your own unit or into a CC.
That's pretty clear cut to me
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/24 12:40:03
Subject: Re:Curse of the Horned One on Army builder
|
 |
Cold-Blooded Saurus Warrior
|
Stone throwers can scatter into a combat or onto a friendly unit with no issues rules wise. Cannons are the ones you may not shoot and it have any chance of hitting a friendly unit or a unit in CC. (Just a clarification.)
|
I suggest you don't believe anything posted by thedarkavenger unless confirmed by other regular posters here at Dakka. He has shown he is incapable of basic English comprehension.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/24 13:06:07
Subject: Curse of the Horned One on Army builder
|
 |
Sniping Hexa
Dublin
|
yeah, should have clarified that, they can scatter, but the initial template cannot cover a CC / friendly unit
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/24 15:28:09
Subject: Curse of the Horned One on Army builder
|
 |
Crafty Clanrat
|
to be specific, it says "scatters like a stone thrower..." Since its an Enchanted item, its not shooting and shouldn't have the limitations of those rules. I looked back because there was errata but it only says "place the center of the template anywhere within 8" and within line of sight" That changes it a bit. If it were a magic weapon, I'd agree 100% but its an enchanted item.
|
Ppl see 4d6 casualties and think its limburger dick |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/24 20:11:41
Subject: Curse of the Horned One on Army builder
|
 |
Killer Klaivex
Oceanside, CA
|
Matt Ratsinburger wrote:With the brass orb. I'd disagree. Its not a magic weapon its an enchanted item that's used in the shooting phase and it works out like a stone thrower. You can't stand and shoot with it but you should be able to march and throw it, throw it into CC.
I can't add anything to this that hasn't been said. For craps and giggles, I called the GW hotline a couple of times since posting this. They're pretty mixed up about it. 1 yes 1 no.
Are you saying it's not a shooting attack?
Do you think you can use it when you are fleeing?
Do you think you can use it in additional to firing another weapon?
It's an odd stance that since it's an enchanted item, that it doesn't have to follow the normal rules.
The Dark Elf black dragon egg is an enchanted item that gives a breathe attack. Are you saying that since it's also an enchanted item, that a Master on Pegasus could flying 20" and drop the temple into combat?
IMO, it's got a ranged weapon style profile (very much like death globes) and as such, it should be treated as a ranged weapon.
-Matt
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/26 04:26:00
Subject: Curse of the Horned One on Army builder
|
 |
Crafty Clanrat
|
Ok. I'm convinced I'm wrong. I'm just hung up on the difference in item types. Orb and globe operate the same way but why would GW (granted, GW's track record for consistency is subpar) make them different item types if they wanted them to be played the same way? Even if it is an inconsistency, its a bad one.
|
Ppl see 4d6 casualties and think its limburger dick |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/26 14:57:32
Subject: Curse of the Horned One on Army builder
|
 |
Kelne
|
HawaiiMatt wrote:Matt Ratsinburger wrote:With the brass orb. I'd disagree. Its not a magic weapon its an enchanted item that's used in the shooting phase and it works out like a stone thrower. You can't stand and shoot with it but you should be able to march and throw it, throw it into CC.
I can't add anything to this that hasn't been said. For craps and giggles, I called the GW hotline a couple of times since posting this. They're pretty mixed up about it. 1 yes 1 no.
Are you saying it's not a shooting attack?
Do you think you can use it when you are fleeing?
Do you think you can use it in additional to firing another weapon?
It's an odd stance that since it's an enchanted item, that it doesn't have to follow the normal rules.
The Dark Elf black dragon egg is an enchanted item that gives a breathe attack. Are you saying that since it's also an enchanted item, that a Master on Pegasus could flying 20" and drop the temple into combat?
IMO, it's got a ranged weapon style profile (very much like death globes) and as such, it should be treated as a ranged weapon.
-Matt
Just a thing about the breath weapon on pegasus, you may use one after marching . You can't shoot in combat though
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/01/26 14:57:59
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|