Switch Theme:

Can you shoot at another unit if the first unit dies?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Lurking Gaunt




I'm sure the answer is no, but this came up in a game today. I vector struck a Predator with my Hive Crone and blew it to pieces. I was curious if I could then fire it's template weapon at a nearby unit. MC can shoot 2 weapons a turn and you can't typically switch from shooting one unit to another, but the first unit was no longer around. Do I then lose my ability to fire any more weapons? Couldn't find any reference in the rulebook so we just did a roll off and I lost which I was completely fine with. Figured I'd come online and ask just to make sure as I'm sure it would come up again.

"El queso está viejo y pútrido. ¿Dónde está el sanitario?"

 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





United Kingdom

You can Vector strike and shoot two different targets regardless of destroying it or not.

   
Made in us
Lurking Gaunt




Thank you! Does this only apply to Vector Striking or regular shooting weapons too?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/01/19 21:36:50


"El queso está viejo y pútrido. ¿Dónde está el sanitario?"

 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

For regular shooting, you declare a unit's targets before rolling to hit with anything, and all shots are resolved simultaneously.

So no, you can't normally fire one weapon, destroy the target, and then fire other weapons from the same unit at something else.

 
   
Made in us
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot




San Diego Ca

Just Vector Strike. Unless you have a special rule (Machine Spirit or Split Fire for example) that allows you to target different units.
Note you have to declare the separate targets at the time of fire before hits are rolled for.

Life isn't fair. But wouldn't it be worse if Life were fair, and all of the really terrible things that happen to us were because we deserved them?
M. Cole.
 
   
Made in us
Rampaging Carnifex





South Florida

Vector Strike allows it, because it is resolved in the movement phase. In the shooting phase you can only target a single unit, unless you have some rule that gives you an exception.

   
Made in gb
Tunneling Trygon





Nottinghamshire- England

Vector Strike = 1 target in the movement phase.

You are then allowed to fire ONE more weapon in the shooting phase because Vector Strike counts as you having already used a Weapon.

Grimtuff wrote: GW want the full wrath of their Gestapo to come down on this new fangled Internet and it's free speech.


A Town Called Malus wrote: Draigo is a Mat Ward creation. They don't follow the same rules as everyone else.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: