Switch Theme:

Quick question about Griffons (and Guard arty in general)...  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in au
Owns Whole Set of Skullz Techpriests






Versteckt in den Schatten deines Geistes.

Hi all,

Griffon's can re-roll scatter. Rulebook says when re-rolling scatter you pick up all the dice and roll 'em again. Simple. Does the re-roll still apply in batteries though for subsequent shots?

For example, I have 2 Griffons. The first one shoots, scatters wide, so I re-roll it and get a HIT. All normal. Then I roll for the second blast and get an arrow. Can I re-roll that scatter die in the hope of getting a better arrow or even a HIT so the placement is better?


Second question: If I have direct LOS to a target that's within my minimum range, can I fire at it?

Industrial Insanity - My Terrain Blog
"GW really needs to understand 'Less is more' when it comes to AoS." - Wha-Mu-077

 
   
Made in be
Kelne





That way,then left

First, Griffon's owner may re-roll the Scatter die, so I'd say you can (I'm afraid the English version has it the scatter DICE, meaning the arrow die with the 2D6 , GW's French translation team's level is dropping)

Second question : You'd have to shoot indirectly, wether you have LOS or not. You'd scatter the full distance ,without substracting your BS

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/01/25 12:05:50


 
   
Made in ca
Junior Officer with Laspistol





London, Ontario

Rules for Barrage are in the 40k RB, pg 34, top left.

The first bullet says that they can fire indirectly, not that they must. If you fire in a way such that you must fire indirectly, you may not subtract your BS from scatter. Dangerous to shoot something close to you.

Griffons don't grant the re-roll ability to other tanks, so other tanks can't reroll. If the Griffon is the closest member of the battery, it fires first [pg 34, Multiple Barrages] and it can reroll the scatter [hoping to land on your target] and then remaining members shoot. If you'd like to Twin-Link every member of an Artillery Battery, I'd suggest allying a Librarian with access to Divination.

The Griffon gives you a better chance to have your initial blast land on target. Keep in mind, that the Griffon has one of the shortest ranges of the Artillery Batteries, and that Medusa are not Barrage tanks.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/01/25 14:43:27


 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






Bob; DICE can be singular as well as plural, as well as Die being singular. Because English is stupid.

Dice is generally used as plural, but can also be used as a catch-all in the singular when you are not talking about a particular die


HBMC: for your second question; all barrage shots within min range are indirect, even with LOS, but are totally possible in 6th; first bullet point is no LOS and/or within min range.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in au
Owns Whole Set of Skullz Techpriests






Versteckt in den Schatten deines Geistes.

 greatbigtree wrote:
Griffons don't grant the re-roll ability to other tanks, so other tanks can't reroll.


Yeah I know that. The battery has 2 Griffons.
   
Made in gb
Is 'Eavy Metal Calling?





UK

I can't see why not. There's no stipulation about not being able to re-roll in the multiple barrage rules, and wording that allows you to do so in the Griffon rules. You should be good to go.

As for min range, that just means to have to indirect fire regardless of LOS, you can still fire but not subtract BS.

 
   
Made in ca
Junior Officer with Laspistol





London, Ontario

My apologies, missed the two Griffons thing.

Sure, the second griffon can reroll it's scatter "die".
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






Scatter "Dice" is still appropriate; It means any and all dice rolled for scatter(in this case 1).

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in au
Owns Whole Set of Skullz Techpriests






Versteckt in den Schatten deines Geistes.

Thanks guys. I re-rolled the second one, and not a single person I played against objected to me doing it. Some even said "you should re-roll that" when I got a bad second scatter.

And the Griffons were the MVP's of all three games. They did so much damage - I even sniped a Spirit Seer with one!

Industrial Insanity - My Terrain Blog
"GW really needs to understand 'Less is more' when it comes to AoS." - Wha-Mu-077

 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: