Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/28 01:09:35
Subject: coteaz v morlock ( i been expecting you)
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
If the morlock arrives from reserve and burrows and pops up where coteaz is can coteaz and his squad fire at the morlock (providing they are in range) before the morlocks damage is done on the squad he pops up on?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/28 01:20:44
Subject: coteaz v morlock ( i been expecting you)
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
The Mawloc cannot burrow the turn it arrives. Furthermore, it is not deployed until after resolving the blast(s).
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/28 01:32:24
Subject: coteaz v morlock ( i been expecting you)
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
i been expecting you- if an enemy unit arrives from reserve and within 12 inches or cotez and his unit, coteaz and his unit can immediately make an out of turn shooting attack against it'.
so if the morlock arrives from reserve and wants to pop up where coteaz is would coteaz be able to fire at the morlock and kill it before the morlock can do that pop up damage thing?
coteaz's rule just says if an enemy unit arrives from reserve, doesn't say anything about deployed etc.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/28 01:35:19
Subject: Re:coteaz v morlock ( i been expecting you)
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
I believe the damage from Terror from the Deep is resolved first because the model hasn't arrived till it's placed on the table.
So you would resolve the damage first and then you could shoot it with Coteaz.
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/28 02:00:23
Subject: coteaz v morlock ( i been expecting you)
|
 |
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain
|
And if coteaz dies from this then it can't resolve its shots, as its coteaz and his unit, no coteaz no power
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/28 02:03:03
Subject: coteaz v morlock ( i been expecting you)
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Formosa wrote:And if coteaz dies from this then it can't resolve its shots, as its coteaz and his unit, no coteaz no power
what is the str of the hit? is it 5 or 6? an what is the ap
also does anyone have the tyranid codex to quote the actual rule?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/01/28 02:03:34
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/28 02:08:25
Subject: coteaz v morlock ( i been expecting you)
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Coteaz will get eaten before he can use his "IBEY" rule.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/28 02:33:10
Subject: Re:coteaz v morlock ( i been expecting you)
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
str 6 ap 2
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/28 09:28:16
Subject: coteaz v morlock ( i been expecting you)
|
 |
Tough Tyrant Guard
|
champagne_socialist wrote: Formosa wrote:And if coteaz dies from this then it can't resolve its shots, as its coteaz and his unit, no coteaz no power
what is the str of the hit? is it 5 or 6? an what is the ap
also does anyone have the tyranid codex to quote the actual rule?
It doesn't really need to, paraphrased...
Arrive by deepstrike, roll scatter as normal.
If it deep strikes on a point occupied by another model, instead of rolling mishap you use the blast.
You do the same again if the model can not be placed in that spot after the first hit.
After resolving 2, you either are placed or mishap.
Key point there is instead of rolling mishap (Which is lifted from the book). You don't use IBEY on models that are rolling to mishap, and at this point the Mawloc is not on the table until Terror is resolved.
Until the Mawloc is placed it's; Not arrived, Not within 12 of the unit or within LOS of the unit. So it would be pretty difficult.
|
This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2014/01/28 09:33:03
It's my codex and I'll cry If I want to.
Tactical objectives are fantastic |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/28 11:06:41
Subject: Re:coteaz v morlock ( i been expecting you)
|
 |
Tea-Kettle of Blood
Adelaide, South Australia
|
It would be pretty difficult for Coteaz to shoot at the Mawloc via I've Been Expecting You prior to resolving the Terror from the Deep large blasts, considering the Mawloc isn't actually on the table to be shot at yet.
|
Ailaros wrote:You know what really bugs me? When my opponent, before they show up at the FLGS smears themselves in peanut butter and then makes blood sacrifices to Ashterai by slitting the throat of three male chickens and then smears the spatter pattern into the peanut butter to engrave sacred symbols into their chest and upper arms.
I have a peanut allergy. It's really inconsiderate.
"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/28 11:26:20
Subject: coteaz v morlock ( i been expecting you)
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
my coteaz squad consists of 3 jokareos, 3 acolytes with plasma guns, 3 servitors with multi meltas and 3 psykers.
Anyone showing you by deepstrike near coteaz will get 3 multi melta shots, 3 lascannon shots, 3 plasma gun shots and a large blast str 5 ap 4 from the psykers and also 4 shots by coteaz.
Basically no one deep strikes near my coteaz unit
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/28 11:33:37
Subject: coteaz v morlock ( i been expecting you)
|
 |
Tough Tyrant Guard
|
champagne_socialist wrote:my coteaz squad consists of 3 jokareos, 3 acolytes with plasma guns, 3 servitors with multi meltas and 3 psykers.
Anyone showing you by deepstrike near coteaz will get 3 multi melta shots, 3 lascannon shots, 3 plasma gun shots and a large blast str 5 ap 4 from the psykers and also 4 shots by coteaz.
Basically no one deep strikes near my coteaz unit 
I think the point of the Mawloc is either it kills the models, or mishaps.
It could just scatter and mis the models, placed normally then you can IBEY it, which is always a risk (Unless running Deathleaper for accurate DS or something)
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/01/28 11:34:29
It's my codex and I'll cry If I want to.
Tactical objectives are fantastic |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/29 00:32:14
Subject: coteaz v morlock ( i been expecting you)
|
 |
Infiltrating Broodlord
|
Mawloc** not morlock.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/29 00:41:07
Subject: coteaz v morlock ( i been expecting you)
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/29 01:02:49
Subject: coteaz v morlock ( i been expecting you)
|
 |
Resolute Ultramarine Honor Guard
|
Nem wrote:champagne_socialist wrote: Formosa wrote:And if coteaz dies from this then it can't resolve its shots, as its coteaz and his unit, no coteaz no power
what is the str of the hit? is it 5 or 6? an what is the ap
also does anyone have the tyranid codex to quote the actual rule?
It doesn't really need to, paraphrased...
Arrive by deepstrike, roll scatter as normal.
If it deep strikes on a point occupied by another model, instead of rolling mishap you use the blast.
You do the same again if the model can not be placed in that spot after the first hit.
After resolving 2, you either are placed or mishap.
Key point there is instead of rolling mishap (Which is lifted from the book). You don't use IBEY on models that are rolling to mishap, and at this point the Mawloc is not on the table until Terror is resolved.
Until the Mawloc is placed it's; Not arrived, Not within 12 of the unit or within LOS of the unit. So it would be pretty difficult.
I was under the impression the first hit occurs, and if the Mawloc doesn't clear his landing place, a second hit occurs AND it mishaps?
|
warboss wrote:Is there a permanent stickied thread for Chaos players to complain every time someone/anyone gets models or rules besides them? If not, there should be. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/29 01:24:53
Subject: coteaz v morlock ( i been expecting you)
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
No - the second hit happens and if it's still not clear, it mishaps.
2 chances to clear the landing zone.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/29 01:57:03
Subject: coteaz v morlock ( i been expecting you)
|
 |
Trustworthy Shas'vre
|
Never mind, point already made.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/01/29 01:58:21
Tau and Space Wolves since 5th Edition. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/29 04:48:12
Subject: coteaz v morlock ( i been expecting you)
|
 |
Infiltrating Broodlord
|
Edited by Manchu
Rule One is Be Polite
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/01/29 06:00:55
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/29 04:52:55
Subject: coteaz v morlock ( i been expecting you)
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Edited by Manchu
Rule One is Be Polite
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/01/29 05:57:37
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/29 05:33:53
Subject: coteaz v morlock ( i been expecting you)
|
 |
Infiltrating Broodlord
|
Edited by Manchu Rule One is Be Polite
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/01/29 05:58:38
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/29 05:47:01
Subject: coteaz v morlock ( i been expecting you)
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
morlock and Mawlock are two different IPs so it does kinda matter.
As for the rule, you only terror from the deep if you land on a unit which would normally result in a mishap, which isn't an arrvial. So the two S6 AP2 blasts would be done before IBEY, if any of the models along Coteaz are alive and the Mawlock can be placed then they would be allowed IBEY.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/01/29 05:52:36
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/29 06:02:00
Subject: coteaz v morlock ( i been expecting you)
|
 |
[MOD]
Solahma
|
Folks, please keep in mind that we're just here to have fun talking about toy soldiers. No need to get upset and if you do get upset remember that you agreed to post politely by making an account. Thanks!
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/01/29 06:02:09
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/30 17:27:13
Subject: coteaz v morlock ( i been expecting you)
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
I know ya wann shoot it but it's not on the table till it's placed so ya after the hits are done and if he is placed then shoot away. If not placed hope for a 1.
|
In a dog eat dog be a cat. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/30 17:31:55
Subject: coteaz v morlock ( i been expecting you)
|
 |
Lieutenant Colonel
|
mawlock doesnt arrive till after the blasts are resolved...
hes basically the middle finger to all the interceptor stuff, and to coteaz
better take a few crusaders with coteaz so him+ unit can survive to force the mishap/or use IBEY, and remember to space out so he hits max 3 models.
side question, is the mawlock attack barrage or ignores cover?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/01/30 17:32:33
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/30 18:15:57
Subject: coteaz v morlock ( i been expecting you)
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
I believe the mawlock attack ignores cover. I do not have my codex infront of me but that is what I recall reading.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/30 22:53:48
Subject: coteaz v morlock ( i been expecting you)
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan
|
blaktoof wrote:I believe the mawlock attack ignores cover. I do not have my codex infront of me but that is what I recall reading.
This one. Ignores Cover.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/30 23:47:34
Subject: coteaz v morlock ( i been expecting you)
|
 |
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter
|
But you must place him on the table in order to start the DS process, yes? So he's on the table, and then he scatters, and then if he touches enemy models he is removed and large blasts are placed. But the Mawloc is still on the table in the first place.
|
LVO 2017 - Best GK Player
The Grimdark Future 8500 1500  6000 2000 5000
"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/30 23:54:36
Subject: coteaz v morlock ( i been expecting you)
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Elric Greywolf wrote:But you must place him on the table in order to start the DS process, yes? So he's on the table, and then he scatters, and then if he touches enemy models he is removed and large blasts are placed. But the Mawloc is still on the table in the first place.
Does his rule say "When the model physicaly touches the table" or does it say "When a unit arrives from reserve".
Because until you've completly resolved it's arrival, it hasn't arrived.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/31 01:18:06
Subject: coteaz v morlock ( i been expecting you)
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
grendel083 wrote: Elric Greywolf wrote:But you must place him on the table in order to start the DS process, yes? So he's on the table, and then he scatters, and then if he touches enemy models he is removed and large blasts are placed. But the Mawloc is still on the table in the first place.
Does his rule say "When the model physicaly touches the table" or does it say "When a unit arrives from reserve".
Because until you've completly resolved it's arrival, it hasn't arrived.
could argue it has arrived from reserve and it just does damage to enemy models because they are ion the same place tht the morlock has arrived. the morlock has to arrive to do the damage on the models.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/31 01:36:53
Subject: coteaz v morlock ( i been expecting you)
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
champagne_socialist wrote: grendel083 wrote: Elric Greywolf wrote:But you must place him on the table in order to start the DS process, yes? So he's on the table, and then he scatters, and then if he touches enemy models he is removed and large blasts are placed. But the Mawloc is still on the table in the first place.
Does his rule say "When the model physicaly touches the table" or does it say "When a unit arrives from reserve".
Because until you've completly resolved it's arrival, it hasn't arrived.
could argue it has arrived from reserve and it just does damage to enemy models because they are ion the same place tht the morlock has arrived. the morlock has to arrive to do the damage on the models.
The Mawloc hasn't arrived until after it explodes twice.
GK FAQ wrote:If the unit is arriving by Deep Strike, this will be after the scatter has been resolved.
The scatter isn't resolved until after the explosions - we know because the Mawloc can still mishap.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
|