Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/05 02:32:53
Subject: Silly question about regrouping?
|
 |
Slashing Veteran Sword Bretheren
|
P. 31 of the BRB says: "Once a unit has regrouped, it cannot otherwise move. However, it can shoot, but counts as having moved and can only fire Snap Shots."
Am I missing something or does it not say anywhere that this is only in effect till the end of the turn?
Because technically I cant find anything that says this effect doesn't continue to affect the unit for the rest of the game? Just like when a vehicle is immobilized?
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/02/05 02:34:08
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/05 03:08:50
Subject: Silly question about regrouping?
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Bwahahaha!
That is gold. Nice catch.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/05 05:52:41
Subject: Silly question about regrouping?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Sir Arun wrote:P. 31 of the BRB says: "Once a unit has regrouped, it cannot otherwise move. However, it can shoot, but counts as having moved and can only fire Snap Shots."
Am I missing something or does it not say anywhere that this is only in effect till the end of the turn?
Because technically I cant find anything that says this effect doesn't continue to affect the unit for the rest of the game? Just like when a vehicle is immobilized?
Clearly the context of that sentence is talking about the current turn.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/05 06:07:57
Subject: Silly question about regrouping?
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
I disagree. There is nothing in that section that even remotely hints at it being confined to the single turn in which the unit regroups. We've all just assumed that this is the case because it's how it's always worked before.
Not arguing that it isn't supposed to only be one turn... it's just incredibly badly written, and taken as written, it would impose that restriction for the rest of the game.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/05 06:48:35
Subject: Silly question about regrouping?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
insaniak wrote:
I disagree. There is nothing in that section that even remotely hints at it being confined to the single turn in which the unit regroups. We've all just assumed that this is the case because it's how it's always worked before.
Not arguing that it isn't supposed to only be one turn... it's just incredibly badly written, and taken as written, it would impose that restriction for the rest of the game.
"Once a unit has regrouped, it cannot otherwise move." is clearly talking about the current turn.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/05 07:39:33
Subject: Silly question about regrouping?
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Is it? Why?
Once I've had a leg removed, I can't run as fast as I used to. That doesn't just apply to the time immediately after the surgery.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/05 08:23:22
Subject: Silly question about regrouping?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Because it says they " cannot otherwise move." and they count "as having moved" everything else in the game that " counts as having moved", like Deep Strike only apply to that turn.
As well as the sentence just above the bullet points: "A unit that is falling back must attempt to Regroup by taking a Regroup test in their Movement phase just before they move." (31)
Just before they move lets us know they are talking about the current player turn.
Also the beginning of the Fall Back section "the only moves they can make in subsequent phases are Fall Back moves until they Regroup. In each subsequent Movement phase, they will make further Fall Back moves instead of moving normally, until the unit Regroups" (30)
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/05 09:17:10
Subject: Silly question about regrouping?
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
DeathReaper wrote:Because it says they " cannot otherwise move." and they count "as having moved" everything else in the game that " counts as having moved", like Deep Strike only apply to that turn.
That's because everything else in the game that counts as having moved specifies that it applies to that turn, or that phase.
As well as the sentence just above the bullet points: "A unit that is falling back must attempt to Regroup by taking a Regroup test in their Movement phase just before they move." (31)
Just before they move lets us know they are talking about the current player turn.
Yes, that tells us that you take a regroup test that turn. It has no impact on the effect of passing or failing that regroup test.
Also the beginning of the Fall Back section "the only moves they can make in subsequent phases are Fall Back moves until they Regroup. In each subsequent Movement phase, they will make further Fall Back moves instead of moving normally, until the unit Regroups" (30)
Which tells us what happens while the unit is falling back. Again, has no impact on what happens when they regroup.
Really, though, it's just dodgy wording. It's extremely unlikely that they actually intended for a unit that has regrouped to be immobilised for the rest of the game... they surely would have put a little more emphasis on that if it was the case. So not really worth an extended argument, just a curio in a ruleset that is riddled with poorly worded rules.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/05 18:17:11
Subject: Silly question about regrouping?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
insaniak wrote: DeathReaper wrote:Also the beginning of the Fall Back section "the only moves they can make in subsequent phases are Fall Back moves until they Regroup. In each subsequent Movement phase, they will make further Fall Back moves instead of moving normally, until the unit Regroups" (30)
Which tells us what happens while the unit is falling back. Again, has no impact on what happens when they regroup.
Really, though, it's just dodgy wording. It's extremely unlikely that they actually intended for a unit that has regrouped to be immobilised for the rest of the game... they surely would have put a little more emphasis on that if it was the case. So not really worth an extended argument, just a curio in a ruleset that is riddled with poorly worded rules.
So why say this " In each subsequent Movement phase, they will make further Fall Back moves instead of moving normally" coupled with ""the only moves they can make in subsequent phases are Fall Back moves until they Regroup" which tells us that they may once again move normally after they regroup and are not, in fact, immobile for the rest of the game.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/05 19:51:23
Subject: Silly question about regrouping?
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
You seem to have missed the point where this is presumably an unintentional error...
However, :
" In each subsequent Movement phase, they will make further Fall Back moves instead of moving normally" coupled with ""the only moves they can make in subsequent phases are Fall Back moves until they Regroup" which tells us that they may once again move normally after they regroup and are not, in fact, immobile for the rest of the game.
This tells us nothing of the kind. All it tells us is that while falling back they make a fall back move instead of moving normally, and that they can only make fall back moves until they regroup. It does not tell us that they move normally once they regroup. It only tells us what they do while they are falling back.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|